We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views of the Mediterranean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Aiguablava
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views of the Mediterranean”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We spent two nights here on a tour of Spain. The Parador is a bit hard to find by car but well worth the effort. We requested a room with a balcony and a jetted tub. Room 302 is one of only four rooms on the third floor. It was huge with two terraces. One terrace was very large with a shower, lounge chairs and a table. The views of the Mediterranean were spectacular. The bathroom was very large with a round jetted tub and a separate jetted shower unit. We liked the breakfast buffet. Great area to walk around, rent a kayak. Drive to Begur to enjoy the quaint little town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoWithGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    242
    83
    33
    12
See reviews for
118
429
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Previous reviewers are correct. The food is mediocre, the decor boring and the staff impersonal. Ah, but the view makes up for every deficiency! Each room has a balcony overlooking water, and the path down the hill leads to a small but inviting sandy beach, ringed by four seafood restaurents. After a few days in phrenetic Barcelona, this place was the perfect rest stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Mspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Large room with excellent view - would recommend 2nd floor - better views. Excellent coastal path from hotel to local coves. Begur also beautiful old town - worth climbing hill for views. September is definitely off season with quite a few restaurants closed in the area including in Begur. Parador restaurant is nice but pricey - veggie option very strange - just a plate of veg with sauce ! Fish dish likewise - a plate of fish with no veg!! But overall hotel has such a stunning location makes for a very relaxing break - would definitely recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is the 7th parador I've visited and I'm never disappointed. Paradors have different attractions - for this one it is the fabulous coastal location. It's similar to Baiona but doesn't have the advantages of being built inside a fortress and being right beside a village. Nevertheless, the location is stunning. All rooms have great views. I rarely eat at the Paradors so have no comments on that score.

Room Tip: All Rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The parador is well run, modern, with large comfy rooms with balconies. All rooms have exquisite views to suit your taste. The pool is refreshingly cool, the deck area relaxing. The snack bar is perfect with tasty snacks for midday sunning breaks. There a a lovely beach walk able from the property, peppered with eateries at high to low budgets. Snorkeling and scuba can be arranged,
Overall, a winner.

Only downsides.....the all too stiff, over lit and over priced prix fix dinner. Improving the dining space, more intimate and providing a la carte selections would be an Added value to the hotel.

Room Tip: Any room will delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was a treat. Loved the cliff top view of sea. Paradore has 2 restaurants with one on beach below where we ate one evening. Climb up the hill path afterwards was tiring. Thoroughly enjoyed stay here for 3 days. Good pool with complimentary lemonade drink during hot day. Lovely cove and beach. Wonderful views. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jostony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

This was the third Parador that we visited on our recent trip to Spain, and it had a very different feel to the others. It was much busier with lots of families staying here. However the location, on a small headland between two little bays is spectacular. However there are very few bars, cafes and places to eat outside of the parador. I was pleased that we had stocked up on beers and snacks on the way, which we enjoyed whilst relaxing on the balcony! The coastal paths are well worth exploring.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jimboe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
421 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
2.3 mi away
Hotel El Convent
Hotel El Convent
#12 of 14 in Begur
209 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#9 of 14 in Begur
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Aiguablava

Property: Parador de Aiguablava
Address: Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Begur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador overlooking the sea surrounded by pine trees, on the "Punta d'es Munts" allows traveller to enjoy the sea and nature by peaceful walks in cliff-hangings gardens and wonderful views over hidden coves. The living rooms are a haven of peace, and the bedrooms present us with marvellous panoramic views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Parador De Aiguablava Hotel Begur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing