We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok bar food, spotty on in-house beers”

Barley and Hops Brewery
Ranked #58 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Barley and Hops is the winner of the Maryland Comptroller's Cup for Maryland's Top Beer of 2016 – along with 20 other medals, seven being Gold! After coming under new ownership in the past year, B&H has totally revamped its craft beer offerings and food! “We can promise you that our service and food offerings match the high quality beers we produce. In with the new, out with the old!!” A locally owned business with a working in-house brewery, B&H sources many of its food and craft beer supplies from other locally businesses. Just a few minutes outside of downtown Frederick, come in and see us at Barley and Hops, where a passion for beer, food and fun is a way of life!
Paciano, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ok bar food, spotty on in-house beers”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Generic, franchise feeling building and interior. TV's on with games and servers in football jerseys. Much more focused on bar than microbrewery. The food was ok. Just ok. The wings looked a lot better than they tasted. The crab dip was dry. My friend liked his soup.

I ordered the Weis Bier and it was, sadly, undrinkable to me. It even looked sad before I tasted it! It was warm and thin and had hardly any taste. My friend enjoyed his red ale though. If I found myself there again, I would stick to bottled beers. I chose an Omegang.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paciano12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    56
    37
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great selection, delicious dinner!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were in the area for one night and just drove past this place and decided to try it. It was a great choice. Nice atmosphere ( a little loud because of hard service flooring), but nice service and great food. The crab dip app was a favorite and three were many choices making it hard to decide on dinner. We had seafood and both dishes were very good. Would definitely enjoy returning if I am ever in the area again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KSC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good Beer, Good Food”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I first came across Barley & Hops at the Frederick Craft Beer Festival in May, and decided to visit the brewpub. A couple visits later, I’m happy to say this one is staying in my repertoire.

Barley & Hops is a brewpub in the purest sense … glass walls separate the bar/dining area from a row of stainless steel fermenting tanks where the magic happens. We sat at the bar (yeah, same unpadded seats mentioned in other reviews) and spent three hours eating, drinking and talking.

They offer a nice, broad selection of beers to suit any taste, from a smooth lager to a hoppy ESB and rich stout. The Annapolis rocks Pale Ale wasn’t bad, but their Hoptopsy ESB was a real treat. I had two.

We went the “pub food” route here … burgers and wings and onion rings. My wife and daughter enjoyed their cheeseburgers, made with the cheese in the middle and oozing out as they bit in. My Buffalo Wings were moderately spicy, not overwhelming in heat, and nice and crispy, not soggy. The onion rings were served with a chipotle ketchup, which was a very nice touch.

Desserts are a mixed bag, some made in-house, and the cheesecake brought in from the Cheesecake Factory. We opted for a couple slices of cheesecake, as the home-made chocolate stout ice cream was being made and not ready for consumption. Our big disappointment for the day.

Service was great … we stayed for three hours, and at no time did we feel rushed or hustled. Our server, the bartender, was friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

We’ll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, MD
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No Waiting In Line”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The experience was fine. The restaurant is a little stark, wide open space, no special charm to the eating environment. The restaurant had many tables and booths available, but the hostess took us back to a corner near the kitchen!! I requested a different location which was honored. The waiter took his time about coming to the table, but we were not in a hurry so it did not matter.
Our food was very good and served hot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KayMiddletown_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go here for the beer. Food is just ok.”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

There microbrews are good. The service that we received was not the best. It took a long time to get are beer. Both my husband and I ordered burgers they were ok. I would go here again for just apps and beer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barley and Hops Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Barley and Hops Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing