We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & singular place”
Review of Hotel El Convent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Convent
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to stay for 3-4 days minimum, and to disconnect from the world. No crowds, noises and guests walking around.

Excellent food, service and location.

If I had to say something I'd change: drinks are not allowed at the swimming pool

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convent
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family and I stayed here late June. There were no family suites, but 2 rooms next to each other were a perfect fit. The design of this hotel is very cool, with beautiful stone, candles, and charm. Rooms are basic but very clean. This place has a lot of simple beauty, in a very relaxing environment. A buffet breakfast was included that had something for everyone. We ate lunch at the hotel, and it was a phenomenal meal. Everything was fresh and well presented. The pool and landscaping are gorgeous. However, the "gym" is very small, consisting of 2 old style ellipticals and some handweights. I had a massage in the spa next to the gym, and it was a great massage with a wonderful masseus. A nice sauna is adjacent to the gym. The pool was very clean and relaxing.

The beach and the walk to the beach was one of the best parts of our stay. The path winds through the streams and beach cottages and it only takes 10 minutes. While not always beautiful, it was different. The beach is stunning, with all the amenities such as bathrooms, shower, and restaurant.

Once we parked the car, we didn't use it until we left, as we used taxis to go to/from restuarants. The staff at the hotel were professional and easy to approach. However, if you need help with luggage, you may have to ask, as there was no assistance offered.

We would love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for 3 days in this beautiful charming hotel. It's an oasis of rest and calmness. The staff is really friendly and does a great job serving the guests. To chill out there is a large pool in the garden. Besides that you can visit the sea coast which is located only 300m from the hotel. 10 minute walk. As a frequent traveler I advise this hotel to everyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kendall t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here one night as we unexpectedly had to checkout out of our existing hotel 1 day early.
However we were not disappointed. The room was good and despite booking a suite it would have been nice to have a sea view but no matter. The hotel is a converted nunnery and makes it a delight to stay here. The grounds are relaxing, there is a small pool and you can walk to the beach ( Sa Riera) which will take you about 10 minutes. There are also some good restaurants here too but I would recommend El Raco de Sa Riera which is one the left by the very small bridge. Dinner and breakfast is served on a terrace overlooking the bay of Sa Riera. We didn't have dinner but the breakfast choices were plentiful. Would recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mrfleetAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel is in a converted convent, probably 18th C, and it has lots of charm. There are extensive grounds and an attractive garden, down a long flight of stairs. Our room was clean and modern and quiet and on the ground floor. The staff was helpful and friendly, although our demands were very modest. There is private guest parking across the street. The hotel itself is located outside of whatever commercial activity there is here and on narrow and hilly road. The hotel access was reasonably marked on the approach roads and I'm glad I had a navigator with me as the roads themselves were demanding. There is an on site restaurant that opened at 8:30, borderline late for us. We definitely would have preferred an earlier European opening time. The meals themselves were good. Other dining options were a drive away. Overall, this was a good stay and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013


We have visited this hotel for a Romantic stay.

I think when you are in a 4 star hotel you have to be a little bit exigent because they have a price accordingly with their categorynand you have to be honest and tell to the hotel the aspects they can not accomplish we the generated expectatives.

The best thing is the location (if you hired a car) and the restaurant, the upgrade they give you in case of availability and the pool.

The rooms are nice but there is no windows in the superior room's bathroom and the fan is bit noisy which breaks a little bit the romantic ambiance of this building.

REALLY NICE BREAKFAST!!!!

Im my opinion is a little bit overpriced, but you pay as well because you stay in Begur.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Peremarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed for a week in June 2013. The hotel is visually stunning inside and out! and the staff were universally helpful and attentive. unfortunately, we chose a time when a wedding reception was booked into the hotel for our first weekend;which led to unreasonable noise at night through late to bed guests! We then had a young couple with a baby next to our room, for several days. The walls of the beautifully spacious rooms are so thin that having pieces of bad luck like this can seriously detract from the experience. When booking, check there are no events planned and try for Room 1-we are told this is the quietest room! But, we don't regret for one minute staying- the hotel is a feast on the eyes and the location is excellent.

Room Tip: ask for the quietest room
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
453 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
587 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#10 of 14 in Begur
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,209 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Costa Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convent

Address: Carrer del Raco 2 Sa Riera, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Begur
Price Range: £79 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convent 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Convent is a restored 17th-century convent, in the beautiful coastal town of Begur. It offers free Wi-Fi access and an outdoor pool. The hotel once belonged to the Minimos religious order, and each room is unique. They have been carefully restored, keeping their original features. Hotel Convent has beautiful panoramic views of the sea and the Baix Empordà. It also has lovely gardens, a gym and sauna. Free public parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Convent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convent Hotel
Hotel El Convent Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing