We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to relax, forget about this place!”
Review of Hotel Huerta Honda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Huerta Honda
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Zafra
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Although is a very nice place, attention to detail is just not there. Not cheap for the service at all. The worst are the cleaners in the morning, from 8.30 onward it is imposible to sleep, the chat on your door, don't close the rooms when cleaning so you can clearly hear the hoover... It will be great to have sign for do not disturbed for the rooms to avoid cleaning ladies coming in when you are still in bed or in the toilet! The pool is very small but pleasant, any sort of drink service will be great as it is quite hot and you need to get down to the bar to get a drink, also a toilet on the pool floor is needed as there is no shower neither. I stayed two nights and I did not enjoy it.

Room Tip: Rooms looking at the patio are nicer but the noise of people drinking and eating outdoor can be a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Highest possible price-quality relation.
Greater confort, brighter new wing. Priced as a bargain.
Friendly

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweeBrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed for one A fantastic night’s stay in this charming hotel. Staff on reception were very helpful and friendly, (husband and wife team, perhaps?) and only too happy to help. The hotel itself is a great mix of old and new – not quite sure how to describe the building itself – except as a colonial greenhouse that has been converted whilst maintaining its classical features! It has a patio which would be fantastic in summer, and is dotted with plants, old fashioned wooden birdcages, a grand piano, a fantastic wood burning fire, and plenty of sofas to lounge on. The rooms themselves are modern – it’s set up for the business traveller with modern furnishings and a decent sized bathroom. I stayed in January and eating options in the town were a little limited, whoever, I did have breakfast and dinner in the hotel’s bar which seems a favourite with the locals. Opting for a series of tapas I would highly recommend the vegetable platter. Good value for money, both in the rooms and the bar. And friendly locally owned service throughout. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowgirlcat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We have stayed one night, but we had time to explore the hotel and Zafra (The hotel is located just in the begginning of the old part of the city). All the complex is a mixture of colonial architectural styles and furniture, but it's quite confortable and calm even when there´s a marriage in the lobby and restaurant. The hotel is next to the Parador which is a castle and is situated in a high place so from the upper rooms you can have a wonderful sightseeing. There is also a small but couzy swimming pool. The rooms were clean and the staff very kind.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadenPowellLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed at the parador,but decided to eat at Huerta Alta on the second night,witha view to staying later.There was nobody who stoke any English,andthe menu was only in Spahish and in their dialect which was impossible to understand.I have lived in Spain for 19 years and am pretty fluent.,but the food was awful to say the least,and some of the most expensive in Spain,my wife did not appreciate a black hair under her jamon.We didn´t stay for desert or coffee,NEVER to be revisited

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lavender2417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
churretin, Gerente at Hotel Huerta Honda, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

First of all, I would like to apologize for the bad service you have received in our hotel. This service is not our normal way of doing things. We have been open for more than 35 years and we are known for having a great service and a great restaurant. However, we can have a bad day like everyone else. Please accept our apologies and please give us a second chance to prove the quality of our service.
Darío Martinez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Huerta Honda Hotel is a nice and clean hotel where everything is as expected. The receptionists do not speak English, but is not worse or better than many other Spanish venues. But if you need to discuss any problem - its almost impossible.,,,,,,The breakfast is quite limited and is served in cafe where smoking is allowed ( still is many places in Spain)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norwegianguy017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Our first impression of our room was that it was modern sylish and attractive-but after a short time of settling in, shortcomings were revealed. There was no full length mirror or mirror of any kind in the bedroom. The bathroom sink was beautiful to look at but only had a tiny ledge on which to put toiletries, so I ended up putting them on the floor. The shower-again beautiful to look at-had two glass panels with an opening but no closing door, so afterr a shower the floor ressembled a paddling pool and anything unwisely left on the floor was soaked through. Finally the air conditioning unit was so noisy that it sounded like a train was approaching the bedroom-it was impossible to tolerate for more than a few minutes at a time.
We were only staying one night so this was mangeable-but I certainly would have not wanted to stay longer. We were left with the impression that whoever designed this room had put style before comfort big time and certainly had not taken account of the needs/wants of female guests
We stayed on a Saturday night and realised as we arrived that there was a wedding in the hotel that evening. We were woken at various points through the night and at 6am by loud conversations and general hubbub outside our bedroom door. We would advise taking this possibility into account when booking a weekend stay if you are looking for somewhere tranquil and peaceful!
On the plus side the public areas of the hotel were charming, the staff were friendly and it was well situated close to the centre of the town
We did not eat in the restaurant since the menu seemed over elaborate and expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zafra
0 mi away
Parador de Zafra
Parador de Zafra
#1 of 8 in Zafra
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte
0.5 mi away
Las Atalayas
Las Atalayas
#6 of 8 in Zafra
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cervantes S.L.
Hotel Cervantes S.L.
#4 of 8 in Zafra
67 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hacienda Arroyo La Plata
Hacienda Arroyo La Plata
#1 of 3 in Jerez de los Caballeros
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Eras
Hotel Las Eras
#8 of 8 in Zafra
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Huerta Honda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Huerta Honda

Address: Calle Lopez Asme 30, 06300 Zafra, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Zafra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Zafra
Price Range: £58 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Huerta Honda 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singular This hotel is located in the old town of Zafra. It combines a stylish modern design with historic charm in a rich mix of different styles. Huerta Honda has a setting for your visit to Zafra environment. It is within walking distance of many historic houses and aristocrats of ancient city walls surrounding Zafra. Rooms feature contemporary elements in a traditional setting. The minimalist decor and modern lights contrast with antique wooden furniture and canopy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Huerta Honda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huerta Honda Zafra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing