We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Parador”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parador de Zafra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Zafra
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Zafra
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another great Parador”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Considering that you are staying in a building which was built in the 15th century, you have to accept that not all details can be as those in a modern concrete-and-glass hotel. The reason for going to a Parador is to to breathe and inhale history, to walk over stones trodden by tens of generations, not to demand perfect wifi access! It is a great privilege to be able to spend a few days in such historic places and overall the quality of the service is very good.

In this Parador the small collection of museum items in the hotel is particularly beautiful.
The village of Zafra is nice and typically spanish. The two adjacent squares are unusual and certainly interesting to visit.
The service in the is hotel is above average Parador (we have by now visited many of them in Spain, and we still like immensely the idea of this hotel chain!).
Highly recommended, if you have the right attitude and expectations!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandro1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    256
    107
    35
    10
See reviews for
169
354
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Fantastic castle within Zafra-the rooms are huge and the internal courtyard is where you want to spend the rest of your life. As very often with the Paradores, some of the furnishings might be slightly worn out and the restaurant prices out of this planet but who cares when the setting is so enchanted? Nice swimming pool too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evangelos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zafra, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great place especially the renaissance courtyard for drinks and meals. Lovely to relax by pool with great atmosphere and friendly and efficient staff. Food utterly reliable and delicious. Can't recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were lucky to find rooms inmZafra on our trip through Extramadura and stay g I. those
hotels makes your trip through Extramadura even more special!!
We really can advise people to try to stay in those hotels and we had very good deals!!

Room Tip: We had an room overlooking the old city whatbwe really enjoyed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed in this Parador for one night recently on our way south. Despite having been to Zafra before we found the hotel difficult to find. Better signposting would be welcome! Parking was easy outside and the hotel give you a parking ticket to display for a small amount of euros. The inner courtyard bar is certainly the hotel's best feature. Our room was off this courtyard on the first floor. Early in the evening this made it rather noisy as there was a conference going on next door and people on their mobiles just outside our room! However the room was clean, comfortable and quiet through the night. We ate a nice meal in the restaurant though had to wait a bit due to a large party staying that night. I can recommend the lamb pie! We have the "amigos" loyalty card and find it better value to book the unique tarif online if available. Generally deals with breakfast represent poor value unless you have a huge appetite! We could not join their wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosita061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Paradors were a great place to stay in their heyday some 20 to 30 years ago. Unfortunately little seems to have been done to these lovely old buildings to bring them and their staff up to the demands of the modern traveller.

Yes they are comfortable, yes they have WiFi etc but somehow for me they feel dowdy, like no one cares and the staff are doing their job to get paid with little interest in the client or the organization they work for.

In this Hotel we used the bar, where right at the entrance there are many "safety devices" scattered all over the wall at the entrance. A five star modern hotel would encase them in a housing and give the place some style, not here - Paco has just knocked fixings into the wall and dangled them there. Not important really but indicative of the lack of interest shown by staff and management.

We ate in the wonderful Honda Hotel restaurant next door, great food and wonderful service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

There is a real wow factor when you walk into the parador of Zafra. The main courtyard is gorgeous and you really feel that you are staying in a castle. Yes, you pay more for a parador, but in this case, I think it is worth it. The room was comfortable and spacious and had a lovely view. The courtyard, bar/cafeteria, and other common areas are all beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zafra hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte
0.1 mi away
Hotel Huerta Honda
Hotel Huerta Honda
#4 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Atalayas
Las Atalayas
#6 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cervantes S.L.
Hotel Cervantes S.L.
#5 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones de Zafra
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Eras
Hotel Las Eras
#8 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Zafra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Zafra

Property: Parador de Zafra
Address: Plaza Corazon de Maria 7, 06300 Zafra, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Zafra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Zafra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Zafra 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Zafra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Zafra Hotel Zafra
Parador De Hotel Zafra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing