We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Lunch in the proper Parador style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Ribadeo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Parador de Ribadeo
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ribadeo
Harlow, Essex
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Superb Lunch in the proper Parador style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

As the Paradors in both Pontevedra and Vilalba have ditched the proper restaurants, we took the opportunity to drive over to Ribadeo’s Parador for lunch, which was heaven. Ribadeo has little to recommend it except wonderful positioning looking over the river (we were given a window seat with what can only be called a panoramic view up and down the river) and old fashioned Parador catering (for the moment!). Please, please, please, don't change it! It also has plenty of parking. The architecture is plain and there are no activities at all. I dread to think what one would do if visiting the town in bad weather. However, all the old politeness, service and excellence of catering were on offer and it was all the more welcome, when contrasted with the naff caffs in Pontevedra and Vilalba.

Room Tip: We only visited for lunch - but I am sure that the rooms on the river side will have the best viewss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredandMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    162
    67
    20
    11
See reviews for
81
241
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
181 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here en route to our main destination. We were initially quite disappointed by the Parador and the town although it was pleasant enough for an overnight stay. We've stayed in a few other Paradors and they are usually in a historic building or a good location to justify the costing more than average. This was neither although it was comfortable enough but at €224 per night it was vastly overpriced for the standard. Our room was very big with a couch and armchairs, a large bathroom and a nice glazed terrace overlooking the water and the working harbour. As it was the first night of our holiday we treated ourselves to the tasting menu in the restaurant which was nice but very heavy. We had a nice view over the water but there was no air conditioning and it was quite uncomfortable. We had a walk round the town after dinner and it seemed quite lively. We continued our journey by driving inland along the Ria and the scenery is stunning. It was ok for an overnight stop, especially as it had a secure car park, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The staff were, as always in a Parador, helpful, polite and friendly. But it was not a particularly exciting Parador. Modern but a tad faded, and the town had little to recommend it that we could find. Ok for a stopover.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Had mixed views about our stay . I had booked a standard double room but on arriving to a room on the lower groundfloor I found it very dark , it also smelled a bit dank and the sheets seemed damp. I opened the window and we looked onto a very small triangle of grass surrounded by 3m high concrete walling.It was frankly a cold ,dark and sombre room . We asked if we could change and got a room much higher up with a view and light , it cost a little more but was well worth it ! The restaurant by contrast was lovely , the staff were polite and friendly , the food delicious and breakfast too was excellent . Overall it was a pleasant stay and the staff dealt with the room issue with grace and ask for a room with a view .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillyreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We chose this Parador as an overnight stop in transit from Santiago de Compostela to France and for that purpose it was fine.It has a great position overlooking the estuary but the pictures on the website don't show you the timber port immediately below the hotel.Our room was three floors down from reception but although this hotel is called a modern Parador it is several years old and quite dated.The restaurant is quite pleasant with great views.Food is fine,good ingredients and regional cooking.
The town of Ribadeo itself has definitely seen better days and doesn't have a lot to recommend it.Stay for a night and move on!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is not a very old building as is often the case with Paradors, but it is an elegant hotel overlooking the bay. Our room and bathroom were huge and comfortable and we also had a very large, glassed in balcony. The restaurant is very attractive and the breakfast buffet very good. There is also a café which serves excellent sandwiches, salads etc. most of the day and evening which is a good alternative to the restaurant if you only want to eat something small. The prices at the café were also very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vschlatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
241 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

There is probably no reason to visit Ribadeo on the northwest coast of Spain except as a convenient stopover. But if you do this is the place to stay. It is a small place and was sold out for our arrival, except for a suite. That was naturally the most expensive, but not too much so. It consisted of two large rooms with TV in each. The bedroom had a four-poster bed and there were two full bathrooms. A long patio overlooking the harbor ran the length of the suite. A wonderful buffet breakfast was included - plenty of fresh fruit as well as meats, breads, eggs, and the usual. We ate dinner there twice also - more than adequate. The dining room also looks out over the harbor.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ribadeo
0.1 mi away
Hotel O Cabazo
Hotel O Cabazo
#1 of 11 in Ribadeo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona de Lazurtegui
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rolle
Hotel Rolle
#3 of 11 in Ribadeo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Voar
Hotel Voar
#10 of 11 in Ribadeo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bouza
Hotel Bouza
#6 of 11 in Ribadeo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Peleyon
Casa Peleyon
#1 of 3 in Figueras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Ribadeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Ribadeo

Property: Parador de Ribadeo
Address: Rua Amador Fernandez 7, 27700 Ribadeo, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Ribadeo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ribadeo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Ribadeo 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Parador de Ribadeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hotel Ribadeo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing