We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool theater to catch slightly older movies for cheap”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
MDL Holiday Cinemas
Ranked #5 of 12 Fun & Games in Frederick
Attraction details
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cool theater to catch slightly older movies for cheap”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you missed any of the blockbusters when they were in the larger cinemas in town, then, Holiday cinemas will play them a month later and tickets are typically half the price, if not cheaper. The seats are comfortable and the place is clean. If it is a very popular movie, tickets can get sold out, so check early.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pavithra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT value”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is an older theater but you cannot beat the price of $2.75 for a movie ticket. Especially since these are movies that just left the theater. They have a concession stand as well. I took my son to see Despicable Me 3 times and today we saw The Nut Job

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KPtravelsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cheap but old”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Good to see movies for a second time only 3 or 4 dollars located in frederick nd doesn't play a movie until it has Ben out in theatres for a few months

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank s r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun, low cost family outing.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We regularly head out to Holiday Cinemas to take in a movie. It is a great affordable family outing and the people who work there are very friendly. This cinema only accepts cash, so be prepared.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good films, great prices!!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I'm old enough to remember when you didn't need to take out a loan to take the family to a movie on Saturday afternoon. I've just about given up going to the movies at all, but I wanted to take my grand kids to see "Frost". They had already seen it once, but when you're young it doesn't really matter. We didn't make it to their matinee so we paid a little more, but only about half of what the other theaters in town charge.. It is clean, the seats are comfortable, the picture and sound good, and the popcorn and other refreshments are affordable too. They had a great time, that means I had a great time too, and we'll definitely go back the next time we need to go to the movies.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DWG6392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to MDL Holiday Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing