We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique, fabulous location, fab food !”
Review of Hostal Sa Rascassa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Sa Rascassa
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
464 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Unique, fabulous location, fab food !”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Friends recommended to us, a lovely find in a beautiful bay. The rooms (5) are compact
but clean and comfortable good mattress's, pillows & great shower. We ate in the restaurant first night and for the rest of our stay! just great food. Oscar is 'Patron of the Year'
in my books a charming and energetic man who loves his job - nothing is too much trouble! Aided by the lovely Angela ( whose husband is chef - a very.good one!) for restaurant service. This place is an ideal couples retreat but don't forget it is a great restaurant first and with nice rooms second. We were very happy all round.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms the same so don't worry which one you are allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    19
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Only went there for dinner. What a cozy place and the food was amazing. Dont miss it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanandMikael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Me and my wife stayed here four nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The location, metres away from the water in a spotless cove, is stunning. Everything in this hotel and restaurant feels considered yet effortless. Simple but stylish rooms, friendly but discreet service and a seriously foodie restaurant with a menu strong on local produce and a wine list worth exploring. The owners run the place themselves and it shows. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All five rooms are identical, with views on either side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The setting is several meters away from the sea and beautiful scenery. It takes 5 minutes to drive along picturescue rode from Begur down to the hostal. The room is small, simple and clean. The owner, Oscar, is attentive, personal, and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yskaradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Hostal Sa Rascossa is simple, stunning and unique. We spent 4 nights at the start of the season which gave us the chance to spend lots of time talking to Oscar and the maitre d- Angela. HSR gives great attention to detail, whether it's the quality of the food and wine or the design of the restaurant or rooms. We came across it in 1001 escapes to make before you die - and the glowing review reflected our own experience. It may not be what everyone wants, but what it is, is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We had a very good time in this cosy hotel. Very friendly staff, perfect location, great restaurant. Neat rooms and reasonable prices. I can recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed in this hotel in August 09. We found it very basic for the price we paid; noisy in the evening (the terrasse of the restaurant is under the window) which was a problem because we traveled with a young child. We were told that noise would not be a problem, so that was rather disappointing. The owner of the hotel is a very nice person but it was clear that the place was too busy. the waiter who served us breakfast was very unfriendly, almost impolite. Breakfast was served at 9am which was late because we wanted to take snorkling lessons in another village but they started at 8:30 so we had to give up breakfast. I can imagine that people who travel without a child and out of season find it a really nice place, but it was not what we expected.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimsFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Begur hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Sa Tuna
Hostal Sa Tuna
#14 of 14 in Begur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parador de Aiguablava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sa Rascassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sa Rascassa

Property: Hostal Sa Rascassa
Address: Cala d'Aiguafreda, 3, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five twin rooms: with bathroom, heating and TV; and no telephone! mediterranean cuisine restaurant. Under the pine trees, by the sea shore, at Cala d'Aiguafreda. No bars or discos within 2,5 miles; and plenty just at 3. Cosy atmosphere. Open from March to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Sa Rascassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sa Rascassa Hotel Begur
Hostal Sa Rascassa Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing