We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulent Grandeur in Tranquility”
Review of Sa Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sa Calma Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This hotel personifies opulence in a tranquil environment even though it is located right in the centre of Begur with all its amenities. The staff were excellent and a special thank-you to Virginia on reception who was so helpful and made our stay so enjoyable. Our hotel room was excellent as was the breakfast and the hotel facilities provided a great chill-out experience, from the plunge pool and sun bathing area on the roof terrace, to the Spa in the basement.

Begur or as I call it, ‘Beautiful Begur’ is a must see destination. The town itself is so picturesque, very friendly and a great base to explore the region.

We have stayed in other top rated hotels in Begur but none can match Hotel Sa Calma. This is where we will definitely stay again when we return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Sa Calma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Hotel is located seconds from the centre of Begur, with every restaurant you could wish for. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The accommodation was wonderful. I would go back and I would recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here.. Drove into the heart of begur , climbing the hill gently to the mid point where signs take you to Sa Calma, tucked behind the main square and church of the beautiful town of begur. First things first.. Was greeted with the warmest welcome from Virginia who took me to my room, ses negres (all names) which had a terrace looking over the street and the perfect view of the fortress. Room was adequate in size, tastefully decorated, good comfortable bed, and a lovely bathroom.

Hotel has roof terrace and upstairs small restaurant, with cute sun lounger and plunge pool to cool off.

Ultimately though you're paying for the location. 2 mins stroll around the corner to all the best bars and restaurants of the town, without any of the hustle and bustle.

Weather was mixed during my stay, so didn't have the opportunity for sunbathing but during a thunderstorm and downpour last night , the place had such a gorgeous sense of calm and serenity to it, I could really understand why Sa Calma has such a great reputation in this town.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations! We were looking for a romantic hotel for our 10 year anniversary and stumbled upon this hotel. The hotel is beautiful inside and is located in an awesome small village which is lively and yet sleepy enough to get rest. The rooms are tastefully decorated and even the small room is perfect. The breakfast was amazing, I still dream about it. It is not an American breakfast, but rather European with great Spanish meats, cheeses and breads. The people who work there are very nice and helpful. This place is truly a perfect getaway! I suggest going here if you need a break from the fast paced life. Lastly, the beaches are under a 10 minute drive and I am guessing during high season there are buses that take you down. Sa Riera is the least rocky of the beaches; most beaches there are rocky.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you can spring for the high end rooms with a balcony, gorgeous!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrookefromBrookline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Both the Sa Calma and the town of Begur get the highest marks from us. The staff was attentive to every detail, the rooms were charming, the public areas were absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace overlooking the town was a fabulous way to start the day. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GriswoldFamily56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at sa calma the first time was just after it opened.It still has the"wow"factor when you walk in.But like the 1st visit we had a few issues.We obtained a quote for 3 nights which we received by e-mail no mention of tax but a total cost price.When we paid the bill we were hit with 45 euros tax.Also they are now charging for overnight parking at 12 euros a night.I know a lot of hotels charge for parking but there was no mention of this when we booked.This is a 4 star hotel and i expect them to be on the ball on things like pricing.So the bill came to 90 euros more than we expected which took the shine off the whole experience.If it had not been for these needless niggles the hotel would have had a five start rating for presentation,rooms,breakfast,service would have the 4 star.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Drove into Begur without a reservation. When we walked into Sa Calma we knew we found our home in Begur. Meticulous detail to decoration and style. Very clean and comfortable. Right next to main plaza with restaurants and bars. Great view of the castle and bell tower from terrace (with sauna and breakfast cafe).

Claudia, the proprietor, was very hospitable and helpful. She was able to recommend the best restaurants and bars in Begur. We were very pleased with every meal. (you must try Cafe Juanita and its brick oven fish). In the morning, they prepared a traditional local breakfast with great variety and freshness. I cannot say enough how great this hotel is..And the rate was very reasonable for all this!

I am not sure why this hotel does not have more raving reviews, but I hope you will trust me when I say you will be very happy with this hotel.( we are experienced travelers with high expectations). You have to see it. Check out a few pictures attached.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Begur hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#10 of 14 in Begur
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Calma Hotel

Address: C/ Sant Miguel, 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Begur
Price Range: £105 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sa Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Calma Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing