We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast in contemporary decor”
Review of Family Meal

Family Meal
Reserve with OpenTable
Family Meal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 400 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Chef Bryan Voltaggio's modern American diner offers affordable all-day meals in a former Frederick car dealership transformed by clever design and raw, natural materials into an open, airy space, with a long counter fronting an open kitchen; its menu elevates the comfort-food canon, while adult beverages include boozy milkshakes as well as wine, beer and cocktails. Signature dishes include Fried Chicken with Buttermilk Biscuits, Meatloaf with Mushroom Gravy and Duck Fat Fried Potatoes.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast in contemporary decor”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have had a few breakfasts in the past 2 weeks in the area but this topped the options. We asked for grilled tomatoes, which weren't included on the menu, and we were served wonderful tasty tomatoes with our egg and bacon choices. I loved the décor; lots of wood and open plan kitchen. It's situated in an industrial looking area which suits the decor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    182
    102
    39
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Uneven Experience”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We were excited to try this place, but although the appetizers were good (hoecakes and wings are worth going for), the entries were just okay. Of four entries we ordered, only one loved her food (fried chicken). The ambiance was non-existent. It was loud and cafeteria-like. Service was okay. We were seated directly facing the blazing sun, and the windows had no shades, blinds, or curtains. And we had a reservation! I don't think I would go back or recommend it. It's not upscale enough for an occasion and too expensive for a non-occasion despite a few bright spots.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank profrmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply enjoyable”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Family Meal is owned by the same chefs who own Volt in Frederick. The chef won TopChef on tv. Our meal was wonderful. Sangria was so refreshing on a warm day. We say outside on the porch. No view but great personalities with wait staff!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok but so many better choices downtown Frederick.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Food was not anything exceptional and limited choices. Liked the open atmosphere and outside seating option.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfort food to the n'th degree!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Family Meal is what you eat when you need a big hug. Shrimp and grits, fried chicken and biscuits, meatloaf. Brian Voltaggio has done himself proud in an airy, spare restaurant in an area of warehouses and antique stores....off the beaten path. Once you find it, it's home!! The new biscuits were light as air and so very tasty. I asked for the recipe -- and I have it (albeit in a quantity for 125 biscuits!!! While I might want to make that many, I probably won't, if only to hold down the waistline!!!) The shrimp and grits were tasty -- with grits that actually had taste, texture, and just the right "bite." Desserts? OMG! Again, comfort food! Sooooo good.....Go for brunch and make it lunch! Don't know about dinners, but lunch was absolutely great!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank editted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Family Meal also viewed

 

Been to Family Meal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing