We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Gran Hotel Lugo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Lugo
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Lugo
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights at a rate of € 55 per night no bad for a 4**** hotel, not far away from the historic centre in fact about 6 minutes walk. The hotel has underground parking at € 13.50 a night I thaught it was a bit expensive, Wifi is charged at € 3 per stay. We used the restaurant once we had the buffett at € 12.50, very good value for money and I think included wine or soft drink, good selection of different dishes and help yourself as much as you like. Next is the cafeteria if you just want a coffee and a croisant. The staff was very helpful and the rooms good.


Pasamos 3 noches en este hotel situado a 6 minutos del centro historico . Hay un parking subterraneo y cuesta € 13.50 por noche a mi me parecio un poquito caro, WIFI les cobran €3 por estancia.Comimos una vez en el restaurant en donde habia un Buffett a € 12.50, nos parecio muy bien ya que la selection de diferentes platos era buena y si no me equivoco tambien incluian vino. El personal del hotel muy amable. Volvere a Lugo y si estare en este Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TITOsudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Gran Hotel Lugo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

Upon entering Gran Hotel Lugo it looks good. A large lobby with bar and at first sight, everything looks fine. But wait until you look further, and have seen your room. Old fashioned decor of the room (ref # 415), a very old TV on a dated refrigerator, faded glory. The rooms and bathroom are spacious, and there is ample hanging and storage space for clothes. The bed is good and there was no noise from outside or other rooms. With the group we had a dinner buffet, in a special room, where many groups were that night. The buffet was a disaster, long lines, empty bowls, where bowls were not filled up or very late and the food was of poor quality. Breakfast next day was even worse. On the ground floor they have an a la carte restaurant. WiFi is available at cost of €3 and to use the swimmingpool hotel guests have to pay €12,50. The hotel is within walking distance of the center, with many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I am tired of people whingeing about hotels, in their countries there is bad and good as well. This hotel was not grand but was very clean and the location was not far from shopping centre and the wall. The only thing was the noise of birds or bats in the alameda of trees in front of it, kept us awake.. I only would like to know what were they?

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This hotel has the potential to be much better! The location is very good for the old walled town. The rooms are a real disappointment. The decor in our bedroom was in yellow and orange. We had a twin room and it reminded me of going on school trips - very basic. The beds were comfortable enough, but the furniture dated and tired looking. There was a lamp hanging in the corner over a table that we bashed our heads on every day! I would return to Lugo but not this hotel! Very clean and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoberie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights to attend a business meeting. Overall the hotel is a little tired; it's of grand propotions but has seen better days. The rooms were clean and comfortable but not 4 star as advertised. WiFi was surprisingly good but there are no English TV channels. The staff were helpful but their English is limited. The highlight of my stay was the buffet breakfast - great choice!! The local donuts are a must-have! The hotel is just a few blocks away from the city centre. The Old Town area is a must-see (and walk along the top of the Roman city wall....)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivz_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

We only stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the centre of Lugo and the roman walls. Lugo is full of history and is worth visiting. We had two rooms with a connecting door. The rooms were kept exceptionally clean. Free internet access in the lobby but you could only get WiFi in the lobby and not in your rooms which I thought was pointless. If you are going to have WiFi it should be available in your room. The breakfast, even though the same every day, was of very good quality. We had dinner twice in the restaurant and the food was good, although mine and the childrens steak was virtually "blue". There is an underground carpark which cost about 10.00 euros per day. The only bad thing about the hotel was the Spa facility. The cost to use the Spa is 17.00 euros per adult, and 15 euros per child, and that is per session and not for the whole stay. With two adults and three children it was something that was very expensive and we did not use, The Spa, even though in the Hotel, is run by another organisation. Overall I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank West_Family_ACZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2006

We were in a tour with transatours and when we arrived I fall down in the front of the hotel. NOBODY of the hotel came to see what happen or just ask how I was. It was a terrible experience with this.
On the other hand, the hotel is beautiful, confortable rooms and air condition.
When I arrive to PR the doctor found a fracture in my left arm.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Exe Puerta de San Pedro
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mendez Nunez
Hotel Mendez Nunez
#4 of 15 in Lugo
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Lugo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Torre de Nunez
2.2 mi away
Hotel Santiago & SPA
0.5 mi away
Pazo de Orban
Pazo de Orban
#3 of 15 in Lugo
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Lugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Lugo

Address: Avenida Ramon Ferreiro 21, 27002 Lugo, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Lugo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Lugo
Price Range: £42 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Lugo 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Hotel Lugo has 167 rooms all equipped with the necessary amenities, put the finishing touch on a comfortable and peaceful stay in a city with a lot of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Lugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing