We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castle Living”
Review of Parador de Zafra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Zafra
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Zafra
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
766 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Castle Living”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is an exceptional place to stay in an exceptional historic town. The staff could not be more helpful, and the atmosphere of tranquillity in the 15th century castle is wonderful. The 2 rooms we stayed in were really different (one was a turret room with amazing shape, the 2nd was along from this with 2 sizeable private terraces).
Furnishings are a bit decadent, but very comfortable. There seems to be a shortage of double beds. The internet is poor in most areas and non-existent in the bedrooms.
Breakfast was excellent, with a great selection.
A truly different place to stay!

Room Tip: Try the turret room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    264
    110
    35
    11
See reviews for
173
366
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Discovering Zafra has been a real joy, but staying in a 14th Century Castle has added to the fun. The Hotel was not easy to find but the reception was friendly and welcoming. Parking was extra but was right outside the door. The courtyard for drinks, coffee, reading or snoozing was very pleasant although when it started to rain it was cool and chilly. I suppose these castles were designed to be cool in the hot Spanish Summer so the massive stone walls don't make the place comfortable when its raining ( or help with wi Fi reception for that matter!). Could have done with a roaring log fire in the bar!
our Room was a bit disappointing, very small for travellers with baggage and not much natural light. Bathroom very small and only just adequate. It may be better to pay for an upgrade although the Hotel was full over the Easter weekend. Breakfast was OK although can't say lunch was brilliant. We stayed for 3 nights and thought Zafra was a delightful rediscovery of the real Spain with not many foreign tourists.

Room Tip: Think its probably worth paying extra for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharp-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Another safe bet of Paradores. Super comfortable room, excellent service and a setting that is unique. On top of that, it is well located in historic Zafra. Bar and restaurant provide the excellent food that Paradores customers are used to enjoy. Will not disappoint at all!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MITOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday weekend. It was a great weekend getaway, very relaxing. We loved hanging out in the court yard during our free time playing some games we brought, reading, or having some coffee. Our room was wonderful with three patios allowing us to open them all up and feel like we were outside. We got to enjoy a free tour at noon, and even though it as in Spanish and we speak very little Spanish, we still enjoyed it and got to see some interesting spots around town and the top of the parador.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What more can a traveller ask for. This parador was tops in all categories. When we arrived and parked at the reception entrance, the receptionist came out with a parking permit (for which we paid a small amount per day) and helped with our luggage. Check in was easy and the room was comfortable. I walk with a walker and asked for the room for disabled. We found it spacious and the bathroom was well equipped. I particularly liked the shower which was enclosed, unlike many wheelchair showers. Note that the disabled room is on the back of the building and there is some noise as that is the location for deliveries to the parador. The noise was not troublesome. The parador's courtyard is lovely, covered with an interesting system for draining rain into the central water fountain. The bar was decorated with silver mirrors and was separate from the dining room which was open almost all day. We enjoyed the tapas and bocadillos. I missed the tour of the alcazar and am sorry because there is so much there of historical interest. This is a parador easy to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Considering that you are staying in a building which was built in the 15th century, you have to accept that not all details can be as those in a modern concrete-and-glass hotel. The reason for going to a Parador is to to breathe and inhale history, to walk over stones trodden by tens of generations, not to demand perfect wifi access! It is a great privilege to be able to spend a few days in such historic places and overall the quality of the service is very good.

In this Parador the small collection of museum items in the hotel is particularly beautiful.
The village of Zafra is nice and typically spanish. The two adjacent squares are unusual and certainly interesting to visit.
The service in the is hotel is above average Parador (we have by now visited many of them in Spain, and we still like immensely the idea of this hotel chain!).
Highly recommended, if you have the right attitude and expectations!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandro1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Fantastic castle within Zafra-the rooms are huge and the internal courtyard is where you want to spend the rest of your life. As very often with the Paradores, some of the furnishings might be slightly worn out and the restaurant prices out of this planet but who cares when the setting is so enchanted? Nice swimming pool too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evangelos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zafra hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte
0.1 mi away
Hotel Huerta Honda
Hotel Huerta Honda
#4 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Atalayas
Las Atalayas
#6 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cervantes S.L.
Hotel Cervantes S.L.
#5 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones de Zafra
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Eras
Hotel Las Eras
#8 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Zafra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Zafra

Property: Parador de Zafra
Address: Plaza Corazon de Maria 7, 06300 Zafra, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Zafra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Zafra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Zafra 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parador de Zafra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Zafra Hotel Zafra
Parador De Hotel Zafra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing