We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Value Convent”
Review of Hotel El Convent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Convent
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor Value Convent”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely old building, but were very disappointed with the value. The room was fine and very comfortable but the breakfast was very poor considering it was a 4 star hotel and very expensive. No cooked items on offer. A self service buffet with what you would get at an Ibis standard hotel. Very disappointed overall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    82
    22
    9
    9
See reviews for
31
138
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The building where the hotel is located has a very unique atmosphere. The room was spacious and confortable (if not to say pampering), nice views from the windows, and the hotel is conveniently located within a short driving distance from the amazing beaches of Costa Brava. Breakfast in the cellar-type dining room was the daily treat, and during the dinner we had we actually took pictures of the main courses... Friendly staff members all contributed to a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy_SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adana, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Very near to sa riera beach.food is excellent. Staff is very kind and helpful. Location is great.hotel is surrounded with trees.You can awake with bird voice.I really recommend this place.You can see Begur village and castle with a wonderful sight.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Based upon the positive reviews posted here, we booked a room for three nights in the usual manner and expected a confirmation of our reservation, again in the usual manner. For whatever reason, missent email response or some other mistake on the part of the hotel, we never received a confirmation. In our back-and-forth emails the hotel acknowledged that we had never received any confirmation of our reservation.

Lacking this, we booked at another hotel for the three nights. We were then surprised and, frankly, outraged when El Convent charged our credit card for the nights that had been booked but not confirmed. The hotel has claimed that confirmation is unnecessary. We strongly disagree, and have never experienced a situation like this in the past.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank vcdarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Petit Conven... H, Gerente at Hotel El Convent, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Good morning,

I like them or not the criticism that our customers posted on tripadvisor, I respect them, and I do not usually answer them, I take note of them in order to improve.

I wanted to remind the reality happened

You made a reservation on our website, the booking engine will confirm the reservation and you could print it, also a confirmation email was sent to the address that you indicated during the process.

The day of your check in, you had the room you have booked and you did not show, we didn’t receive any notification from you and we kept the room at your disposal, therefore, we couldn’t sell the room. Finally you didn´t showed up in the hotel and, in application to the cancellation policy, we charged the room.

Then you asked for us to refund you money back, explain different reasons and one of them was that you did not receive the confirmation by email. We did not agree to refund your money back and you threatened us to publish in different travel forums that we are worst of the worst, and finally, you have posted the worst possible criticism in Tripadvisor.

I'm so sorry about what happened, it is not our intention to keep the money from anyone, we are always looking for a solution to any problem, but I do not tolerate threats, and after the threat that you did to us, we must keep to the terms of cancellation policy being aware that you would advertise your criticism.

It is a matter of principles

Sincerely

Guillermo Martínez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here as part of our running vacation with Running Costa Brava. This was a peaceful retreat in what is a former convent. We stayed in room 17 which had a small balcony with a view over the garden and pool. We did not explore the grounds very much as we had a long day of running. From what we believe, the outdoor pool was probably not heated, but again, we don't know for sure since we didn't explore it. The decor was appropriate, the bathroom had a shower only with an interesting array of jets. It had complimentary "kava" between 7-8pm, which we found out to be champagne, served with a nut mix to snack on while we waited for dinner (earliest is at 8:30pm). Dinner was excellent- service in the entire hotel was excellent and friendly. From the receptionist Raquel (who went the extra mile to help me retrieve some running gear I had left at a nearby spa earlier) to the waiters at dinner- everyone was super friendly always wearing a smile and interested in making our stay as enjoyable as possible. Breakfast was good- a buffet wonderful pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt and coffee (which you can take out onto their patio).
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

great place in ancient building , renovated with nice decoration - very romantic . it has also garden , pool area . excellent service and great food , highly recommend dinner ) also we had a bottle of nice champaign in the room - and everything was very nice . you ca visit begur as well as others small villages around

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilybcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazeing
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just returned from 8 days staying at this delightful hotel . The staff were excellent helpful and friendly .My wife has to follow a gluten free diet . We advised them the beforehand and at break fast they laid on a range of gluten free products which was a great help .The restaurant was good with excellent (large) wine list . The rooms were fine and the building full of character .Ideal location being short drive into Begur with plenty of bars and restaurants . Also short hop to good beaches and excellent walking along coastal paths . All in all a lovely hotel in a very peaceful and relaxing location .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
392 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
551 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#9 of 14 in Begur
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,202 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Costa Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convent

Property: Hotel El Convent
Address: Carrer del Raco 2 Sa Riera, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convent 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Convent is a restored 17th-century convent, in the beautiful coastal town of Begur. It offers free Wi-Fi access and an outdoor pool. The hotel once belonged to the Minimos religious order, and each room is unique. They have been carefully restored, keeping their original features. Hotel Convent has beautiful panoramic views of the sea and the Baix Empordà. It also has lovely gardens, a gym and sauna. Free public parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convent Hotel
Hotel El Convent Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing