We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, wonderful food”
Review of Hostal Sa Rascassa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Sa Rascassa
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay, wonderful food”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent a whole week at the Hostal Sa Rascassa and ate at the restaurant 3 times. I remember each meal really well, and the wines that went with them. The razor clams, mussles, tuna tartare, steak, and piedras de chocolate, and goats cheese and honey were all great choices! The breakfasts were equally fresh and delicious and hosted by the lovely Angela who was a great person to start the day with. Oscar was helpful and pointed us in the right direction for some pottery we wanted to buy, and is clearly passionate about the place and the food.
I would give this place Excellent if the rooms were a bit bigger and not directly above the restaurant. It was a great atmosphere but sometimes a bit noisy late night.
Hope to come back here one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly_day127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    20
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
74
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

On front of the best cala on Costa Brava there is two places that I love to go!
One is the Xiringuito when I want to take a swim and relax!! You feel like it´s five o´clok somewhere!! And then I go to Sarrascassa to have a magic dinner!! Leo best cook and better person!! They always take care that you have everything you need! I´m the fan number 1 of this restaurant!! Always with something different to offer! You must visit if you are on the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookFreeOrDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here in June and really enjoyed it. A lovely, lovely inn - there are no frills here but everything has a chic, simple style and elegance, and a good feel to it. The host Oscar is absolutely charming and he and his whole staff were some of the nicest people I've met traveling anywhere. The rooms were very clean and quite comfortable, the food fresh and delicious - you must not skip desert either (really, the chocolate stones were amazing - and I'm not even a big chocolate fan)! The location in a quiet wooded area by the sea was so restful and pleasant, and an easy walk along the sea wall to the next village - and beyond. We travel a lot and rarely do we return to the same place but we would go back here. I gave 5 stars not because they have Frette linens or flat screen TVs or fancy soap, but because the people have clearly put their hearts into making a little oasis from the world for us all to enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittyfiggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

As the lovely owner said 'we are at the end of the world so people don't come here by chance so we rely on word of mouth and doing the very best we can.' And their best was superb.

Initially I was mildly disappointed that the restaurant didn't actually overlook the bay but in fact the intimacy, friendliness and focus would have been lost if it had. A charming little terrace area; attentive, smiling and joking (in English!) waiters; a simple but well balanced menu and a good selection of wines. All complimented by the night closing in and the lights starting to flicker under the trees. The whitebait starter was perfect - a huge portion and the fish were the ideal size (so often they are just that bit too big) and the main courses were excellent.

How would I have made this perfect? That's easy. Book one of the 5 bedrooms; check-in and have a meander along the coastal path and a swim in the bay; maybe a recuperative cold beer on the beach cafe terrace and then back to relax, shower and change for dinner. And, after a superb meal, great wines and glass of port just climb up the stairs to your bedroom.

So that is all planned for later this year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReGelYesDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have been here many times, and it never disappoints. Fantastic ambience, excellent fresh seafood expertly prepared and extremely friendly service. Would heartedly recommend.There is also a charming garden where tables are set up, and romantically lit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Oakerspokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The location of the hostal is excellent set behind a secluded cove.
Most visitors probably book rooms as an adjunct to eating at the restaurant which entirely justifies its accolades.
The service from the restaurant is excellent ably supervised by the owner Oscar present during restaurant service only.
The rooms are basic but functional. The breakfast is also functional.
There is however a glaring lack of air conditioning and service outside of restaurant hours.
In summer therefore the rooms have no method of being cooled or even a refrigerator.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldhench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Hostal Sa Rascassa has to be the perfect place to get away from all the pressures of 21st century life. From the moment you are greeted by the owner Oscar you know you are in for a treat. The staff cannot do enough to ensure you enjoy every moment of the experience, the chef turns out amazing food and the lady who cleans the rooms makes sure everything is spotless EVERY day. A hidden gem a place you read about in a holiday novel or see on a film and think doesn't exist. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Begur hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
393 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Sa Tuna
Hostal Sa Tuna
#14 of 14 in Begur
111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parador de Aiguablava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sa Rascassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sa Rascassa

Property: Hostal Sa Rascassa
Address: Cala d'Aiguafreda, 3, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five twin rooms: with bathroom, heating and TV; and no telephone! mediterranean cuisine restaurant. Under the pine trees, by the sea shore, at Cala d'Aiguafreda. No bars or discos within 2,5 miles; and plenty just at 3. Cosy atmosphere. Open from March to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Sa Rascassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sa Rascassa Hotel Begur
Hostal Sa Rascassa Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing