We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
California Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Best Motel(Barstow)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Economy Inn(Barstow)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,065)
Filter reviews
1,065 results
Traveller rating
356
443
176
51
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
443
176
51
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleansliding doorgrand canyonfree breakfastbudget hotelnice poollas vegaslow priceplace to staywafflesgreat pricedeath valleycoffee makerbiscuits and gravymain streetovernight stopfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 1,065 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was traveling from the bay area to Las Vegas, which I normally do in one go, but had a late start, and ended up staying at California Inn. Checkin was easy and fast. The rooms are access via inside hallways vs Motel 6 style external doors. The room was surprisingly large, very clean. This place does have a pool, which I would have loved to use but I was arriving late and leaving early so did not have the extra time - but I did notice the pool area and pool itself were nice (on the south side, so likely very hot in the daytime in summer).

They were a bit skimpy on the towels, which was to be expected. If you're the "shower before bed and morning" type, then you can just ask the desk for extra towels.

There is a Denny's next door, although the motel does serve breakfast, which is the typical continental style, cereal, bagels, yogurt, fruit, etc.

I will definitely stay here again if I need a room in Barstow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The California Inn is older, but in good condition and clean, pretty standard in furnishings and arrangement. With three people using one bathroom, it was nice having two sinks - one in the room and one in the bathroom. Room had a micro/fridge and the standard breakfast was included. The A/C was turned off when we checked in. It was a really hot day and even when we turned it on high, the room did not cool off until the middle of the night (That, plus the lights, see below, was why I rated Sleep Quality poor). We would have liked to cool off in the pool, and the pool area was very nice, but the pool itself was dirty. And what's with the motion sensor lights in California? Not just here but everywhere we stayed. We would be reading or soaking in the tub and all of the lights would go out. Or if one of us got up in the night, suddenly every light in the room would come on. What a pain!

Room Tip: Call ahead and have them turn on the A/C several hours before you get there.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingfromDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've stayed here on a previous trip from az to cali and was not disappointed. The rooms are very large and many have upgrades. All have a microwave and a fair size fridge. The rooms facing the pool are lovely and have a slider door to the inside courtyard area facing the mountains. Very nicely landscaped too. This family owned and operated hotel is definitely the place to stay if traveling this way. No street noise. Excellent customer service and a full hot breakfast with country gravy- yum! Can't beat the price of less than $50 per night and they let you have your dogs too.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roxhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while on our way back to vegas and we're a little nervous when we pulled up but they had great reviews. The lady at check in was very pleasant and helpful. The room was nice and the air conditioning was COLD! (THIS IS A GOOD THING) The pool was great and they offered towels at the pool. I really liked that the entrances where locked at all times. There are places to eat and shop nearby. The Tanger Outlet is 10 minutes away. Overall we were very pleased and would highly recommend the California Inn.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel was a pleasant suprise. As it was not expensive we had prepared ourselves for a much lower standard then we got. The room was clean and pscious and spacious and of very good quality and the breakfast if great! The hotel was easy to find and had enough parking space In the surroundings are many good restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank supermom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews