We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly As Expected”

Hill House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frederick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Frederick B&B and Inns
TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exactly As Expected”
Reviewed 10 February 2011

My sister and I stayed here March 2010 and will be going back May 2011. We picked this B&B for walking distance to Volt and town, both are great. Okay, so maybe you won't get a hug upon your arrival. But I assure you, Ms. Damian can be very friendly and helpful. I say this even though she chided me in front of everyone for setting my coffee cup on her dining room table, as opposed to the coaster which was right next to me. I was laughing on the inside (only) as that's what my mother would do. No harm, I'm a big girl. We stayed in Mexican Room w/ 2 twin beds. The bathroom is huge and walks out to a fabulous balcony. Having a pre and post dinner drink on balcony was perfect. Just to know--the bathroom door swings into the bedroom, in case you're noise shy. We just had a "go to the balcony" rule. Go, you'll be glad.

Stayed March 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank willowTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    8
    10
    2
    8
See reviews for
3
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We visited Frederick from Washington, DC for a splurge at Volt Restaurant. It's little too far to drive, particularly after the wine pairings. We chose to stay right around the corner at the Hill House. Here are the details you need.

-- The rooms are small but not cramped. We stayed in the Victorian Suite, which is streetside but quiet. We needed the step stool to get into our 4-poster bed. The rooms are heated by radiator -- we turned ours off and hit under the ample covers. The host also put out a bottle of sherry in our room, which was a nice touch on a cold night.

-- The bathroom is private and almost as large as the room -- it's actually down a little hall within the room, which is nice.

-- The breakfast is communal with everyone sitting at the one dining room table. That's not my favorite b/c it requires small talk before coffee. The host seems to make french toast most morning, which was well above B&B average.

One last note. We left a couple pairs of pants hanging in the closet. The host mailed them to us at her own expense. That's service you won't get from Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

It's now the one year anniversary (10/30/09) of our stay at the Hill House Bed and Breakfast. The bad memories have hardly faded. We still agree that our stay at the Hill House was the worst bed and breakfast experience we've had. The Damien may be good at some things, but her interpersonal skills are nil. Not suited for the HOSPITALITY business. The breakfast was adequate the first day and cold on the second day. It had been sitting on the plate for an hour before we arrive at the table. A misunderstanding about ending daylight saving time. We lost the argument. Lesson learned - never again book a bed and breakfast without reading the online reviews first, We never would have stayed there if we had done that.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cedar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frederick hotels

charlotte nc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This was our first visit to Frederick and the Hill House, and it will definitely not be our last. My husband and I stayed in the Steeple Room on the third floor and thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay. Damian is a wonderful hostess and shares an exquisite home with her guests. We felt as though we were visiting a good friend instead of staying at a B&B, as their home is filled with family photos, paintings, and more than a few lifetimes of cherished momentos. The location is absolutely perfect for walking all around town--day or night. The bed was comfortable, there was plenty of heat, plenty of hot water, and plenty of good light by which to read. Breakfast is more than ample and delicious; pocket a few of her cinnamon twists to take with you during the day!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2010

My husband and I just returned from a delightful visit to Hill House. Our room was lovely, the inkeeper friendly, and the location was steps away from Volt, the Tasting Room, and all the great shopping and dining in Frederick. We arrived to breakfast late (late dinner reservation the night before) and was plesantly surprised that the innkeeper had held our breakfast (more importantly coffee) for us. I think we had the least expensive room in the inn (we were only staying 1 night and would be out of the room for most of the time so it did not matter to us) and it still was charming, with a nice balcony. We'd love to come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBC094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

The location is marvelous: A real downtown location, lots of good restaurants around, a quick walk to many other businesses, to a hospital and to Hood College. The innkeeper can actually be quite nice, but you have to discvover it (or meet her in a relaxed moment). The breakfast was, on the first day, quite a small cooked breakfast, on the second day rather filling and nice, and a completely different selection on the plate. The water for tea was cold, though.
The room was nice, if overdecorated, the bed ok, no real place to sit there, the bathroom mostly clean, the shower had lots of hot water. The trash in the bathroom was not emptied out, only on the second night.
Lots of noises from the not very efficient heating during the night, so not a very good sleep.
Prime location, but some difficulties.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

My fiancé and I took a short trip up from DC to eat at Volt's Table 21 and decided to make a night of it by staying at Hill House. All in all, it was a great weekend. Our room was quite comfortable with a nice soft bed and its own private entrance to the balcony garden. I had read prior reviews and was a bit concerned that the owner would be difficult to deal with, but we found Damian to be extremely accommodating and she made an excellent breakfast for us on Sunday morning. The location could not have been more convenient, as it is about a block away from Volt as well as the other shops and restaurants in downtown Frederick. I'd highly recommend Hill House as your base for a weekend break from DC or elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snickahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Historic Frederick
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#3 of 22 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Frederick - Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 12 W 3rd St, P.O. Box 4124, Frederick, MD 21701-5331
Region: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hill House Hotel Frederick
Hill House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing