We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with gracious hosts in a lovely city”
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aiguaclara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We stayed for 6 nights in the Begur Suite (room 9) which is done in lovely antique whites. The bedroom can be closed off from the sitting area by French doors.
All of the amenities, sheets, towels etc were of a top quality. The owners of the hotel Joan and Clara are gracious hosts who are there to help when you need them,but not intrusive in any way.
The hotel has a large library of international videos, newspapers and a number of indoor and outdoor sitting areas. Begur is a charming town to explore with some very good restaurants.
I would recommend this hotel highly and we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingcanadian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2009

our experience here was so horrible we left early after only one night ! yes, the people who own this place are very nice, but i just can't understand the positive reviews for this hotel the life of me - i have always had great luck with trip advisor but something doesn't add up here. our room was ok - sheets were clean but the bathroom was so dirty - mildew on the windows and a stained wood plank floor in the shower - we didn't feel safe using it! we had ants in the bathroom and my son's bed when we woke up. we did get an apology but no break on the price of the room which wasn't inexpensive. breakfast was ok but nothing compared to the other places we stayed during our 10 days in barcelona and northern spain.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camjwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Our hosts, Clara and husband Joan, were extremely friendly and helpful, both before and during our two-night stay. Their warm welcome certainly made our visit very comfortable and enjoyable. An excellent example of their thoughtfulness is that on 23 April (St Jordi/George's Day) it's a Catalunyan tradition for men to give ladies a red rose; that became known to us only when at dinner Joan presented my wife with a rose, a delightful surprise!

My wife finds climbing stairs very difficult - there's no lift - and I'm almost 2 metres tall, so following our advance enquiry we were fortunately allocated the larger of the two ground-floor rooms, which has a big, comfortable double-bed. All the bedrooms and public areas are furnished and decorated in a highly-imaginative style, giving the hotel a distinctive atmosphere.

The hotel is located in a quiet street very close to the town centre (though you can hear the church bell striking every quarter-hour, but not loudly enough to disturb us). The hotel has 4 spaces in an adjacent private car park and it's definitely worth reserving before arrival a space at 7 Euros a night. Be aware that the detailed access instructions obtained via the website may be out of date, as the road system has changed a bit recently; I suggest contacting the hotel for up-to-date guidance.

The buffet breakfast is good and dinner is available in the restaurant, the price starting at 10 Euros for one course (with several choices). The unusual feature of an 'honesty' bar is constantly available for drinks and snacks.

Begur is an attractive small town on a hill (not too steep!) and an excellent base for exploring the area, including the smaller resorts along the Costa Brava.

We liked most: the friendliness and helpfulness of Clara, Joan and the rest of the staff
We liked least: can't think of anything!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

This is a small hotel (10 rooms only) arranged with love and great taste by its owners, Clara & Joan, in a collonial palace built in 1866 by some rich Catalan people who made a lot of money in Cuba. The rooms are BEAUTIFUL, the atmosfere very quiet and family-like, you feel like paying a visit to your friends. It is located in the very center of Begur, yet it is very quiet (except for the church bells which ring A LOT, maybe even TOO MUCH!). Begur is a charming little town with splendid views - there are very nice beaches in the vicinity. The food at the restaurant is very good. The best things about Aiguaclara are the hosts and the elegant arangement of this beautiful house. We spent a week there, would like to stay there much longer...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adalbertus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We had a lovely visit to Begur, and the hotel was not only well-located, but we also had a wonderful stay. We would recommend this hotel to travellers. Parking was a hassle.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

they made it like we were staying at their house, not just their hotel

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

we only had one night, and wish we could have stayed longer. We heard great things about the hotel on trip advisor, and they exceeded our expectations. The owner had to run an errand with his daughter and was worried he would miss our arrival, so he called to check on our eta. We also had an early morning departure to Barcelona, and he was helpful with advice on traffic, and accessing our car in the parking lot. Our room was wonderful... spacious, great shower, and awesome location. we loved the honor bar and the down stairs living area. We travel often and can spend up to 150 nights a year in hotels, and this special hotel will be long remembered and we look forward to a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
728 reviews
11.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: Carrer Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range: £74 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing