We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious lunch on the terrace”

Restaurant Curia Reial SL.
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Besalu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
england
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Glorious lunch on the terrace”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had the menu del dia at 18 euros served at lunch time Monday to Friday. This was excellent. The asparagus starter was well executed and generous in quantity, the duck leg had a lovely flavour and was amazingly tender as was my partners lamb. There was a good choice of desserts and the red peach ice cream was delicious.
Included in the price was a large bottle of water, a full bottle of decent tasting wine, olives and bread, amazing value. All of course served with a priceless view over the bridge and river at Besalu.
Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheaptrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    180
    42
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The butifarra is excellent”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This restaurant in the middle of Besalu has a nice terace, good service and a simple but good cuisine at reasonable prices. We enjoyed the butiffara with white beans.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaco1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food- excellent service!”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We were a group of 20 people having lots of pica pica ( tapas) that was the best I ever had in Spain! Every dish was to cry for and when the fantastic lamb arrive I was truly sad having to much tapas! The service where as excellent as the view - overlooking the bridge and tower of Besalú! Missing this restaurant if being in Besalú would be a loss/Helen

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Had lunch there on a very warm October day. I sat outside and the view was just breathtaking! I had the stuffed potatoes (primero), arroz mixte (secundo, and crema catalana and coffee for dessert. Everything was delicious, so I felt really bad that I was only able to eat half of each dish (portions were big - for me anyway). Not sure if they do half servings but probably worth checking! Would certainly go back - it was part of an overall lovely day in Besalu - and I would love to share the experience with someone next time around!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soldeu, Andorra
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely food, fantastic service”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My fiancé and I were checking this restaurant out as a venue for a pre-wedding dinner with close friends and family. We were not disappointed.
We had popped in the previous weekend and were shown around the restaurant by a lovely waitress, Silvia. From the outside, the restaurant looks rather small but inside it opens up into a fabulous rustic building with lots of natural stone and arches. The restaurant is on a couple of floors with a smaller, more bijous section downstairs and a larger room upstairs.
For anyone wanting a drink and some tapas during the day, the restaurant has a bar area and a terrace (partly covered) which has a fantastic location overlooking the river and famous bridge of Besalú.
We found the service to be excellent; the waiting staff were very discreet but always there when you wanted to ask for something. Even if they were busy, you could "flag one down" and ask for something and they would fetch it immediately they had finished with their task in hand.
The food was lovely and traditional Catalan. Between the four of us, we had Trinxat, Botifarra with white beans, rabbit on the grill and an oven-baked rice dish, just to mention a few. Everything was delicious. The house wine was very reasonable (Marques de Monistrol) and the price of the meal altogether, with two courses each, plenty of wine, water, Baileys for the girls and carajillos for the boys, came to a very reasonable €35/head, including tip.
We will definitely be back and are really looking forward to including it as part of our extended wedding celebrations.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Curia Reial SL. also viewed

Besalu, Province of Girona
Besalu, Province of Girona
 
Besalu, Province of Girona
Besalu, Province of Girona
 

Been to Restaurant Curia Reial SL.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing