We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Authentic B&B”

Hill House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frederick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Frederick B&B and Inns
Catonsville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Authentic B&B”
Reviewed 16 September 2006

Very tidy bed and breakfast set in downtown historic Frederick. Lovely, well maintained, tidy building and manicured gardens. There are a couple reasons I gave it 3 out of 5. Another reviewer noted that the proprieter was unfriendly. I do admit that she was not friendly on the phone, but in person she was more abrupt in a businesslike manner rather than unfriendly. However, her demeanor did frighten my husband a bit, hence the one point knocked off. The other thing is that I am pretty sure that we booked one room, and we got another room. And the room we were allocated had the squeakiest bed I've ever slept in. Having said that, it was a nice place, but I don't think I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — It was quirky, loved the old house!
  • Disliked — Squeaky bed.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    10
    2
    8
See reviews for
3
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruxton, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2006

Just returned from a weekend at the relaxing Hill House in Frederick. This lovely home is very private and gorgeously decorated with fine antiques, the latest magazines, and the owner provides a delectable breakfast each day. Within easy walking distance (around the corner of Frederick's finest restaurants and Baker Park. Why stay at a hotel when you can experience living in the Historic District of Frederick at this charming venue? Book early - it is a great place to stay!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank SailorII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2005

Hill House is an extremely beautiful home furnished to a high standard with quality antiques. The owner goes to a lot of trouble to produce home cooked delicacies for breakfast. The four poster canopied bed is probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in. Our private bathroom was breath-takingly gorgeous. The owner was flexible and always ready to offer advice.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 March 2004

After many stays in different hotels in the US, during our business trips, me and my partner were recommended the best place to stay in Frederick. Not only the Hill House is a charming and stylish place, with an excellent breakfast, but the owners gave us the feeling of staying at home. Definitely our place to stay in Frederyck!

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 October 2002

on a recent trip to the beautiful city of Frederick Maryland, I stayed at the Hill House B and B. The owner was quite rude and not very flexible about anything. Would never come back even if you paid me to stay there!

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frederick hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
1.3 mi away
Best Western Historic Frederick
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Frederick - Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
853 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 12 W 3rd St, P.O. Box 4124, Frederick, MD 21701-5331
Region: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hill House b&b
Hill House Hotel Frederick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing