We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat”
Review of Hotel El Convent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Convent
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here as part of our running vacation with Running Costa Brava. This was a peaceful retreat in what is a former convent. We stayed in room 17 which had a small balcony with a view over the garden and pool. We did not explore the grounds very much as we had a long day of running. From what we believe, the outdoor pool was probably not heated, but again, we don't know for sure since we didn't explore it. The decor was appropriate, the bathroom had a shower only with an interesting array of jets. It had complimentary "kava" between 7-8pm, which we found out to be champagne, served with a nut mix to snack on while we waited for dinner (earliest is at 8:30pm). Dinner was excellent- service in the entire hotel was excellent and friendly. From the receptionist Raquel (who went the extra mile to help me retrieve some running gear I had left at a nearby spa earlier) to the waiters at dinner- everyone was super friendly always wearing a smile and interested in making our stay as enjoyable as possible. Breakfast was good- a buffet wonderful pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt and coffee (which you can take out onto their patio).
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    86
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
35
140
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

great place in ancient building , renovated with nice decoration - very romantic . it has also garden , pool area . excellent service and great food , highly recommend dinner ) also we had a bottle of nice champaign in the room - and everything was very nice . you ca visit begur as well as others small villages around

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilybcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazeing
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just returned from 8 days staying at this delightful hotel . The staff were excellent helpful and friendly .My wife has to follow a gluten free diet . We advised them the beforehand and at break fast they laid on a range of gluten free products which was a great help .The restaurant was good with excellent (large) wine list . The rooms were fine and the building full of character .Ideal location being short drive into Begur with plenty of bars and restaurants . Also short hop to good beaches and excellent walking along coastal paths . All in all a lovely hotel in a very peaceful and relaxing location .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed for a couple of days in El Convent as guests of a weddingparty.
Anna was great in organizing everything!
We loved the location, the garden, the food etc. Begur is a lovely old village,the beaches close by.
Wonderful!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnGroningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed at El Convent for 2 nights in August. We ate at the hotel both nights and the food was excellent. The breakfast was ordinary, nothing special, but fine. The terrace where breakfast was served needed a good clean, the timber tables and chairs were grubby and old.

We stayed in a superior room on the ground floor. The room was dark, drab and tired. The bathroom was very average. Overall the room was very disappointing.

The swimming pool is very small and the pool furniture, like the restaurant furniture, in need of an upgrade.

Overall we were disappointed and would not recommend the hotel to others.

Also a note on the area -
El Convent is only a couple of kilometers out of the town of Begur but the roads are so steep you cannot walk into town, you need a car / taxi.

The beach is about a 10 min walk away. We went once at about 3 in the afternoon and both the beach and sea were full of people - it was difficult to find a spot to swim.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have just spent an amazing 6 day break at El Convent. When we arrived we were upgraded to the Torre Suite which is set over three floors providing great space for a family (we have two energetic boys aged 6&4). The gardens and pool are beautifully kept and the staff are approachable and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel for a short holiday in this beautiful area. The town of Begur is very close and the beach and restaurants at Sa Reira are a short walk. We would recommend Sa Tuna for its fantastic restaurants which is a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

close to a small road but hidden from it and very calm. Nice albeit small pool with beautiful setting. Good restaurant and friendly staff. Access to the sa riera beach is walking distance but not too close so a bit long with a baby car for example. Room was small and a bit expensive as a "superior" standard. Quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexvn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Begur hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
417 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#9 of 14 in Begur
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convent

Property: Hotel El Convent
Address: Carrer del Raco 2 Sa Riera, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convent 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Convent is a restored 17th-century convent, in the beautiful coastal town of Begur. It offers free Wi-Fi access and an outdoor pool. The hotel once belonged to the Minimos religious order, and each room is unique. They have been carefully restored, keeping their original features. Hotel Convent has beautiful panoramic views of the sea and the Baix Empordà. It also has lovely gardens, a gym and sauna. Free public parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convent Hotel
Hotel El Convent Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing