We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Stay and Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay and Great Staff”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Great little hotel in the desert which they call Barstow. I was out her eon business for a few days and this hotel has everything you could need. They have free wifi and hot breakfast in the morning. They are also going through some renovations and the hotel is beginning to look very modern. Cant wait to come back and see the finished product. The staff is the best part. Art the engineer was all over the place and always had a smile. The ladies at the front desk were great too. One of them was cleaning rooms and checking in people. You dont see that at most hotels.
Only downside, there are some trains in the back that make a lot of noise. So its not the hotel's fault, but I'm sure its hard for a light sleeper. Great job team!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igotmyxomatosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, General Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Igotmyxomatosis,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team here at Sleep Inn Barstow. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff here, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Craig Peterson
General Manager
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
760-256-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    51
    26
    15
    10
See reviews for
38
53
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Show Low
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Have stayed in this place several times over the years as Barstow is a good midway stop for me. The last time there, I'd said "never again" and then was just too tired to look for something new this trip. Bad choice. Carpet is torn and taped at most thresholds, almost every wall is banged up, lobby [and all other] furniture is tireder than I was. General disrepair is evident everywhere. And WHAT was going on behind the place all night?!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review!
We value guest feedback as it helps our property grow and improve on our guest's comments. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory, but I would like to reassure you that we will be going through a renovation over the next 6 months and will be a beautiful brand new hotel. We hope to have you come back and see the property for yourself!
Thank you again for your comments. They are of great value to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We've stayed here three times now and each time has been good. The rooms have always been clean, a great free breakfast that was filling. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. My only complaint is on one stay our sleep was disturbed by the squeal of railcar wheels running through the railroad classification yards braking system. There has never been anything happen to put us off staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truckergrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your comments!
We value reviews from all guests and it makes us all happy to know when someone enjoys their stay. I will be sure to let my staff know of the great job they are doing. Even with triple pane windows, the train depot behind us can make some noise. We will soon be undergoing some improvements to the property and that will be one of our main priorities.
We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you this way. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
litllemermaid
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have stayed in various hotels in the last week and this unfortunately turned out as bottom of the list by far. The hotel looks nice from the outside and staff friendly. The room however is the smallest room ever stayed in in America and very tired and dated. There was also no fridge or microwave which is unusual for the Holiday Inn's in the USA. Took a walk up to the pool which was a nice little area but the pool was dirty. The hotel itself was clean. The air con in the room was extremely loud,along with the extractor fan in the toilet. There was a dog in the room next door which let off the occasional bark in the night. I have nothing against having animals in the hotel but maybe a seperate area. There was also lots of noise heard from outside the room. Glad was only here for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litllemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
821 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I am on day 45 of a 51 day trip and most of my stays have been in HIE, and this is the worst I have been in. The Staff though are all fantastic, but the hotel being quite old has the smallest rooms I have seen in a HIE, and there was no refrigerator or microwave. I was sharing a twin bedded room with my daughter and our cases we had laid out near the door as that was the only place to put them. The aircon was noisy and the extractor that came on with the light in the toilet sounded like a farm tractor running. There was a guest with a dog that barked a few times during the night and people in the next room talking you could here them so clear. The breakfast was satisfactory and free coffee and lemonade during the day are a nice touch. Most things on Route 66 are old and this hotel fits in, but having stayed in Barstow a few weeks earlier in a much cheaper motel with rooms twice the size this is not value for money. I was recognised as a Platinum PCR member with a bottle of water and a breakfast bar, but no upgrade as I assume all rooms were the same as it was a Sunday night and the hotel was very quiet. Will give this one a miss next time in Barstow, but I must add no issues with any of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in several Holiday Inn Express establishments in the past several weeks and, in all honesty, this was by far the worst. 

The rooms are pretty small (especially by comparable standards) and have no fridge or microwave. The bathrooms are also shoebox size and the shower flooded each and every time it was used. 

The numerous warnings around the place (stating that the building contains hazardous materials that may cause cancer and/or infertility) are yet another less than ideal feature of this place.

However, my main complaint lies is the inexcusable lack of organization and sub-par service we received. We had a bit of a shock when we were almost walked in on while watching television in the evening of our first night. Turns out we'd been checked in under the wrong name and were only not rudely interrupted due to the other couples lack of room key understanding and my boyfriends quick thinking. I wad also a little annoyed when reception rang us accusingly several times after the fact. The feel was that we were not supposed to be there, despite the fact we'd prepaid months in advance and had checked in hours before hand. Our room keys had also been disabled and we were forced to contact reception just so that we could still enter our room.

The next day issues continued as neither of our room keys would work, either on the exterior door or our room door. We had to request reception fix it (twice) before the keys finally worked. The second time my boyfriend got a tad irritated and the lady at reception laughed in his face (I think it important to say that by 'irritated' I mean he 'complained', he did not raise his voice, curse or act aggressive in any way, he was just really annoyed).

The only good thing I can say about this place is that the breakfast was fairly extensive and delicious. It included a number of rotating hot items, pastries, cereals, juices and coffees. It had pretty much everything you might want or need for a balanced morning meal. It's a pity it's really the only honest compliment I can give.

Stay anywhere else. This place is so far beyond the standards expected of this chain that it's almost pitiable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arielred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Arielred,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your stay. We take all comments seriously and value the chance to make improvements where possible.

I am sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the dissatisfaction our level of service has caused you. We pride ourselves in providing the highes level of service and customer care and deeply regret that we have failed to deliver on this instance.

It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This Holiday Inn has no elevator. We had to carry luggage for 4 up two flight of stairs. The room was small but was clean and the breakfast was good. Glad I was not in a wheelchair or was using a walker. By the way, the little town of Barstow, California was not too friendly to tourist. Had the finger flipped off to me after purchasing gas and pulling out (with the right of way of traffic light) . I think it was because I was towing a small UHaul and could not speed thru the light. Apparently some of the residents of Barstow are drug users and don't appreciate the money tourist bring into the small town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor unless you want to lug you luggage up flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydroy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear lloydroy1960,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

I humbly apologize for the inconvenience the lack of elevators has caused you. At the same time, we are truly sorry that you did not find the neighborhood to your liking. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barstow hotels
2.6 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#5 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66

Property: Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
Address: 1861 W Main St, 1861 West Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311-3715 (Formerly The Barstow Route 66 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay awhile with this hotel on Route 66 location. Welcome to the friendly Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 Hotel, where the coffee and iced tea are ever-flowing and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel specializes in taking care of business travelers, specifically government and military travelers in need of extended stay options. Guests enjoy both free wired and wireless HSIA and a 24-hour Business Center with fax, print and copy services. No matter if you are in town dealing with the Railyards, USMC Logistics Base or Fort Irwin Military Base, the hotel can help you stay productive and comfortable. We also offer per diem rates year-round.The hotel's location in Barstow, CA surrounds guests with rich railroad and pioneering history, so consider starting your adventure at Calico Ghost Town, which offers gold panning, mine tours and gunfight stunt shows. Experience the desert landscape as you tour the National Training Center at Fort Irwin. The hotel is also on Historic Route 66, so a visit to the Route 66 Mother Road Museum is a must. While there's plenty for the hotel's guests to do in Barstow, CA, the on-site amenities offer guests plenty of options, as well. Soak up some rays by the outdoor pool, grill out with the propane barbecue grill or work out in the Fitness Center. We serve a hot and free breakfast daily. Book today and let us show you what a difference friendly Southwestern hospitality makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barstow - Historic Route 66 Hotel Barstow
Holiday Inn Barstow
Barstow Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing