We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Selection”
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
Ranked #112 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Selection”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My family meets here every couple of months to have brunch. We are never disappointed. This Golden Corral has a nice selection of hot and cold foods. The food is usually the right temperature, not lukewarm like some buffets. The soups are very good. We love the breads -- they have a version of Challah bread that I can't avoid. The yeast rolls with honey butter are also yummy. I like the Mexican selections -- I can make a taco salad with the ingredients I prefer. I'm not as enamored of the deserts, but I'm pretty picky about sweets. My family usually raves about the desert bar. It's a busy place, but they manage crowds well. The prices are reasonable and the employees are usually efficient and fairly friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RestonVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    14
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good Hot Buffet Food”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

No waiting, you can choose what foods you like or feel like eating that day as there is a very large variety. You can also have a steak or stir fry made to your preference while you wait. Lots of salads and desserts. Very reasonable price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good selection, to crowded”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Good selection of food. Ribs were great shrimp and fish were good. All around not a bad buffet. The only problem was it was to crowed and the screeming babies did not make for a peaceful meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, MD
Level Contributor
116 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lots of Food - Good Value - Great for Families or Groups”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We've been to the Golden Coral several times. It's a great spot to meet family with kids and have a meal. They have a very large selection of foods to choose from. Items include things such as: a salad bar, soups, fried chicken, pizza, make your own tacos, steak, liver, meat loaf, fried shrimp, grilled fish, wide assortment of veggies (cabbage, mashed potatoes, carrots, green beans, etc.), baked sweet and regular potatoes, many dessert selections, dip your own fruit/cookies in chocolate and a large roll assortment. I know I'm leaving out a lot of items even with that list. So there is basically something for everyone. We have gluten sensitive family members, vegetarians, and carnivores and we all can find something to eat at this buffet. The prices are very reasonable. Drinks come with free refills. The place is quite large, but always seems to be busy. Even with large crowds, the food is constantly refilled and it's easy to get to the items you want. We will continue to visit this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thebean28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salty and Need Patience”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

The waitresses are ususlly nice, however very busy and don't have a lot of time for patrons.
Most people do not supervise their children and staff does not enforce this rule (I've seen a sign osted).
The food is very salty! I am also someone who does not add salt to food.
It's very popular here in Frederick. There are many times that there is a line going out yhe door.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoLuMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing