We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-century modern marvel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parador de Aiguablava
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I looked forward so much to staying in this parador. I had seen pictures of the cove, all turquoise and indigo and the view of the hotel perched high on the cliff. I had been told by an English tourist and had read in reviews that the building was something of a disappointment compared to the more "historic" Paradors. What a canard! The place is beautiful, sleek with that mid-century minimalism and white everywhere. The windows are large and I had the feeling I was on a ship...water, water everywhere! We had a small terrace and views onto the cliffs,the Mediterranean and umbrella pines. Meals were delicious: from the splendid buffet to the wide variety of evening offerings, we never were at a loss for interesting things to eat over three days. Arroz negro, foie over wild mushrooms, salad with pear and caramelized onions are just examples. A wonderful and reasonably priced selection of wines. This is a place for all ages, despite what other commentators have written. From babes in arms through teenagers to the middle-aged and elderly, this place accommodates all in an ambience of understated luxury and calm. My favourite parador! My special thanks to the staff, too, who were kind, gracious and willing to discuss such things as where to buy the delicious olive oil served at every meal.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a view on the water and a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reme O, coordinadora de Calidad at Parador de Aiguablava, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Thank you very much for your comments.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Absolutely gorgeous hotel located ~10 minute drive from Begur. The hotel is situated on a beautiful bay with incredible views of the ocean and a harbor. The rooms are large and well maintained. Highly recommend Parador de Aiguablava.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reme O, Coordinadora de Calidad at Parador de Aiguablava, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. We are very grateful.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Aiguablava's Parador is the best place to relax, disconnect and receive the best service possible. The location is awesome, the parador is excellent, with wonderful people willing to help you and make you feel at home during your stay and very tasty food. The buffet is very complete and the quality is amazing. They also have a restaurant where you can order 'a la carte' and it is also very good.
They have a great swimmimg pool and many wonderful beaches nearby, you can choose the one that suits you!!
Also, the Begur Dive Center is placed right beneath the Parador with a wide range of water activities to offer. We had our first dive and it was wonderful. We recommend this incredible place to everybody. Conchi and Carlos

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carahuevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reme O, Coordinadora de Calidad at Parador de Aiguablava, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you very for your comments. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel sits on its own atop a rocky headland at entrance to an attractive bay with a sheltered sandy beach below the hotel. Peaceful and rooms with great views either out to sea one way or across the bay the other. Modern decor which could appear a bit bland, but we found it grew on you - and the sitting and bar areas are tall-ceilinged and spacious and airy. Terrace outside bar with great outlook to rocks and sea. Good 'traditional' swimming pool with grassed sunbed area. Overall the hotel has a peaceful and comfortable air about it - and not flash.
Bedrooms and bathrooms spacious, perhaps a touch dated, but clean and all have a great balcony.
Good breakfast, but dinner for half-board not that inspiring and moderate quality - also service a touch slow at times. Rather than half-board may be better to eat at the restaurant (owned by the hotel) on the beach below the hotel - though that entails an uphill walk back to hotel after dinner. Otherwise it is a 3/4 mile drive to three restaurants in Aiguablava village - difficult walk at night.
This hotel is best suited to couples and perhaps not so good for children.
Wi-Fi was intermittent - something good hotels these days should fix urgently.
We may well return here as we loved both the particular position of the hotel and its ambiance and also the area in general around local town Begur.

Room Tip: All rooms face either east or west. For sea view and morning sun get a room on east side. For view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christ0pher_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reme O, Coordinadora de Calidad at Parador de Aiguablava, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014
Google Translation

Agradecemos sus comentarios y sugerencias hacia nuestro establecimiento. Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We expected an expensive parador to deliver much more.
The room was big, the view was great
Bathroom facilities were old and just ok.
When we arrived WIFI did not work, and so it continued until the middle of our third day.
Even then, when it was fixed the receptionists were not aware of it.
The exercise room was not working (it seems there was none).
The food was expensive with limited choice.

you would expect more from a 300 USD room per night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zipikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reme O, Coordinadora de Calidad at Parador de Aiguablava, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

we are very sorry for all the mistakes that you found in your stay. We would like to inform you that the gym is close for the remoldings. For the wifi there was a problem for a few days, but now the system works without problem .
Thank you so much for you comments.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I would not stay here without access to a car as it is a bit isolated but that also means it allows for great relaxation. The rooms are dated but very clean. The wood floors in the hallways have huge gaps and sink and creak underfoot rather disturbingly, like a rotting deck! There are wonderful views from most rooms, the terrace and breakfast room. We remarked that the picture windows and views are the only decor in the restaurant; once the sun goes down, the room is very stark and with its regimented tables lacks atmosphere. The dinner options were generally good - we liked the black rice, the veal sirloin and the sequet the best - although there was little or nothing in the way of vegetables with each plate. The beach (reached by a path and stair) is not big so it does get busy. The water is very clear and shallow and a gorgeous colour.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Funfetoile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reme O, Coordinadora de Calidad at Parador de Aiguablava, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

In first place I should like to thank you both personally and on behalf of the Parador of Aiguablava for your comments written to us consequent on your visit. Our principal objective at the Paradores is to assure your satisfaction and your well-being as well as to offer our distinguished clients the comfort and quality which they deserve - in accordance with the system of quality in which we are practiced and certified.
Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for a few nights on a family holiday. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are large (by American Standards) and the breakfast was fabulous. The spread that is provided for breakfast will make finding something to suit your pallet easy. Lots of fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, choice of many breads, yogurts, lots of pastries, cereal, soft boiled eggs, and I could go on. One night we ate the beach restaurant. I was underwhelmed with the selection and I thought the food was average. I had expected better but was not disappointed.

The view we had was of a beautiful little cove with lots of boats anchored and a nice beach. It did get rather crowded with the locals, but the hotel pool was beautiful and not crowded if you wanted something quieter. The pool was guarded and very clean.

The staff was friendly but there weren't a lot around. The hotel is off the beaten path so it's not a bustling place. Seemed slower paced. We enjoyed ourselves and I would go back. The only negative was that there wasn't a fitness center. I actually think there may be a treadmill or something but it was not working.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachgalxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reme O, Coordinadora de Calidad at Parador de Aiguablava, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. We would like to inform you that the gym is closed as we are improving facilities, we wait that in you nest visit you can use all the service.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.6 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Aparthotel Golf Beach
1.6 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Classic Begur Hotel
Classic Begur Hotel
#9 of 14 in Begur
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Aiguablava

Address: Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Begur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range: £201 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador overlooking the sea surrounded by pine trees, on the "Punta d'es Munts" allows traveller to enjoy the sea and nature by peaceful walks in cliff-hangings gardens and wonderful views over hidden coves. The living rooms are a haven of peace, and the bedrooms present us with marvellous panoramic views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Parador De Aiguablava Hotel Begur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing