We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful City Park”
Review of Baker Park

Baker Park
Ranked #6 of 52 things to do in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
440 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Wonderful City Park”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We visited Baker Park to participate in an ALS walk and thought the place was beautiful. Very typical Frederick, surrounded by nicely kept older homes, this park was very clean and well maintained. The stream and lake are lovely. There was plent of nearby parking (we were there in the fall), but I bet it is a nice place to take in a concert or outdoor fair.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    45
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Take a stroll”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Beautiful city park. Easy, flat walking trails along manicured lawns, passing ball fields, fountains, gardens. Flanked by lovely homes. Especially lovely in the spring. Bands often playing in the band shell which adds to the ambience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FilledWithJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful space in the city”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We often go there just to walk the length of the park. We will stop and look at the creek, watching for fish, maybe talk to passersby or someone fishing. There are birds chirping, families playing, people running, walking riding bikes.
Recently we took a walk and on our way back found that there was a trio singing at the Baker Park band shell. We sat on a bench under a tree and just listened. It was a nice way to end our walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland, Usa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice place to walk or to take some pictures.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This place goes crazy on the 4th of July since this is where the city of Frederick puts on its fireworks display. there are also events scheduled once in a while that are always fun.
Most of the time, this is just a great place to walk and relax. The park has lots a paths, water features and is surrounded by stately, well-kept homes.
Bring a camera especially since there is a covered footbridge that begs to have its picture taken - hopefully with you in the picture, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful park”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

While visiting Frederick for a couple days, this park was a wonderful place to get out and walk my dog. The park has great a great walking trail that connect to Sandy creek park in the downtown area. I felt it was safe and it was scenic. Very nice

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanderingk9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baker Park also viewed

 

Been to Baker Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing