We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal on our 10 day Spain holiday”
Review of Sa Caleta

Sa Caleta
Ranked #24 of 84 Restaurants in Begur
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Davis, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal on our 10 day Spain holiday”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Wife & I stopped just by chance for early 8:30 dinner. We each had a salad which is very easily a complete dinner ( I believe they were each 10 EUR' maybe 12?). Jess had warm goat cheese (served as a disk) & mine was duck with foie gras shavings. Common to each was bed of torn spring greens; large, sliced sweet grapes; tiny bits of sun dried tomatoes; raisins; huge black berries; a few walnuts; a few blueberries. There a few more additions also. The plating was visually beautiful to equal the outstanding flavors. The dressing was simple oil + balsamic. I mistakenly ordered mussels in red sauce which was too much food for us. Nevertheless it was outstanding also. The sauce was very thin and extremely flavorable. Bottle of wine and 3 dishes totaled 50.00 EUR. I would return to Begur just for this restaurant. Pat from Davis, CA

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    54
    26
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Begur, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mouth watering, delight!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Exceptional food, have eaten from the a la carte menu and had tapas here, both delicious! My salad starter was a joy to behold! Incoporating into the rainbow of colour was edible flowers! Nice memory!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian paella”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We've been here several tiems over the years and always order the vegetarian paella. This is the best we've had, cooked with care and attention to detail by the modest owner (it's a friendly, family-run restaurant). Right in the heart of Begur, it's always good quality. In fact one mushroom side dish I had one autumn was one of the single best dishes I've ever had in my life.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good homemade food at very good prices”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

You will appreciate Sa Caleta for the excellent home made food, especially the great rices/arrozes in different variations. If it hasn't to be a special occasion, but you still want great food, that is less elaborated/sophisticated, but still declicious, that's the place to go in Begur! I can recommend the lobster rice which is just mmmhhhh...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aftab_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We arrived in Begur late after a fiasco with our rental car. We were recommended this restaurant by the hotel staff and it didn't disappoint! Firstly, lovely staff. We were the last people in for dinner (by this stage it was around 1030pm and the only other people were around the bar). We were promptly served and I had one of the best tasting fish I have had. I can't remember that much else about the meal - dessert was nice too, but the best thing was the friendliness of the family-owned restaurant. As it was so late, the staff actually sat down to dinner as well and proceeded to watch a move on the television. We must have stayed for an extra hour or more with friendly banter (despite them not really speaking english and us not speaking spanish). At the end of the night, we were offered 'schnapps' by the owner who put the bottle on our table to help ourselves! Such hospitality! Great experience and we had to go back a few days later because I forgot my jumper- they remembered us. Would love to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monozygote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sa Caleta also viewed

 
Begur, Costa Brava
 

Been to Sa Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing