We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”
Review of Hotel O Cabazo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel O Cabazo
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ribadeo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

On our way from Bilbao to Portugal, along the coast, we made a one night stop over in Ribadeo. This hotel was recommended by many Trip Advisor contributors, and it deserves the high marks given, and more.
Indeed, hidden on a street on the outskirts of the main town center, yet in walking distance to all places, this charming hotel had so many surprises for us: our room #110, was large, clean and with a balcony overlooking the courtyard and the mountains beyond. The whole place is built with quality materials and it shows. Gorgeous wood everywhere, the staircase alone is outstanding. We had our lunch upon arrival and it was first class: fresh tuna and fresh bar perfectly prepared; good portions. Our entree of beef ham was delicious (produced locally). Cheesecake ice cream was quite a delicious surprise. Our serveur spoken perfect English which helped us choose from the menu. We had lunch and later in the evening snacks, both meals on the lovely courtyard terrace.
All the staff is courteous and efficient and goes beyond the norm trying to be helpful.
This place is a jewel and deserves the best ratings. Great value. We could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lelli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night of a road trip through Spain and Portugal. Our Spanish is not good but the staff were so helpful and accommodating. Our room was fabulous, the good was delicious and the local wines were great. A clean and spacious hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We loved this hotel and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel was extremely clean throughout, from the room and bathroom to the common areas and dining room. We loved the antiques displayed and the numerous live plants and flowers which gave the hotel a special feeling. The hotel personnel could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. They gave us extensive information about the town and various places to visit. The views from our room were exquisite - so tranquil. Our breakfast was prepared to order and delicious.
An outstanding experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfs524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carballeira, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel O Cabazo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for the time you spent writing to us these lovely words.
It is fantastic working with guests like you.
We hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Best regards from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Delightful one-night stay. Would have liked to stay longer. The ordinary looking exterior (it's situated in a recently developed chic estate) belies the interior of this quite large hotel - a very pleasant surprise Spacious, sea-facing room with small balcony, great bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff. 3 minute walk from pleasant, pedestrianised town centre and 10 minutes to the port where there are fish restaurants. Fairly good but plentiful breakfast. Recommend this hotel, very reasonable value. Private (free) parking.
Only downside was that it was awkward to find with GPS which wanted to take us across fields, but a friendly local got into his car and drove ahead of us to show us the way!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week and I have to say that you won't be disappointed. It's just off the town centre with off street parking. The hotel is clean and modern, the staff are helpful. The only thing I could suggest be better is the cooked breakfast isn't up to much but hey, it is Spain!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had trouble booking this due to internet problems we were having in the mountains.. Decided to drive from rabacallos via ourense and lugo ( marvellous roman walled city) the road leading to ribadeo is a motorcyclists dream sweeping bends on good roads( we were in the wife's mini but it was still great- just wished I was on my 1995 fireblade!)When you leave lugo about an hour passes then the roads are wonderful carving through the countryside.
With no booking we took a chance based on the reviews I had read .. When we arrived I explained I tried to book etc I have no spainish so they asked the waiter to help out ... This family run concern could not have been more helpful or decent.. We ended up having a room with balcony ..the whole hotel is clean and welcoming our room was large and spacious.. The bathroom excellent.. Lift is available if you have mobility issues..
We had a lovely walk down to the promenade towards the marina at the end of which on the left is a lift which takes a lot of the walk out of the hill. Back through the main square.. Shops and restaurants are really on two roads..
When we got back we ate in the restaurant which was truly top notch.. We tried the mixed crab terrine and clams both very good.. I then had turbot ( excellent) Julie had pork also great
Deserts was a massive tiramisu which we shared..
Previous reviews highlight what a great hotel this is and it's well warranted!
Nice people the managers always got a story going with the guests! He made us laugh
Good facilities nice location..well recommended

Room Tip: We were at the back furthest to the right on first floor to the left are the mountains and estuary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way back to Asturias airport and were very glad we found it.

The room was large and comfortable with a balcony with a view over the estuary. The whole hotel has been wonderfully designed with tasteful decor and bric-a-brac.

The staff could not have been more helpful.

While we only stayed one night it would be a perfect base for exploring the magnificent beaches in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btbLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ribadeo hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ribadeo
Parador de Ribadeo
#5 of 11 in Ribadeo
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona de Lazurtegui
0.8 mi away
Hotel Voar
Hotel Voar
#11 of 11 in Ribadeo
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rolle
Hotel Rolle
#3 of 11 in Ribadeo
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bouza
Hotel Bouza
#6 of 11 in Ribadeo
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurante Mediante
Hotel Restaurante Mediante
#10 of 11 in Ribadeo
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel O Cabazo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O Cabazo

Address: C/ Rio de amallo 1, 27700 Ribadeo, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Ribadeo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ribadeo
Price Range: £49 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel O Cabazo 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel O Cabazo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing