We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARMING BOUTIQUE”
Review of Sa Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sa Calma Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Really enjoyed this delightful little hotel of 12 rooms nestled in the heart of Begur town centre. The rooms are beautifully appointed with elegant touches evident in things like lamps, interior decor, mosquito curtains, nice bedding, nicely appointed bathrooms. The hotel used to be a private residence which was then converted into a boutique hotel and clearly they spent a good deal of money on the remodel which can be seen in the quality of the work. Wonderful grotto spa on the ground floor tucked away and a lovely roof terrace with gorgeous views of the village and beyond. Clever idea of creating sunbeds that are built into the roof and the rooftop jacuzzi tub is also a nice touch. The only criticism I would have is that they need to learn how to cook eggs! During the two days we stayed there the eggs were really poorly executed and we tried both scrambled and fried eggs so the breakfast experience has some room for improvement. That is an easy fix and the staff were all super helpful and friendly. We would definitely come back to this hotel if our travel plans involve another trip to the Costa Brava, which I am sure will happen!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jalex07216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Sa Calma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We loved this quaint boutique hotel, located in the center of Begur. Virginia, the manager by day, is friendly, super helpful and really wants every guest to have the best stay possible. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and we appreciated the nicely appointed sitting areas in the lobby and also, the rooftop lounges. Sa Calma is the former family home of the hotel's owner, and the renovations were done beautifully and tastefully. Begur is a wonderful destination on the Costa Brava, and Sa Calma is the perfect place from which to enjoy it. We definitely recommend the town and the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was looking for something special I was looking all over Spain I was trying to arrange a surprise trip away for my husbands 60th birthday and I found everything in the Sa Calma hotel. We stayed there for three days, the room was fantastic with a terrace where you could sit out, a lovely big bed very comfortable and cleaned everyday there's a sauna & Jacuzzi downstairs in what looks like the cellar very tastefully renovated each time we used it I booked it beforehand so it was private to us & on his birthday I booked for us to have a massage it was excellent.
The staff were friendly and professional breakfast was served up stairs in a room where they had a roof terrace with another Jacuzzi, even in May it was a bit cold we didnt use that one.
Begur was very pretty spanish village with everything that you need to find in a town, the restaurants can be abit pricing & on our last few days we found a lovely German Resturant tucked away in an arcade well worth the visit and good food &service alot better in price. We will go again & stay in the Sa Clama hotel, because it offers something for everyone at the right price.

Room Tip: Our room was very good, but it rained for the first two days we were there, so we didn't get to...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacqui k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel was, and is, a privately owned property that was restored and turned into a hotel five years ago. Not a chain and proud to be independent. What sets it apart is the fantastic first floor relaxation area: three or four zoned areas - including games area, two lots of sofas and chairs, library area - with all sorts of interesting artefacts, paintings and design features. It has definitely been done with love and in every corner there is something interesting to look at. And as you walk up through this area, you are filled with warmth (literally - they light the fire in winter!) and calmness as you approach your room. It's really a lovely introduction to your stay.

And the room doesn't disappoint either. It's a good size and, in the case of our room, has its own balcony with table and chairs and sun loungers. Ours overlooked houses on the steep slope looking up to the castle and the view was incredible. The bed was a good sized double, crisp cotton linen, huge comfy pillows and floor mats so your feet don't get cold on the wood floor. There's an antique chest of drawers and wardrobe in the room, plus a tv and airconditioning/heating controls.

On to the bathroom and - first glance - wow, it's really big. Lots of storage space and room for your things. A good sized bath (not always the case in Spain) and a separate shower with glass panels and an overhead shower rose as well as a handheld attachment. It turns out the bath is a chromotherapy bath as well so when you're relaxing with your rubber duck you can pretend you're in Barcelona at the Montjuic fountain.

So where's the catch? There are two of them, in my opinion. First, and I'll never be converted to this one, there is NO DOOR on the bathroom so you cannot use the bathroom with any kind of privacy if you are sharing a room. Nothing, not even a curtain. This is not ideal for sharers or couples on their first romantic weekend together, or even for an old married woman such as myself. I'm afraid I just want to know that I can have my privacy in the bathroom and that's that.

Second thing they could improve upon: it would be lovely to have some tea and coffee facilities in the room. There is a mini bar there and there's also space for a little kettle and some tea and coffee.

Honestly, Mr Owner, we prefer these to things to be there rather than having colours in the bath that we get bored with after five minutes. It's so nice to relax with a cup of tea on your own terrace!

So on to food. The evening menu here is pricey. We didn't try the dinner, as there are a multitude of options in Begur itself. (Be careful out of season - it gets very busy). Breakfast is ok, just ok. The service staff are lovely (as are the staff in the whole hotel) and most accommodating. But I was slightly disappointed to see only croissants - no bread, no toast, nor rolls - they prefer to provide a more traditional Spanish breakfast of ham and tomato bread (wonderful, but we don't all want that kind of thing first thing in the morning).

There's a Jacuzzi and sauna (and steam room, which was not working) in a cellar with the most intimate lighting, it's so relaxing. We didn't try the hot tub on the roof, but would guess it's pretty good too.

So, in summary, we had the most wonderful stay at the Sa Calma. We would highly recommend it. Would I stay here again? Yes, if they bought a door for the bathroom...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrsSparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Begur is a worthwhile stop often ignored by tourists heading further south. To visit the town and beautiful seashore we chose to stay at Sa Calma hotel. This hotel is in the middle of the old town right by a historical stone tower built to keep an eye on unwanted pirate visitors. Walking through town you will discover some large 19th century homes built by some locals who went to make a fortune in Cuba in trading.
Driving there is through narrow streets and parking is meant for small cars. There are 2 parking lots by the hotel requiring 90° turns with the garage access down a 45° drive way. Yes I did burn some rubber getting up the hill !.
The hotel pictures are real but don't convey the sheer luxury of the inside. The outside stone walls indicate this is a beautiful mansion but the interior decoration makes it tempting to turn it back in to a private home ! A nice touch is the top floor where
breakfast is served (as well as simple dinner dishes) in a closed in veranda overlooking the town. There is also access to the terrace when the warm weather permits with tables and swimming pool. Smokers have year round access ;>).
Service is kind and impeccable ensuring guests feel at home. Rooms are european size with an intimate decoration and the bathroom very nice and modern.
I would recommend staying there but do reserve as there is a limited number of rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Begur is an ancient atmospheric hilltop village close to some of the most wonderful coastal scenery in Spain. We spent 2 nights at this lovely old restored town house close to the village centre in November. Room was beautifully furnished with a terrace and fabulous bathroom. This is really a very upmarket B&B rather than a hotel - there is a lovely breakfast room and terrace on the roof. Breakfast was really good with a wide selection.

As we there were on a Sunday and Monday in November most of the restaurants in town were closed and, as Sa Calma doesn't have a restaurant, we ate both nights at the exceptional Turandot Restaurant, which was pretty much the only place open.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Huw R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We Loved everything about this hotel. Pricey but we'll worth the experience. Beautiful village, colourful and pleasant, will definitely go back. Nicer experience than a city break. We were lucky that someone suggested begur to us otherwise we would have missed out on a great experience. Sauna was brilliant, Jacuzzi cold but also brilliant. Loved it.

Room Tip: We had superior rooms and didn't see any others. Our rooms were beautiful
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosemary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Begur hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#10 of 14 in Begur
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#5 of 14 in Begur
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Calma Hotel

Address: C/ Sant Miguel, 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Begur
Price Range: £105 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sa Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Calma Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing