We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but”
Review of Comte Tallaferro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comte Tallaferro
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Besalu
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The outside of this hotel is attractive, and it's right on the square in lovely Besalu, but I'd suggest finding someplace else to stay if you can (we couldn't -- everything was booked). Our room was very spacious, with high ceilings. The bathroom had a tub and one of those hand showers, so a little inconvenient, but not such a big deal. My major complaint is that when I tried to sleep, there was a distinct smell emanating from someplace (the mattress? the pilllow?) of cat urine. It was pretty awful. Other reviewers have mentioned problems with the staff, but the woman we dealt with was perfectly nice; I think the problem may simply be that her English is minimal. I don't consider that a problem, honestly. It's Spain. People speak Spanish. The hotel shows signs that at some point it aspired to be nicer than it is, and maybe it will get there (there's a patio out back, but it's just a smoking area at the moment, and it's a mess), but it needs a bit of an overhaul.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omphalos McButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Comte Tallaferro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

Let's start from the premise that this is a FOUR STAR hotel under Spain's rating system. Yet -- foul odor in reception at check in, dingy room, mold in bathtub (see photos), scratchy sandpaper towels, paper thin sheets and no mattress cover so blue mattress was clearly visible under the sheet, bottom sheet too small to cover top or sides of stained mattress. Both young women at reception (one at check in and one later at night) were indifferent at best. By far the worst of our 9 hotels in Catalonia, and one of the crappiest I've stayed in anywhere. Fortunately, we were here only one night, to have dinner at Els Fogons de Can Llaudes, a charming restaurant across the plaza, see my TA review.

Room Tip: Specify you want a "matrimonial" bed, if that's what you want, instead of two singles.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank erika363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We showed up in Besalu without hotel reservations and was referred to this hotel by a local resident we stopped on the street. The front desk could not have been more patient with our request to look at about 10 different rooms before we decided to stay there for 2 nights and chose the 2 rooms we liked the best with the corner views of the square and church. The rates were very reasonable and the location of the hotel could not have been any better within the village. Walking distance to everything. We did not get the breakfast from the hotel so we could not comment on it. Wifi worked well in our room as we were right above the lobby area. Dual paned windows made it very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed with a group of 20 people for 4 days and we where surprised of the very good service and hospitality by the staff. The breakfast was beoynd our expectations and the nice girl in the reception even went out to buy us fresh fruits. The rooms are excellent - well cleaned and good condition. Keep in mind this is a quiet village and you can not expect wifi, service and english to work as in a big tourist city. But on the other hand, is it that just the reason to go to Besalú instead of else where?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

As other reviewers have commented great location in a lovely old town. Rooms look like down market Travel Lodge. No English spoken - you can get by a little in French.We had a surprisingly good meal in the evening. Breakfast average. WIFI?!
Could be so much better.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Wow, the other reviewers are not too generous to this hotel. Yes, this is not Sofitel, the service sucks, wifi doesn't work, rooms could be better designed and more comfortable, sleep quality is not good, but you on the main plaza of the wonderful old town of Besalu, one of the most historic and atmospheric little town of Catalonia. So forget wi-fi and enjoy the town. Basic Spanish did help us, but little patience and understanding go the long way. There might be better hotels in Besalu, but we have nothing to compare with Comte Tallafero, it was at least great location, very good value, and interesting experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The hotel is well located but the staff is unfriendly and not helpful. The rooms look nice, but the shower doesn't.
We stayed there just because we arrived late into town and had no other choice. The wifi hardly worked even in the lobby. Avoid.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are nicer, but if you must - rooms on the top floor have very small windows.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shachar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Besalu
0.2 mi away
Els Jardins de la Martana
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mas Pere Pau
Hotel Mas Pere Pau
#1 of 6 in Besalu
90 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cal Sastre Hotel
Cal Sastre Hotel
#1 of 1 in Santa Pau
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Finca El Ventos
Finca El Ventos
#1 of 1 in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
70 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 6 in Olot
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 3 Arcs
Hotel 3 Arcs
#2 of 6 in Besalu
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comte Tallaferro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comte Tallaferro

Address: Ganganell, 2, 17850, Besalu, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Besalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Besalu
Price Range: £66 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comte Tallaferro 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comte Tallaferro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing