We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel . Bad breakfast"”
Review of Hotel Huerta Honda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Huerta Honda
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Zafra
Melbu, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good hotel . Bad breakfast"”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Huerta Honda Hotel is a nice and clean hotel where everything is as expected. The receptionists do not speak English, but is not worse or better than many other Spanish venues. But if you need to discuss any problem - its almost impossible.,,,,,,The breakfast is quite limited and is served in cafe where smoking is allowed ( still is many places in Spain)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegianguy017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    64
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
22
64
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, somerset
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Our first impression of our room was that it was modern sylish and attractive-but after a short time of settling in, shortcomings were revealed. There was no full length mirror or mirror of any kind in the bedroom. The bathroom sink was beautiful to look at but only had a tiny ledge on which to put toiletries, so I ended up putting them on the floor. The shower-again beautiful to look at-had two glass panels with an opening but no closing door, so afterr a shower the floor ressembled a paddling pool and anything unwisely left on the floor was soaked through. Finally the air conditioning unit was so noisy that it sounded like a train was approaching the bedroom-it was impossible to tolerate for more than a few minutes at a time.
We were only staying one night so this was mangeable-but I certainly would have not wanted to stay longer. We were left with the impression that whoever designed this room had put style before comfort big time and certainly had not taken account of the needs/wants of female guests
We stayed on a Saturday night and realised as we arrived that there was a wedding in the hotel that evening. We were woken at various points through the night and at 6am by loud conversations and general hubbub outside our bedroom door. We would advise taking this possibility into account when booking a weekend stay if you are looking for somewhere tranquil and peaceful!
On the plus side the public areas of the hotel were charming, the staff were friendly and it was well situated close to the centre of the town
We did not eat in the restaurant since the menu seemed over elaborate and expensive.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford uk
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We booked this hotel as a stopping place on the way to southern Portugal and wished we could could have stayed longer.The room was fine with great toiletries, atmosphere and .....wait for it....a free mini bar.(non alcoholic)There was a generosity of spirit in the place.We had menu del dia outside in the cafe attached and had a really fabulous meal for about 10 euros-3 courses.
I thoroughly recommend this delightful hotel and suggest you stay longer than one night

  • Liked — Clean,good value, stylish and generous
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We stayed at Huerta Honda for 2 nights at the end of June and had a really nice stay. Situated right next to the Parador de Zafra and within walking distance to the main square.

We happened to be there for a Medieval festival weekend and the crowning of Spain as European football champions. Was a great night.

Parking and traffic can be a bit tricky and the hotel parking is about 8-10 euros per day to use their garage, but might well be worth it!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank hospidium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2007

The Huerta Honda is an excellent hotel , opposite the Parador in Zafra. It is a traditional old Spanish hunting lodge with an internal patio which is wonderful to sit and have an early evening drink. We have stayed there a couple of times and think that it has a better atmosphere and is better value than the Parador. The rooms in the original building have been updated and are very spacious - some with an outside private courtyard. The bathrooms are spacious and well fitted. In the newer part of the building the rooms are decorated in a modern minalminist way and have views over the Patio and across the town. The staff are welcoming and the food in the restaurant is good.There is a large car park outside with free parking. Zafra intself is a perfect place to stop for one night - it has a very attractive old centre with two typical colonaded plaza's. I would thoroughly reccomend a stop here.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MalagaMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2005

Next to the Parador de Zafra, this hotel is nicely decorated, with good buffet breakfast and excellent price. Traveling from Caceres to Salamanca, we decided to spend the night at Zafra´s Parador, which is highly recommended. There was no availability there but were not uptset at all at staying at this hotel. The only available room was the royal suite which we took by 100 euros plus tax.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zafra
0.1 mi away
Parador de Zafra
Parador de Zafra
#1 of 8 in Zafra
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cervantes S.L.
Hotel Cervantes S.L.
#4 of 8 in Zafra
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Las Atalayas
Las Atalayas
#6 of 8 in Zafra
38 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Acosta Centro
Hotel Acosta Centro
#2 of 3 in Almendralejo
158 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hospederia Convento de la Parra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Huerta Honda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Huerta Honda

Property: Hotel Huerta Honda
Address: Calle Lopez Asme 30, 06300 Zafra, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Zafra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Zafra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Huerta Honda 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singular This hotel is located in the old town of Zafra. It combines a stylish modern design with historic charm in a rich mix of different styles. Huerta Honda has a setting for your visit to Zafra environment. It is within walking distance of many historic houses and aristocrats of ancient city walls surrounding Zafra. Rooms feature contemporary elements in a traditional setting. The minimalist decor and modern lights contrast with antique wooden furniture and canopy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Huerta Honda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huerta Honda Zafra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing