We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place with great potential”
Review of Hotel Eetu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Eetu
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A place with great potential”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The present owners took over about a year ago and the rooms a very nice and roomy. The bathrooms are not yet renovated but despite that very functional. The location close to the beaches, walking distances, is absolutely optimal and to offer indoor parking free of charge in an area where parking is very limited is exceptional.
The hotel has both a restaurant and a bar.
The breakfast was very extensive and should cater for all tastes.
You feel very welcome in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Framcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernat V, Gerente at Hotel Eetu, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for sharing your review on our Hotel. As you say Eetu is within walking distance to Fornells, Platja Fonda and the Aiguablava cove, and is also very convenient for trekking with beatiful paths to Sa Tuna, Tamariu, the village of Begur... Our garage is certainly an exceptional facility in the area. Hotel Eetu The splendour of Costa Brava
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    109
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
282
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have just spent a week in this quiet part of the Costa Brava. The hotel dates back to the 1960s and is undergoing professional renovation to bring it up to contemporary standards whilst retaining the best aspects of its original design (light and space). Large bedrooms with huge beds and the best mattresses/pillows we have ever experienced. The reception and cafe/restaurant reflect both Spanish flourish and Scandinavian chic. Meals are taken under the shade of the trees with a view of the beautiful garden. The owner/managers are charming and are fully committed to making this a great experience. Some fantastic restaurants in the area which offer high quality food and wine at good prices. Plenty of quiet coves for swimming, snorkelling and sunbathing.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing the coast with Air Conditioning: the air conditioning is silent and effective wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TjarkoGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernat V, Gerente at Hotel Eetu, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for sharing your opinion on Eetu. It's highly rewarding when clients understand our work and intentions and are able to put it in this way. Hotel Eetu The splendour or Costa Brava
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I have just returned from a week on my own at the Hotel Eetu and would like to extend my thanks and gratitude to Ber and Rune and all their staff. I enjoyed a week of being made to feel very special along with delicious food and wine and an extremely comfortable room with a spectacular view - a joy to wake up to every morning ! I highly recommend this hotel as, we all know, a good hotel is more than a building and the owners (and the staff) of this establishment ARE the hotel and make it a unique place to stay. Keep up the good work and I look forward to my next trip !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernat V, Gerente at Hotel Eetu, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
It's an honour to receive these words from a lady who has been all over the world in top places and hotels and who knows the exact meaning of the words quality, service, warmth... She was a pleasure to have and the whole staff was talking about her the day after she left. Thanks Lesley and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We arrived after a busy week of work and found the ambiance and staff at EETU Hotel wonderful. Everyone took time to ensure we had a lovely stay, and nothing seemed too much bother. You can easily see the management set a very high standard and want to get things right. The hotel had music playing gently over breakfast and live music in the evening on 2 of the 3 nights we stayed - all very good. The area is wonderful, and we walked a lot more than we would usually do, but only because there were so many pleasent options. We also hired a small boat at the nearby beach and spent a very pleasent 4 hours with a picnic viewing the area from sea. We definitely have memories to savour in retrospect!

Room Tip: All rooms are very spacious with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel has been recently restored in a superb way. While preserving the charme of the '70, it meets current hospitality standards with a Nordic touch in the interior.
The location is perfect, the menu of the restaurant great, the music being played adds a sopisticated touch to the ensemble... The owners are charming. And all of the above at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinellaAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernat V, Gerente at Hotel Eetu, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thanks for sharing your opinion on our Hotel Eetu. As you say Eetu is a design Hotel and we try to preserve the atmosphere of the sixties and seventies, with a sophisticated touch. We're proud of our setting in the bay of Aiguablava and also of the design of the building and our restaurant and rooms. It's comforting when clients understand our work and intentions. Hotel Eetu The splendour of Costa Brava
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Rooms are clean, spacious with a comfortabale bed and there is a free car park - but thats about it.
The hotel did not deliver what was promised while booking took place. When I book a hotel over the Internet I have to rely on the information that is given there.
The booking confirmation stated that WLAN is available in the overall hotel. This was not the case. There as no WLAN in our room and a very weak signal on the balcony. You had to go down to the lobby for Internat access. When we pointed out that fact to the service desk they only shrugged with the sholder as if they heard it for the first time that the room has no internet access.
Furthermore the booking confirmation described our room with a seaview. The seaview was only in a corner sideways and the view was into the woods for the most part.
Below the building was the restaurant patio which played some annoying music until midnight some time with Witney Houstons howling i will always love you.
Overall in my opinion the hotel price is too expensive for the value given.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernat V, Gerente at Hotel Eetu, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
We regret and apologise for not beig able to fulfill your expectations. The wifi service was just restored the afternoon you left; a new antena was installed, as the old one was out or order, which we didn´t know. We usually play some nice and elegant music, Krall, Buble, Eliane Elias, Chopin, etc that clients generally enjoy, as can be read in this site; we'll try to be more careful with the volumen later in the evening-night. The wideness of the sea view depends on the room and all clients can´t have the best views which we try to assign to the longest bookings. Hotel Eetu is set in arguably the best área in Costa Brava, Aiguablava, and we honestly think that our quality-price is really good. Thanks for sharing your opinión about our place which will let us improve. Hotel Eetu The splendour of Costa Brava
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I booked this hotel recently for a few friends over a weekend. We hired a car from Girona airport and fashionably got lost. We arrived at the hotel approximately an hour before check in, but were ushered in without any problems by the fabulous hotel manager (can not recall name... sorry). The little coves and the sea was literally about 300 yards from the hotel and takes less then 3 minutes to walk down to. I shared with my partner whilst our other friends were given a room two floors down from us. Both parties received sea view, our room having the best views as it was situated on the top floor. The room was absolutely gorgeous with brand new furnishing and a very generous balcony area (where we could smoke all night). There were two down points with the room, 1 being the bathroom was very old (this was all explained to us on arrival and without prompting so wasn't such a big problem) and we couldn't get the right balance in temperature. The second being we must have been placed next to a boiler room or something like that as there was a constant chugging noise. This however had not upset our stay in the room as we lapped in the positives. The first day we got there we were knackered so we made our way to the hotel restaurant for lunch. There was this one lady serving a whole group of people and our meal took nearly three hours to complete. We did not mind however as we were knackered and enjoyed taking in the scenery and enjoying our conversation. The food was nice and so was the music. We did however feel very sorry for the poor lady working on her own. Breakfast was nice; continental. Simple but fitted in perfectly with Spanish laid back life style. On the whole we enjoyed our stay very much and will be definitely coming back again.

Room Tip: Request for top floor rooms with sea view and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koobcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernat V, Gerente at Hotel Eetu, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thanks for sharing your opinion about our Hotel. As we explained you we've only taken over the Hotel 1 year ago and was really in bad shape, run down; we've done lots of improvements and invested a lot of money but we've hardly worked with bathrooms yet. We're not a big company just 2 individuals. It was very nice to have the 4 of you with us and we wish you come back one day. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.1 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
1,658 reviews
10.6 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
775 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eetu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eetu

Property: Hotel Eetu
Address: Platja de Fornells | Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eetu 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to welcome our clients in this marvellous and exclusive setting, the bay of Aiguablava, surrounded by a sea of infinite shades of blue, with crystal clear waters, cliffs, hidden coves, and just 3 kilometres from the village of Begur.Eetu stands in a unique building and is a design hotel, urban and trendy retro. The Hotel features 47 rooms with terrace, many with sea views, 3 apartments, restaurant-bar with open air terrace, garage, tennis court and free wifi. Why Hotel Eetu?: Adults only!, In full contact with nature, at a luxury residential area by the sea, walking-distance to crystal clear coves, big and very bright rooms, all of them with terrace and most with sea views, king size (1,80 x 2,00) beds of the highest quality, 32" flat screen tv's with USB connection, bathrooms with Italian showers, the mark of the continuous owner's presence, the convenience of the restaurant service and the choice of half board, big buffet breakfast, with show cooking, under the mulberry trees, free garage, beautiful trekking routes in the surroundings, just 3 km. Away from the village of Begur and few km. From other touristic attractions: the medieval villages, Dali's triangle: Pubol-Figueres-Cadaques, the city of Girona... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eetu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eetu Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing