We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but not to be missed”
Review of Hotel Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rosa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very simple rooms but excellent service and wonderful staff. Do not miss the freshly baked organic bread at breakfast or the salt cod provencale at dinner. We were part of a larger group and couldn't have been looked after better. Many thanks!

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

This is a gorgeous but homely hotel, set in the heart of a quiet medieval village. The value for money was outstanding. It was a lovely roomy room. We didn't have a view busy it didn't matter. The decor of the hotel is elegant but be warned, parking is about 100m in a side street. Find a spot and park. The hotel is on the first floor with no lift. Breakfast was good and we had a spectacular evening meal in the gorgeous doing room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This lovely little hotel is right in the center of the medieval town of Begur. The ruins of an ancient fortress hover over the terrace, from which you can enjoy a nice view of the plaza and cathedral. Out the front door are many restaurants, ice cream shops, the plaza lined with outdoor tables and boutiques. I strongly recommend Fonda Caner, the hotel restaurant, which is right across the street. Our room was small, which is what we requested. It was perfect for us as we planned to spend most of our time exploring the nearby beaches and the winding cobblestone streets of the town. There are several nice sitting areas for guests including the above-mentioned rooftop terrace, as well as an atrium and tv room. We stayed for 3 nights and our room was clean, quiet and well-maintained. The staff are a highlight of the Rosa; Pilar and the rest of the front desk personnel were helpful, friendly, and welcoming. (They all spoke English very well, which was much appreciated as my Spanish is very rudimentary). The reservation, check-in and -out were all very efficient. The breakfast was very good; it's served in the Fonda Caner and was a buffet of fruit, eggs, pastries, breads, pizza, etc. I strongly recommend this friendly hotel for those who enjoy walking and exploring on foot, as the parking is on the edge of the village. I enjoyed the walk through the winding streets and we had no problem whatsoever finding the Rosa (keep walking toward the Cathedral and plaza), but it would be more difficult with heavy luggage (ours was on wheels, which worked fine). I would advise against the Rosa for those with disabilities or difficulty walking. Overall, I loved this hotel, hope to return someday and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventurista_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you like European style hotels, this one's perfect for a stay in this medieval hill town. Good restaurant with great breakfast buffet and a superb and affordable wine list. The town itself is a good center for hiking especially down to the coast. Busses run to the beaches in season.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Booboo449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The Rosa is located right in the center of Begur so parking is not close, however nothing is very far in this great little town. On arrival we were greeted with a barrage of local info that was very valuable for walking and hiking around the area(which should not be missed). The rooms are smallish but very well presented and easy to get to with the aid of a small elevator. The breakfast buffet includes everything you need, both hot and cold, home baking and fresh espressos and lattes are made to order. Great place!

Room Tip: The jnr suite with a balcony is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This is quite a small hotel with rather ordinary rooms, but the owners have cleverly made room for a pleasant terrace by the bar/reception; and used the lower ground floor to house a television lounge and a games room - so it would be a nice place to stay anyway. But is made even nicer by the staff. Pinar is becoming famous, but the other receptionists (who double as waitresses in the restaurant across the street) are also very friendly and helpful - immediately, for example, providing beach towels when we mentioned that we were thinking of walking down to the beach for a swim. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WardenRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The hotel rooms had that card system of room lighting that has no individual light control - just all on/all off which didn't help navigation. Another querk was the bathroom plumbing which just didn't always seem to work - you had to wait for it to come through! The excellent breakfasts were taken in the restaurant across the narrow street.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Begur hotels
0 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#7 of 14 in Begur
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosa

Address: Pi i Rallo, 19, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range: £69 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Begur
Hotel Rosa Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing