We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, spacious and cool”
Review of Hotel Ego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ego
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Viveiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Although I stayed here in March, it was pretty cold during my week in the area and I did worry that this hotel would not be great because of how so many places like this seem designed for warmer weather but not the offseason. The low price also made me think that maybe it would not be the best.

I arrived after a two hour drive up through the hills in a storm and got here very late but was met with a very warm welcome, helpful advice to the questions I had for the next day and, being Spain, the restaurant next door still had food on offer. The room was lovely and spacious, very clean and nicely laid out – the wood look matched the corridors and I liked it as well as the small patio outside the room overlooking the bay.
Breakfast was good in terms of range on offer for 10 Euro and the staff remained keen to help and assist with anything during my stay.

I have stayed in better hotels perhaps but considering the low price, the view, the welcoming atmosphere in all parts and the comfort of the room were really good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

Very nice hotel with kind and smily people!
I have very appreciated the quality of the bed and the view on the beach during breakfast.
People at the desk are helpfull and the price is surprising: around 65 € for one night,
I was a little disappointed by the breakfast choices, too much classic, even the service is good.
If you travel in Galicia, have a stop there, you'll have a very nice rest!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stopped at a whim as we were attracted by the modern style. We were warmly greeting and allowed to preview a room on the main level (which IS The 3rd floor) and we had a panoramic view of the beach and harbor, fantastic terrace view. We did not know what to expect in this sleepy little towns hotel but the room was great and modern. I would consider it a great 3.5 star hotel, almost 4 star. The reason for that would be the bathroom space and the tiny tv set mounted on the wall. But t he towels were an east 3 1/2 foot by 5 foot, great.
The breakfast that was included in our rate was a wonderful full spread. It was missing hot eggs, some sort of pancakes and a juice selection. But the service was wonderful.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A very modern hotel with clean white and wood being the main design theme. The facilities were four star and the view of the bay from the room balcony was outstanding.

The connected restaurant Nito served fantastic food and wine from a great terrace overlooking the bay, During the day it also provided the hotels bar service and served a terrace with drinks and an abundance of free tapas. The only downside was the drinks terrace overlooked the car park rather than the bay.

We considered this as one of our favourite hotels on our vtwo week tour of Northern Spain

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roucire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Modern and stylish with great views. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was excellent. Generous deck outside with views of sea. Really relaxing. Beautiful area.

Room Tip: room 101 has a great deck and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincipalityJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Was there with my family, and it was - like always - superb. The rooms are great, with lots of space and quite new. Views are just unbeatable. Get one of the rooms with large terrace on the 2nd floor. The holiday feeling in stunning. They do have a jacuzzi and a very nice indoor pool, besides a gym room. Super service. And you are just a couple of walking minutes away from a beautiful sandy (cold water though) beach. Will always go back there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chirri_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

A tidy business-like hotel that suited us well. The restrauant next door is excellent, but make a reservation, esp at the weekend as it is very popular with the locals. The views are superb as the sun sets whilst enjoying fine seafood.

The hotel itself is clean and tidy with staff who certainly go the extra mile for you. The pool is small but the hydro-jet bashes the aches of the day away well before relaxing in the jacuzzi.

The hotel's location is about 5km from the main town but a short taxi ride means you can enjoy the small historic town easily (about 8 Euros each way which the hotel can book; there is a taxi rank in the middle of town and armed with the hotel card we had no problem explaining where we wanted to go at the end of the evening!

Iin sum, the Hotel Ego is a comfortable hotel that does not have any 'ego' about it!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view otherwise you will be looking at the carpark and tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viveiro
2 mi away
Viveiro Urban Hotel
Viveiro Urban Hotel
#3 of 7 in Viveiro
42 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thalasso Cantabrico Sirenas
1.8 mi away
Hotel O Val Do Naseiro
Hotel O Val Do Naseiro
#5 of 7 in Viveiro
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boa Vista
Hotel Boa Vista
#4 of 7 in Viveiro
117 reviews
4 mi away
Pazo da Trave
Pazo da Trave
#2 of 7 in Viveiro
158 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Rustico Vila Do Val
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ego

Address: Estrada de Area 1, 27863 Viveiro, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Viveiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Viveiro
Price Range: £50 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ego 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing