We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aiguablava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Aiguablava
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Staffs, England
Level Contributor
332 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

The reviews I read all seemed spot on - great location, good facilities, very good rooms, an atmosphere slightly from the past - but caring - and good food. I'd certainly return if I have the chance. The salt water pool is good and not so salty to be unpleasant, and it's a peaceful place to chill out. Spanish families and a slightly older clientele seem to have been coming here for years and all seem to know the staff and each other, which says something. Any downsides? Service can be slow, peak meal times busy and hard to get a table.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Slow service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skyjockey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    116
    48
    25
    8
See reviews for
122
276
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
405 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2007

We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment that was just off the beach at this old-fashioned, medium-sized hotel. The apartment was quite spacious and the views from our terrace were stunning. The property is very beautifully maintained, and the location is gorgeous. The beach is small and a bit rocky, but trails lead to several nearby big and sandy beaches. We did not buy the meal plan and so I cannot comment on their food. While some might find the atmosphere a bit stuffy or traditional, it was clearly enjoyed by the many elderly guests there.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2007

Amazing location and views from this hotel. Our room and bathroom were huge with views over the sea. A number of people have commented that the hotel is a bit "dated". I think they are missing the point! It is a 1960's hotel and they have kept the interior in keeping with its age and it works really well.

The breakfast buffet fantastic - masses of choice and they don't stop serving until 11am.

The pool area is small but clean and tidy and it's only a 5 min walk down the hill to the beach.

  • Liked — The size of the rooms and the breakfast
  • Disliked — Quite noisy outside the room due to wooden floors throughout
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
Level Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2007

The hotel had just opened for the season at the beginning of March. We had a beautiful seaview room with a balcony. The staff are most attentive to your every wish and cannot do enough for you. The situation of the hotel is in a little cove in an unspoilt part of the Costa Brava. There is every facility at the hotel eg. outdoor pool, table tennis, childrens play area, and tiny beach and in warmer weather they must be very welcome. The food was good and the restaurant staff were most helpful. We had drinks in the bar to start and it would have nice if they had given us some olives or crisps to have with them. I had my hair cut in the beauty salon and we also had access for free to the internet. It is a good stopover in the Costa Brava and convenient to visit other small resorts. However the amount of restaurants and shops open in March is quite limited.

  • Liked — The friendliness and comfort
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aeb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2006

I've just just returned after a 3 day stay with my wife and young (6-9y) children. They closed for the winter as we checked out, but mentally the staff seemed to have "gone" the week before.

Poor staff attentiveness was the order of the day, with the exception of the 2 older gentlemen who ran the restaurant and terrace area. The food at breakfast was poor enough to ensure we didn't venture back for dinner.

Pleasant location with lovely views. It must be very attractive in summer. Begur ,the village nearby, has some interesting restaurants.

But I suggest you head 1km furthur over to the other side of the tiny bay to the beautifully decorated Parador that you can see from the Aigua Blava. We went for dinner (sensational) and didn't want to return to our poor service and pokey/tired 2 room suite and bathroom (never seen such a small bath!).

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Beds and mattresses
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the Parador across the bay
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holiday_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayreuth, germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2006

a really stunning hotel in an unique isolated position on top of a cliff without neighbour. from the windows you see either the beautiful bay or the sea and a part of the cliff. there is a small, not too long path down to the bay where you can bathe, and there is also a restaurant managed by the hotel with mostly seafood.
the hotel itself is a complex in the modern international style -lots of glass, wood and white walls, enormous open spaces with funny seventies decoration and design classics (mies vd rohe, castiglione ...) you would await in a movie with sean connery as james bond.
rooms are spacious and bright, bathrooms well-equipped and roomy.
the restaurant is in the same style but with dark wood. the waiters were attentive and friendly. breakfasts were copious and well worth the price. the only pity with all paradores is that the bar opens only at eleven, that means if you want breakfast it´s always the buffet, but no possibility to have only a cup of coffee, and for that 12 € is too much. So we gained weight.
Dinners were good and well served, the wine as always in paradores good and cheap. we certainly would stay there again.

  • Liked — Lage
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank shivaowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2006

The location and view are outstanding. The restaurant is great and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dante08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.2 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
10.4 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aiguablava

Property: Hotel Aiguablava
Address: Platja de Fornells s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Begur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel with amazing sea views, located in one of the best beaches of the Costa Brava, Aiguablava, in Begur. Surrounded by beaches with crystal clear water and golden sand, and beautiful towns like Pals or Tamariu, the hotel offers its guests a charm that is hard to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigua Blava Begur
Aigua Blava Hotel
Hotel Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing