We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good meal with good service”

Firestone's Culinary Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Firestone's Culinary Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Church St
Description: Firestone's Culinary Tavern, opened in 1999, is located in downtown Frederick's picturesque Historic District. It is housed in a 1921 building that was initially the home of Shipley's Department Store. The restaurant combines outstanding cuisine with the casual atmosphere of a neighborhood tavern. The Washington Post says, "the atmosphere is prime...the food is, too!".
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
192 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A good meal with good service”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is nice restaurant if you want something casual in atmosphere but with food that is a step above the normal offerings. The onion soup is great for appetizer, we had scallops and the shrimp with grits and buffalo sausage - both were delicious. They offer a little chef tasting before your food is served and sorbet between courses. The service is great, attentive but not hovering and the course servings were well timed. Call for reservations, they stay full on the weekends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wlk902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    88
    31
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food and Ambience”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband I had lunch on a Saturday. We were seated upstairs overlooking the bar and near the windows that overlook the street. The burger, steak sandwich and fries were delicious and generous portions. Both the food and the service were great. Highly recommend.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WWLJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Who Knew?”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I grew up in Frederick and remember Firestones when it was Donnelly's. My impression is that it was just a bar with pub type food. Over the last 10 years, Firestones has been the spot where my friends and I end up for drinks after a night downtown. I hadn't consumed a bite of food there until over a year ago. On a whim, my husband and I went there for dinner and had a fantastic meal! Over the last year we have dined there several times alone, with our kids, and with other family members. We haven't had a single dish we didn't like! It's great for brunch, lunch and dinner. Although they don't cater to kids, there is a spoken children's menu that's very pleasing to my 6 and 9 year olds. My boys say they have the best grilled cheese in Frederick! Service is always wonderful and the view from the window tables on the second floor is great. We normally make our reservations through opentable.com so we can accumulate reward points. Don't miss their charcuterie appetizer with a wide variety of meats they cure in house. The tuna tartar is delicious. The creme brulee is very good and an incredibly large serving as are all the desserts.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HappileeMarreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Great place to go for unbelievable food or to go for drinks. Best restaurant in Frederick!

Helpful?
Thank Angie21702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Date Night Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Firestone's is nice and the food is delicious. My only issue with this place is that it can get quite noisy because the noise from the bar echos in the upper dining room. It is pricey, so be prepared to pay a good amount for good food. I wouldn't suggest sitting next to the window to look out onto the street during the colder months because the windows are quite drafty.

Helpful?
Thank Kammom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Firestone's Culinary Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Firestone's Culinary Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing