We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic atmosphere, one of the best paradores!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Plasencia
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Plasencia
Certificate of Excellence
Kuessnacht am Rigi, Switzerland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere, one of the best paradores!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We spend a night in the beatifull Parador and we highly recommed anybody coming to Plasencia to either stay here or at least visit. The XV century cloister at the center of the building is just unique and takes you back centuries, fantastic atmosphere. The staff is really attentive and customer friendly. This is one of the best paradores we have been, worth a visit on the way/as you make a road trip to the stupendo Valle del Jerte.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    265
    45
    11
    2
See reviews for
237
502
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Delightful building, and wonderful end to our "ruta", a 7 night package of stays in Paradores. Each hotel has its own charm.
Staff in Plasencia very pleasant, and food good.
Would highly recommend a trip out to the Monfrague National park. We hired a guide to show us the amazing birds.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannybBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagoa, Portugal
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We nearly always break our journey from Santander to the Algarve at Salamanca but were delighted with this new, to us find. Plasencia is an atmosperic town and the Parador is right in the centre, perfect for having a wander to stretch the legs after a drive. The rooms and the food were perfect although we did not have breakfast as we were still full from the meal the night before.
This we think is a must for all lovers of Paradores even if you have to experience putting the car and ones self into an elevator.
The only down side is the €13 charge for the parking which is almost compulsory as there is no other parking

Room Tip: Did not see any other rooms but ours was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked this place because it suited our travel plans, driving from Santander to the Algarve. The journey is approx 1000km and Plascenia is 500km fromSantander, about 6 or 7 hours..

We have not stayed in a Parador before, so for those who dont know about them, thry are historic buildings like castles, monastries, palaces which have been turned into hotels, but retain much of their style and character.

The parador in Plasencia was really nice. It is a former convent building built into a small walled town. It really is an ancient building and it felt like staying inside a cathedral.

The town itself is very compact and the main square is pretty, and ringed with cafes and shops. Parking is a bit tight (well it is a small walled town, so it should beno surprise) but there is secure underground car parking underneath the building, for a fee of about 12€.

Really enjoyed staying here - very atmospheric - altho some might call it spooky

The food is excellent and prices are on a par with mid range restaurants, but there are also plenty of bistro style places within a few minutes walk.

The parador scheme offers an interesting alternative to mainstream modern hotels, but note that they tend not to be inside large towns

One of the interestilng things about paradors is that there is a discount of 30% for guests over 55 years of age (they cal it the golden years scheme)

Room Tip: Everything is different and unusual. Have a look at the parador website. It shows where they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanBA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to visit Plasencia. The hotel is very luxurious and has kept many of the ancient details. The room was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The only complaint was the WiFi connection was not able to work at all during one day. The other day it was fully operational. The staff was also polite and spoke English (to our experience quite exceptionable in Spain)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed 1 night in mid September and very much enjoyed our stay. The bar served snacks which saved us waiting for the restaurant to open at 8.30 pm. The town square was only 500 meters away and had plenty of bars and eateries. Comments have been made as to the parking lift, glad we didn't take the Bentley! We had a lovely room on the north side however somewhat dark due to small windows. Booking in staff efficient. Check out staff rather less so.
Do not try and find this hotel after dark!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmanOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
212 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Beautiful 15-17th century convent turned into Parador. Built against the city walls of the historic center of Plasencia. Parking accessible by elevator (for the car, that is). Comfortable rooms, cafeteria/bar serving a decent gin and tonic, and will also serve at the pool, if you ask. For the nighthawks, there is a late night bar in the vaulted cellar. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTrovador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plasencia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Carvajal Giron
0.3 mi away
Hotel Exe Alfonso VIII
Hotel Exe Alfonso VIII
#3 of 8 in Plasencia
293 reviews
23.9 mi away
Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera
Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera
#1 of 1 in Jarandilla de la Vera
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Azar
Hotel Azar
#4 of 8 in Plasencia
92 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ciudad del Jerte
Hotel Ciudad del Jerte
#5 of 8 in Plasencia
113 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario Valle del Jerte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Plasencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Plasencia

Property: Parador de Plasencia
Address: Plaza San Vicente Ferrer s/n, 10600 Plasencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Plasencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Plasencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Plasencia 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Plasencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Plasencia Hotel Plasencia
Parador De Hotel Plasencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing