We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An outstanding experience of being in BEAUTY.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cluc Hotel Begur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cluc Hotel Begur
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An outstanding experience of being in BEAUTY.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

It was off season so we could afford it and it was a beautiful place to be in all ways. The attention to detail was outstanding. All rooms look out on the lovely pool and the Olive tree lit by light at night and reflected in the water brought tears to my eyes it was so beautiful! Easy walk to the beautiful town and our dinner associated with a spa and recommended by owner of our hotel was not to be missed! This was one of our highlights on our trip to Spain from San Francisco.

Room Tip: All rooms looked out on the beautiful swimming pool and all are furnished beautifully and exceptiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    43
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
121
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Great value. Quiet location. Very comfortable. Enormous breakfasts. Very helpful and friendly manager and staff, who were very pleased to make (good) recommendations for local restaurants, and a great local taxi driver. We arranged our stay at very short notice at peak period and Santi juggled things around so we could stay 6 nights. Begur is a good place to stay, with great beaches nearby.

Room Tip: Upper floors have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hotel Cluc is housed in a very beautiful, carefully restored building. It is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen, with old details like windows and floor tiles.

The breakfast was served on a beautiful shady terrace, typical to buildings of that period in the area. The breakfast itself was quite basic, including, however, fresh orange juice and good coffee from a self-service espresso machine.

The location of the hotel is central and yet relatively peaceful. It's located on a beautiful residential street, and the closest restaurants are just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PR_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
METAR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We found this hotel walking around Begur streets, and this was a wonderful find! A really beautiful place, very comfortable, pampering, lovely hotel. Grate breakfast, very friendly staff. If we could we would stay for a few days. Grate place for day tours all over Costa Brava

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGANIT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at Hotel Cluc for three nights and did not want to leave! It is a an old, delicately restored building in the heart of Begur. It's nice to see someone respect the structure of the old materials while still bringing it to modern use. Yes, this means original doors and windows, which add the charm. Hotels in America strive to be like this one. The room was warm when it need to be and cool when we were hot. The old town of Begur is closed to all traffic, so there is not driving or parking in the town - this should not be a surprise to anyone going there. We parked a few streets away no problem with free parking - there is no need to pay for parking in Begur - it is plentiful.

ROOMS: We had room number 5, which was on the second floor with a terrace view of the church - stunningly beautiful in the evening. It was incredibly soothing and very large. The bathroom is clean and white, with good water pressure in the sinks and shower. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens and everything was incredibly clean.

BREAKFAST: the best hotel breakfast we had on out entire trip through Europe. Plentiful spread of cured meats, cheeses and jams, fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt and crossaints - all local and gourmet. Fresh squeezed OJ was a plus! We had to leave at 7:30 one morning and the owner, Santi, left us breakfast out early so we could take it on the road.

The owner, Santi, and his staff, especially Angela, were incredible. They helped us with whatever we needed, recommended places to eat and made us feel as if they had known us for years.

Room Tip: Second floor and above rooms give you a nice view and terraces. Not great for small children as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gringoblanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The good stuff:
Very friendly staff
Nicely decorated
Really tasty breakfast (continental)
Freshly squeezed orange juice
Honesty bar
Location
Fluffy towels
Comfy bed (although we do like firm mattresses)
Clean
Good air conditioning

The not so good stuff:
Basically a converted house with standard doors so you can hear everyone come and go (we sorted this out with ear plugs)
Ground floor rear rooms open onto communal terrace (where breakfast is served). Read my room tips for more info.
Breakfast not available until 9.30am (I know this is Spain, at half nine loads of people raced down, so clearly there is a demand for earlier service).
Parking is a couple of minutes away.
It is expensive. We did travel to a top location in high season and all prices are high in the area, but I felt it was just a bit overpriced.

The bit that really annoyed us:
Despite my 'not so good stuff' we would probably have rated this place 4/5, but... the only place that people are allowed to smoke is on the communal terrace, which is also where breakfast is served. Perhaps if you are a smoker you would call this convenient, but for us eating our breakfast whilst people smoked on the next table was very unpleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are ground floor next to the front door, so you will hear everyone moving in and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blahblahBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We chose Begur's Hotel Cluc as our base to explore the Costa Brava, which was a perfect choice. The hotel itself is spotless and tastefully redone, with great attention to detail and design. Though the rooms are small because of the layout of an old (and beautiful) building, they make great use of space and have modern bathrooms with wonderful showers and luxurious towels. The location of the hotel within Begur itself is amazing because it's just 2 blocks away from the hustle of the city center, but those two blocks made all the difference and we got a great night's sleep in our quiet room. Best of all was the owner who really seems to love running his hotel. He was so attentive and helpful to all our questions. Ask him for restaurant recommendations, beach tips, hiking trails -- he was always willing to help out and generous with his time. Finally, Cluc offered a delicious and generous breakfast on their peaceful back patio. Overall, we loved staying here and were sad to depart. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie3323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#10 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
11.1 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cluc Hotel Begur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cluc Hotel Begur

Property: Cluc Hotel Begur
Address: Carrer Metge Pi 8, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cluc Hotel Begur 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cluc Hotel Begur is a 12 room boutique, bed and breakfast, hotel in a Colonial House from the late 1800´s. Cluc is located on a quiet street, 1 minute walking distance from the center of Begur. At this moment, no pictures are available, due to the planned inauguration on April 1st, 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cluc Hotel Begur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluc Hotel Begur Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing