We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite place to relax!”
Review of Hotel Aiguablava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aiguablava
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Denbighshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favourite place to relax!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We have been going to aigua Blava for many years now and it never disappoints! The staff are always so friendly, Luis and pepe look after us in the restaurant and we always have a drink with Jose before dinner. The swimming pool is always clean and there are 2 lovely beaches within walking distance if you feel a bit more active. All in all it is a beautiful place to stay and I am hoping we will be going back again soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 11lucyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    124
    49
    26
    8
See reviews for
130
293
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Wonderful hotel, delightful setting in a magical part of Spain. Rooms are adequate , we stayed at the separate building 100 yards down the street. Parking is a slight problem, very busy and the hotel receptionist took the disabled spot outside the hotel and left a note in Spanish on the car dash board. Very annoying when we needed it and carried a disabled badge! Stayed before 5 years go in June and recommended the hotel to friends who have stayed twice before; but felt the hotel too busy in July for their usually outstanding service. Uncooked beef burger from room service menu, waited over 1 hour for lunch at the pool restaurant, slow service had to pour our own wine too busy and after asking twice and checking with reception my extra bed still wasn't made up at 10.30 on our return to the room for my son. Complained to reception but nothing was followed up. Love the hotel and the area visited friends had a wonderful time but very disappointed with the level,of service experienced. Overall view too busy at peak time too continue level of service experienced before. Pool is salt water could be a problem for some visitors. Set around steep hills and bumpy ground not suitable for everyone, stunning views !

Room Tip: Air con set at 20 too high setting in peak summer, needs to be lower! Many rooms on offer in separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattersonSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
454 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We usually bob out to the Costa Brava for a short break maybe twice a year. Just 2 hours from Leeds to Girona, and other than being ripped of by Car Hire rogues at Girona, we look forward to every trip and never tire of the Costa Brava, that seems to go under the radar of most people these days.

Despite thinking we had covered most of the coast between Barcelona and Port Bou, we were not aware of this Aguia Blava peninsula until a friend suggested that we should see if we could book into this hotel on our last trip, as he had fond memories of it. He warned us that it wasn't cheap, but 'worth every penny'.

That's exactly what we found. We booked a sea view room for about £180, which was about £50 extra for the 'view' but when we arrived we knew why. I think we were lucky to be allocated room 52 as this was more like a mini suite and definitely worth the money. It was so nice that we asked to stay another night but the room was booked. They offered another room (11 I think) this was a poor second to room 52, so we decided not to take up the offer, and leave after just the one night with fond memories of an excellent time in room 52.

The location is well discussed and is 'special'. I can see why some criticise the service. We had no problems but you could almost detect a touch of complacency.

The breakfast was superb and the outside terrace is lovely.

Room Tip: Room 52 or close by will likely be very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumberMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have stayed now for 8 years and love it each time. It is like time stands still when you arrive. We may all be a year older but it is just like yesterday and we have never left. Someone described it as AguiaBlava Brain (ABB!!) this year, and that is right. We want to share the experience, but dont want too many people to hear about it so that its charm spoils. Generation after generation go there. We came for 10 days 30th June this year, and are going back for long weekend at end of September - how spoilt are we!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our stay was an incredible surprise. We were unhappy at at previous hotel so got on tripadvisor to find something better. It's not cheap but we wanted to end our vacay on a high-note. The staff was the friendliest most helpful staff ever, beautiful beaches/location, great restaurant. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikecartertennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is undoubtedly in one of the most beautiful places on this coast, and the local Aigua Blava beach is just stunning. It also has a beautiful pool, brilliant for young children, with pool towels provided for free. However, be warned: this is a tired hotel with a decidedly out-dated attitude to hospitality. Our room, which did have a sea view as requested, was lacking in style and tired in its decor. An uncomfortable bed and poorly functioning air-conditioning didn't help. We were also overlooking the breakfast terrace, and one evening were awoken by very rowdy guests at 1am, who were only asked to be quiet when my husband went down to reception to complain (calling down didn't work - no-one picked up the phone). Guests were generally portly and older, and as another guest commented in their review, there were some rather dour-faced ladies sunbathing at the pool who didn't seem to appreciate children having fun, though there were several families too. We didn't try the restaurant, because quite frankly breakfast was so chain-hotel style that we weren't inspired - and there are wonderful, charming places to try in Begur (I recommend the Aigua Clara restaurant). Breakfast - think queues for the coffee machine in the morning etc. - just very little personal touch. Being asked every morning which room we were staying in when we entered the breakfast room (by the same member of staff!) also removed any personal charm from the experience. The day we arrived (around 4pm) we were told that the sofa bed in our suite would be made up for our children at 8pm. When we got back from dinner at 10.30pm, absolutely exhausted after a day of travel, it had not been made up and we had to wait another 45 minutes for reception to react to our reminder. No apology either. Having had a wonderful tour around Catalonia, staying in absolutely stunning accommodation for half the price, we were disappointed by this hotel and would certainly not return. But if you want the best pool and beach in the area and can excuse the rest, I would recommend the hotel just for these features.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and make sure you aren't overlooking the breakfast terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SalvadorMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It is seven years since we stayed at the Aigua Blava. It was always our favourite hotel in Spain but,I don't know why but it seemed even better now. We had a lovely traditional room with terrace overlooking the sea. The hotel is immaculately clean and has a lovely fresh smell about it.
We were on half board and were pleasantly surprised with the dinner menu. Excellent value and superbly cooked food. The best veal in whisky sauce I have ever eaten - still dreaming about it!
Second night we had crepes suzettes cooked at the table by Antonio. Pure theatre and a fabulous pudding. Will have to walk a few miles to walk off the calories but thoroughly worth it.
The staff at the Aigua Blava are superb. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff and waiters Luis and Antonio were fantastic, making us feel so relaxed and welcome.
As I said it is seven years since we last stayed here but we were so impressed with our stay that we have booked to come back in September, and until then can daydream about having our lovely breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the sea!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandyJan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
10.6 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
10.4 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aiguablava

Property: Hotel Aiguablava
Address: Platja de Fornells s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Begur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel with amazing sea views, located in one of the best beaches of the Costa Brava, Aiguablava, in Begur. Surrounded by beaches with crystal clear water and golden sand, and beautiful towns like Pals or Tamariu, the hotel offers its guests a charm that is hard to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigua Blava Begur
Aigua Blava Hotel
Hotel Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing