We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our last minute stay here”
Review of Comte Tallaferro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comte Tallaferro
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Besalu
Orange, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our last minute stay here”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We showed up in Besalu without hotel reservations and was referred to this hotel by a local resident we stopped on the street. The front desk could not have been more patient with our request to look at about 10 different rooms before we decided to stay there for 2 nights and chose the 2 rooms we liked the best with the corner views of the square and church. The rates were very reasonable and the location of the hotel could not have been any better within the village. Walking distance to everything. We did not get the breakfast from the hotel so we could not comment on it. Wifi worked well in our room as we were right above the lobby area. Dual paned windows made it very quiet at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    20
    18
    33
See reviews for
26
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed with a group of 20 people for 4 days and we where surprised of the very good service and hospitality by the staff. The breakfast was beoynd our expectations and the nice girl in the reception even went out to buy us fresh fruits. The rooms are excellent - well cleaned and good condition. Keep in mind this is a quiet village and you can not expect wifi, service and english to work as in a big tourist city. But on the other hand, is it that just the reason to go to Besalú instead of else where?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

As other reviewers have commented great location in a lovely old town. Rooms look like down market Travel Lodge. No English spoken - you can get by a little in French.We had a surprisingly good meal in the evening. Breakfast average. WIFI?!
Could be so much better.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
239 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Wow, the other reviewers are not too generous to this hotel. Yes, this is not Sofitel, the service sucks, wifi doesn't work, rooms could be better designed and more comfortable, sleep quality is not good, but you on the main plaza of the wonderful old town of Besalu, one of the most historic and atmospheric little town of Catalonia. So forget wi-fi and enjoy the town. Basic Spanish did help us, but little patience and understanding go the long way. There might be better hotels in Besalu, but we have nothing to compare with Comte Tallafero, it was at least great location, very good value, and interesting experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meylan, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The hotel is well located but the staff is unfriendly and not helpful. The rooms look nice, but the shower doesn't.
We stayed there just because we arrived late into town and had no other choice. The wifi hardly worked even in the lobby. Avoid.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are nicer, but if you must - rooms on the top floor have very small windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shachar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Besalu hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Nice hotel in good location but we were checked in by someone who spoke no English (why allow bookings through UK websites if you can't have at lease some basic help for guests). She tried to explain something to us but had to 'phone a friend' who told us an important message about the breakfast (which we did not order) being served elsewhere. Not sure what would have happened if we had anything else to communicate. After that, we did not see another single member of staff. When we came to check-out, no one was around and we even tried to use the hotel phones to call but no avail. In trying to use the phone, we had full access to the reception desk and could even see the booking details of other guests. Eventually, a maintenance worker appeared and kindly phoned someone who explained that my credit card had, in my absence and without my permission, been used for the hotel bill. As I had intended to pay with cash, I found this very annoying. We were in a room designed for disabled guests- who knows what would have been the consequences if an emergency had happened as there were no staff on site to help any guest let alone someone who might have extra needs. Customer service non-existent and wouldn't stay again. Restraunt area looked dingey and shower very complicated and instructions in English were total nonsense.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyandMicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This hotel lovely from the outside. The rooms are very passable, aircon, great views and unfussy. Besalu is a town I visit regularly. Sadly, this hotel could be so much nicer without much effort. The reception staff are 'cold' but are untrained and don't know better. The rooms are furnished with the fake antique nastiness of a 70s Marriot. The lighting is severe. But, the owners are very proud of their blingy taste and am sure couldn't give a fiddlers for any of these reviews. In way, this is part of the charm of here. The breakfast room is stuffy, functional and utilitarian. The food is adequate... Will someone just tell the owners to stop doing the place up themselves and get a half decent designer in? Please?

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Besalu
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mas Pere Pau
Hotel Mas Pere Pau
#1 of 6 in Besalu
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Els Jardins de la Martana
13.1 mi away
Els Cacadors de Macanet
Els Cacadors de Macanet
#2 of 2 in Macanet de Cabrenys
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Els Amolls Habitacions
11.6 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 6 in Olot
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Arcs
Hotel 3 Arcs
#2 of 6 in Besalu
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comte Tallaferro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comte Tallaferro

Property: Comte Tallaferro
Address: Ganganell, 2, 17850, Besalu, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Besalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Besalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comte Tallaferro 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comte Tallaferro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing