We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and super location”
Review of El Dropo - CLOSED

El Dropo
Price range: US$9 - US$33
Cuisines: Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: EL DROPO nace con la idea de unir tradicion y vanguardia, aglutinando en su carta diversas comidas internacionales, propiciando una experiencia que emocione, en la que comer no se vea cenido a un tipo de cocina especifica, en la que lo comensales puedan jugar con combinaciones multiples, haciendo que comer sea abrir la mente a nuevas formas de entender las cocina del mundo, combinarlas, saltarse sus limites. Para ello, creamos un espacio en un entorno unico, donde queremos dar rienda suelta a lo que siempre nos ha movido, una gastronomia que aune culturas y tradiciones, proponiendo recetas arriesgadas e innovadoras, maridando con vinos internacionales que realcen nuestro platos.Y todo ello con una base irrenunciable, comer no debe ser un lujo, excepto para los sentidos. Nos motiva hacer accesible la cocina internacional, que degustar un vino de calidad acertado para cada plato no tiene porque ser elitista, debe ser una experiencia divertida y unica.
Swanage, Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent service and super location”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

I agree with the previous excellent reviews. The food was good, reasonably priced and the surroundings appealing. The waiter couldn't do enough for us and although he showed us to the terrace at the end of our meal, we took a bottle of wine outside to the one of their tables on the square for to soak up the Saturday night ambience. Recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank rozzer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    41
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirriemuir
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable and First Class experience!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We agree with all the praiseworthy comments in 'tripadvisor reviews' about El Dropo Restaurant in Plaza Grande, Zafra. Loved the Food (great menu), Decor (beautifully done) and general ambience of this small restaurant. We ate in the first floor restaurant - but don't miss the top floor terrace. Quite magical with amazing views over the dramatic old town. The restaurant does not have a ground floor restaurant - so can take a bit of 'finding'! In Plaza Grande just head towards junction with Plaza Chica - El Dropo is immediately on the right with a narrow staircase leading to the First Floor Restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HumphreysKirriemuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inventive food, wonderful decor, excellent value...!”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I am Scottish, my wife is Spanish and we live in Houston, Texas. I own a technology company in the oil & gas industry so our tastes are pretty diverse due to a lot of traveling/business dinners etc.

We eat in a lot of nice places, but I am always most impressed by restaurants who keep things simple - good food with local ingredients and some unusual 'twists', nice decor, good service etc, all the things that make dining out a pleasure really. El Dropo satisfied all of our desires perfectly...

This is a restaurant in a wonderful, historic Spanish town built around a 16th century castle and hosting two wonderful traditional Spanish "Plaza's". El Dropo is perfectly situated in the larger of the two squares and has converted a very old Spanish brick building into 3 levels of smooth, modern decor which easily incorporates unfinished facing stone against ultra modern flooring, lighting, tables and chairs to create a wonderful easy combination of "old and new".

The menu is unpretentious, but calls on traditional Spanish ingredients from the Extremaduran region even though the influences are diverse, ranging from Italian (pizzas, pasta), Asian (wok chicken in peanut oil) and Spanish (fresh fish, seafood, croquettas).

We ate in a large group (13 of us I think) and decided to mix a large number of dishes between the guests. Particularly good, was the pulpo carpaccio (thinly sliced octopus) and the fresh king prawns which were simply boiled and covered in salt. The beef carpaccio was served with small slices of celery which added an amazing crunch to the meat and Parmesan. Most dishes were augmented by local "first press" olive oil, a speciality of Extremadura that should not be missed. Spanish croquettas are a simple local, delicacy that have to be tried but they are often moist on the outside and stodgy in the middle, not so in El Dropo - these were crunchy on the outside and almost liquid in the center - pure heaven!

Accompanying the meal we had 4 bottles of a local white wine whose name I forget but was excellent. We finished off with glasses of Pacharan on ice. If you have not tried this Spanish licqueur, I highly recommend it.

Best surprise of the day was a check for a little over 200 euros. A meal for that many in an equivalent restaurant in Houston would have hit me for more than $1000.

If you are traveling in Spain and find yourself in Zafra, do yourself a favour and eat here, you will not be disappointed...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Colincrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, ON
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A real find in Zafra ... Una joya en Zafra”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

El Dropo offers excellent food at very competitive prices. My wife had the raviolis caseros and they were THE BEST I have eaten in more than 50 years of eating raviolis. My dish was a stretch. I wanted to try something different and it was different. It was sreak covered in an Extremadura goat cheese sauce. Although the sauce was a bit strong for my taste, the meat and potatoes were great. The work they have done on the building is amazing. They restored an old building on the plaza and brought it back to life. The view from the panoramic balcony is magnificent. Don't miss this if you are ever in Extremadura.

Comida muy interesante con una presentacion perfecta. Es de lamentar que no haya mas clientes de Zafra. Vale la pena probar algo nuevo y rico y el Dropo es nuevo bueno y rico. Invita a tus amigos para pasarlo bien en el Dropo. No te lo pierdas.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chileice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and great value”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We found this restaurant on TripAdvisor and must admit it was as good if not better than the reviews. We ate early , 9-0pm so the restaurant was empty but we received a very warm welcome. The dinner was one of the best quality and value meals that we had during our 6month stay in Spain. Zafra is a lovely town and well worth visiting especially to eat at this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Juana1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Dropo also viewed

Zafra, Province of Badajoz
Zafra, Province of Badajoz
 
Zafra, Province of Badajoz
Zafra, Province of Badajoz
 
Zafra, Province of Badajoz
Zafra, Province of Badajoz
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing