We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - scenic view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parador de Aiguablava
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location - scenic view”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hotel is one of Paradores iconic hotel located on a ridge next to the Mediterranean see - Costa Brava. Rooms feature views either to the open sea or in the bay of Aiguablava, a small village. The Hotel waas built in the 60ies hence the style is quite typical for the area with wide structures in concrete and glass. Hotel lobby is wide open, large corridors are characteristic. The Restaurant's menus provides typical dishes from the region, but variation is limited. AC in the restaurant was out of service. The service is in general very friendly, restaurant service is sleepy. Lovely beach access in the bay of Aiguablava. WIFI access often week.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wulf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    241
    83
    33
    12
See reviews for
117
429
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lurgan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We loved the views. We didn't have a car so it cost us to go in and out of begur and ended up quite expensive. Hotel was ok. Didn't have breakfast. What we paid for one night was expensive but enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Isolated but views are unbelievable. Don't go unless you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Fabulous location, but that's it. Had fixed priced menu at 34 euro a head. What a disappointment and a rip off. Don't believe all the great reviews. Hotel is dated and way overpriced. Because of it's location you are forced to eat in the restaurant. What a let down!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 330Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

My wife and I have stayed at this Parador three times, the last one being this September. We are also great fans of Paradors in general and have stayed in around 20 over the years.
The Parador at Aiguablava is in a stunning location and as far as I can see, all rooms have a sea view and are spacious and well equipped. They also have balconies. As a place for dinner, it is OK, but there are lots of very good restaurants in the area and the breakfasts are excellent and offer a massive choice.
There is also a very good pool and a bar area over-looking the sea. The staff have always seemed very helpful and efficient.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The room was large and clean and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location... HEAVENLY. Costa Brava is a gem! And this is the perfect place to discover it. One note: I am not a breakfast person, but the breakfast here was superb! Expensive but superb! If you are staying, try it at least once.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoltersfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 weeks in Spain. At the end of the trip we planned to rent a car and drive the Costa Brava. Our initial plan was to spend one night in one part of the area and the second night in another section. However on our first day, we arrived in Begur and stopped by the local Ti (5 minutes before they closed!) and the attendant was so helpful. She recommended several hotels in the area - including the Hotel Parador. This hotel was fantastic! It is situated on a rock outcropping, so every room appeared to have a view. The service was incredible and it was right above a beautiful little beach. We were so in love with the hotel and area that we decided to spend both nights here.
The hotel was clean, the rooms were a very decent size (the bathroom was huge by European standards), and local area had a ton of activities (hiking, scuba diving, swimming, sunbathing, window shopping) - that it was the perfect location. It was also perfectly situation to check out the local towns - such as Cadeques and Tamariu.
It was the perfect ending to a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I booked this hotel mainly on its location.....I wanted a rugged, cliff-like setting that I have come to love from the Mediterranean as opposed to a huge beach resort. I got that and much more! From previous reviews, I didn't expect much from the room itself but I was so pleasantly surprised! I really wanted a balcony from which to enjoy the views so I sprung for the extra to get a terrace room. What I missed was that all (or most) of the rooms have a balcony but this room had a balcony as well as a HUGE terrace. The terrace rooms are on the top floor.....there a only 4 of them and all of them are very private with amazing views off of either side of the property towards the water. The "room" was actually a very large suite with a huge bathroom with jacuzzi. The furnishings were simple yet tasteful, the bed was comfortable and there were windows everywhere to enjoy the views. The weather wasn't cooperating but it was still very beautiful and reminiscent of the Pacific Northwest. The staff were pleasant throughout our stay.

The other thing that pleasantly surprised me was the dining situation. The dining room in the hotel served an excellent breakfast with amazing views also. We did not want to eat the dinner as that seems to be the main complaint about this property. We also didn't want to go off site as we were really tired but we found that the cafe in the hotel serves good light dining and drinks all afternoon and evening. The cafe has indoor and outdoor tables with again those amazing views.

Room Tip: The suites on the top floor have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv2travlChantilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Begur hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,192 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel El Convent
Hotel El Convent
#12 of 14 in Begur
197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#9 of 14 in Begur
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Aiguablava

Property: Parador de Aiguablava
Address: Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#5 Family Hotel in Begur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador overlooking the sea surrounded by pine trees, on the "Punta d'es Munts" allows traveller to enjoy the sea and nature by peaceful walks in cliff-hangings gardens and wonderful views over hidden coves. The living rooms are a haven of peace, and the bedrooms present us with marvellous panoramic views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Parador De Aiguablava Hotel Begur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing