We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a Buffet, for Goodness Sake”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chef Lin Buffet

Chef Lin Buffet
Ranked #71 of 397 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (301) 620-0664
germantown, md
Level Contributor
175 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“It's a Buffet, for Goodness Sake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Let's get that out of the way right now. It's a buffet. But the good news with Chef Lin is that, while most of the stuff is just satisfactory, there are some gems. Unfortunately, those may change from visit to visit, so you have to show some initiative and experiment. Fortunately, the choices are so extensive that you'll have no trouble finding some things that you really like. Try just a tad of what you think looks good and, if it is good, then go back for more. And this comment extends to the sushi and to the Mongolian grill, as well. Place is very popular with the GIs from Ft. Detrick. For the price? Can't beat it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank banjobwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bethesda, md.
Level Contributor
747 reviews
558 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Chef Lin Buffet Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My family makes the trek from Bethesda, Maryland (about 39 minute drive) when we get an urge for Chinese buffet food. We pass a half dozen other places on the way. Food is always fresh and flavorful. Really nice management and staff. Excellent sushi selection including sashimi and occasional tempura. I particularly like the selection of prepared fish dishes (I am not a meat eater) from salmon to haddock. Kids enjoy as well with a cotton candy machine and chocolate fountain. Very competitive price, too.

Helpful?
1 Thank barymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad...just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Bout what you would expect, with a lot of seafood. The salad bar was nice - my six year old enjoyed the vegetable selection. The food is nothing fancy, but there is plenty of it and it is kept fresh.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hands down, Best Buffet Ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I am a chinese buffet afficianado... I've been to a different chinese buffets in different states as well... let me tell you, this is the best chinese buffet I have ever tasted!!! Hands down!!! Food taste great, service was awesome... staff was very friendly and attentive to customers! I am from Maryland and I was just passing Frederick from our West Virginia weekend trip. If this place is not almost 2 hours from where I live, for sure I would come here all the time. But if we're back in the area, we're definitely coming back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
196 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a typical Chinese Buffet that has all the usual offerings, including a Mongolian grill and sushi. But, the exception was the duck, this was a treat! Other pleasant suprises were the salt/pepper shrimp, the grilled Teryaki chicken wings that were moist and tender, and the mixed vege tempura-very light and non-greasy. Coming from the "off" side of things were the cold shrimp that did not taste quite right and the canned peaches and pears that were sl fermented. The staff was friendly and efficient, filling the glasses routinely, the Chinese tea was perfect, it had a delicate smokeyness about it. They do offer a senior discount and have a party room in the back for larger groups. They make good use of the modest space they have. True, the decor is basic and somewhat dated, but this is a pretty good place where you will not leave hungry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redcatcec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef Lin Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Chef Lin Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing