We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We traveled to Costa Brava in May and chose Galena Mas Comangau for our 3 nights stay. We chose Begur as it is centally located to places we wanted to visit.

We loved Galena Mas Comangau for its very personalized service. Our room had patio with table, chairs and umbrella. The room was big enough. The bathroom had modern fixtures.

Miguel (the Owner) speaks English and he provided us with all information we needed.

The restaurant id beautiful. Food is great. You do not have to go anywhere else for dinner.

Town is a short walk away. Beaches just couple minutes away by car.

The only thing I wish we had in the room is the patio door screen. We left the door open (just a tiny crack) at night for nice breeze and had a visitor (neiborough's cat).

GPS is not working there properly. Better ask Miguel for directions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkaplun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

beautiful rooms, great service and good quality food, don´t miss the apple cake (incl.in breakfast) easy parking, the deco has a unique character, beautiful old town house, very well equiped for winter.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We wanted something quaint with character and charm...and we got it! It was a beautiful location to just relax at or central for exploring the nearby beaches and sites. Miguel was absolutely wonderful...and he takes great photos too! The morning breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed our 2nd cup of coffee sitting outside enjoying the landscape. Couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RJBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stumbled across Begur accidentally, after the thought of spending a few days in Madrid at 45 degree temps left us scrambling for a cooler destination. Originally contacted another hotel that was booked, they recommended this hotel to our delight! Stayed for 2 days and were enchanted. The old hotel is at once charming, historic and chic. Fabulous breakfast. Incredible dinner. View from the restaurant is breathtaking. Service warm and friendly.
Stayed with husband and two kids, ages 7 & 11.

Room Tip: Rooms with their own patios are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilexysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

An excellent hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The room (no 3) was very good (converted stables) with wet room bathroom and stylish fixtures and fittings. The breakfast was excellent and it was a short walk down into town for the evening. Three beaches are just about walking distances but I would suggest a taxi ride (20 euros) back as it is up hill. We did eat in the evening but if the breakfast was anything to go on then it will be good. The only downside was that it did not have a pool otherwise it would have been 5stars.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Galena Mas Comangau, and it was by far our favorite part of our trip to Spain. The hotel is a converted farmhouse, and is charming in every way. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful, especially the owner, Miguel, and his nephew, Ramon, who both recommended the best beaches and sights to see in the area. The town of Begur is beautiful, and about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and Begur is surrounded by beautiful beaches. That being said, our favorite part of the hotel was the breakfast and the restaurant - it was some of the best food we had in Spain! I loaded my plate every morning with excellent croissants, cakes, egg and potato tortillas, custards, and various meats. We also ate at the restaurant twice for dinner, and it was delicious with one of the better (quality and value) wine lists that we saw. We loved every bit of our stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeninasheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My wife and I recently traveled to the Costa Brava. We booked a room in this hotel but since we didn't have a lot of money, we tried to reserve the cheapest rooms they have (tucked away in the back). When the owner found out that we were celebrating our honeymoon, we upgraded us to the nice expensive room at no cost. He even gave us a free bottle of very good cava sparkling wine as a gift!

Miguel, the owner, is a very friendly and knowledgeable guy who takes great care of his guests. His son and his nephew who also work there are very friendly and helpful.

The other best part about this place is the restaurant. The food is exquisite, including the breakfast, which is by far the best we had in our entire two week trip to Cataluña.

Even if you don't decide to stay here, stop by for some food at the Galena Restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pepetefus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
15.3 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
771 reviews
10.9 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
214 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#7 of 14 in Begur
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau

Address: Ramon Llull 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#3 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range: £83 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the village of Begur in the heart of Costa Brava is Galena Mas Comangau Hotel-Restaurant.. A converted catalan Farmhouse dating from the 18th Century.Our Hotel located in a peaceful area of Begur, five minutes walking from the city center, and very close to the best beaches and golf courses in Costa Brava ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galena Mas Comangau Begur
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing