We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money budget motel”
Review of California Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
California Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
GreenLeadersGold level
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money budget motel”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Half the price of any comparable motel. It may be pretty basic, but the rooms are fine, there is a reasonable pool, the morning breakfast was one of the better ones we'd had, and quite frankly, that's all we really wanted for a one night stop-over. Even the wifi worked in the rooms! Definitely the best budget motel we stayed at during our 4 week holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopenhagenMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    410
    163
    49
    36
See reviews for
295
402
77
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Recently stayed at the California Inn at Barstow. Right from our arrival the service was a lot more than expected. The young lady at Reception could not have been of better help. Our room was clean, neat and ideal. The breakfast did the deed. Yes, we've stay there again, and , as such, we have no problem in suggestion the place to you. It was close to most need places AND it was affordable. Can't ask for much more, really.

Room Tip: Around the back was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheriff2196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barstow, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

the california inn in barstow california is a nice surprise, clean and safe,very helpful staff. the rooms are large and comfortable. The swimming pool was clean and well located for client use. Ample parking with an Ihop next door, an easy walk from your room,and Italian restuarant across the street also an easy walk.

Room Tip: close to parking was best for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Mercedes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczawno Zdroj, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Hotel was for us unexpected surprise, low price , but we found very kind and helpfull staff , clean , quiete , large and save room , breakfast was reach and full . I recommend sincerely.
We travelled thru USA with 2 children and this hotel is one of the top,

Room Tip: price low , value high , we have been on 2 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were driving from Colorado to Northern California, and had to rest a night on the way. I searched the web and found this hotel. It had better reviews than similarly priced motels, so I booked it.
The staff was efficient, and fast. The room was very clean and well furnished. (Obviously, they didn't consult an interior decorator with colors, but the room was functional and clean.) I liked that the room had two vanities, one inside the bathroom, and one outside. The bed was a bit too firm for me, but better than an old and saggy mattress, so no complaint.
I think this motel is better than similarly priced Motel6 or similar corporate brands.

I felt a bit disturbed, when I read on the key envelope, not to open the door for anybody, and use all three locks to secure the door. But fortunately nothing happened to us nor to the car.

The breakfast area was a little too small for all guests, and the selection of food was below standard. There are many restaurants around to eat though. Ihop is next door.
I made the reservation via Expedia on my iPhone. It seemed that it would have been a little bit less expensive if I just called them.
Other than that, I can recommend this place to travelers.

Room Tip: Maybe safer and quieter on the second floor, but we were in room 111, and was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way to Vegas, hotel room is large and clean with a fridge, free breakfast is ok. Around the hotel there are plenty of eating places. This hotel is a great value stopover with a laundry area to do the washing before Vegas.

Room Tip: Park your car in front of reception where the cameras are as someone got there car stolen from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel overnight on our way to Death Valley. The hotel was a revelation for the price. Nice clean rooms everything in the room you want plus free WiFi for the price. Swimming pool area was clean and looked after. The hotel is close to many different restaurants and shops around the local area. Would recommend hotel to all and I would stay there again if I was in Barstow.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
612 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
694 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Inn

Property: California Inn
Address: 1431 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311-3216 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barstow
#5 Family Hotel in Barstow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#7 Business Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — California Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your California Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Barstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing