We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of vegetarian food”

Chipotle Mexican Grill
Ranked #29 of 104 Restaurants in Barstow
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
145 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An oasis of vegetarian food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Driving to Las Vegas, we got hungry. So it was good to spot this Chipotle branch. It is surrounded by MacDonalds and other meaty joints, which I cannot visit (being vegetarian).

I was pleased to discover that that they took away the lard from the refrained beans and added sofritas (textured tofu) to the menu.

The burrito bowl with brown rice, pinto beans and guacamole is totally delicious and healthy too.

My Californian friends say this is not authentic Mexican food. But I am from Amsterdam, where there isn't much choice. I love Chipotle.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandhya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Much smaller portions”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We frequently go to Chipotle in the San Francisco Bay Area and this Chipotle gives MUCH smaller portions than our local places. I usually save half of my burrito bowl for the next night, and I easily finished the amount I got at this location.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
365 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A bit on the dirty side”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Maybe the staff was over worked for the 4th of July holiday - but garbage cans were overfilled. Floor could have used a cleaning. Food same as other Chipotle Grills.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelsbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
217 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Probably the worst Chipotle's encountered”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The standard fare across this Chain is simple but good food. This place suffers from what appears to be poor working attitude. First, the server did not bother to check if a new batch of black beans was coming, just served us what little was left in the pot. If we did not inquire, we would have gotten a spoonful of beans. Next, the tortilla chips we ordered were never provided until we complained, even after checking every couple minutes until we were done with our meal.Then the line backed up because the cashier from a previous shift tied up the only register trying find a missing receipt! So food was ok when it came, service was horrible. This is a poorly trained and managed location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gy820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whats not to love”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This place is delicious! They have so many different combinations your choices are endless. I love that the food is organic and just plan good for you. I continue to eat at Chipolte and the one in Barstow is just great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chipotle Mexican Grill also viewed

Barstow, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 
Barstow, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 
Barstow, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 

Been to Chipotle Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing