We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza in Frederick”
Review of Il Forno Pizzeria

Il Forno Pizzeria
Ranked #52 of 400 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Frederick”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

IlFornos is a Pizza Restaurant with outdoor dining and speedy service. Eat in or takeout is equally good. Nothing fancy but the food is great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarylandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    41
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“delicious brick oven pizzauyun”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Whenever we go to Frederick we have to stop here. Casual atmosphere, reasonable prices. Our bill was $14 for the two of us. We had fried mushrooms and a small bacon lovers pizza. You must try the fried mushrooms. They are so tasty and crispy, freshly fried and brought straight to your table. The brick oven pizzas are so good. We have tried several different combos and they are all good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We live in New Market but this is the best pizza we've ever had and worth the drive across town. The chicken strips are awesome too. Hard to beat great pizza and cold beer

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newmarket2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pizza Delivery was awesome”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great menu, selection & service. And now they deliver to my neighborhood! This is my new pizza delivery place. Can't wait to go in for dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissla74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
591 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Our new favorite pizza place (3.6 out of 5)”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We've been missing out on great pizza in Frederick for many years now until finally experiencing Il Forno's. Their pizza is heads and shoulders above any of the chain pizza restaurants we've had like Pizza Hut, Papa John's, Domino's, etc. We tasted the huge difference immediately. This is oven cooked pizza done right. We were just completely ignorant and unaware that this much better choice was out there. It's located in the Westridge Square shopping center near Burlington Coat Factory and the new G-Mart. They are open extremely late, until 2 AM every night except Sundays which they remain open until midnight. They deliver too!

We dined in for the first time recently after a 10 inch snowstorm. We had a small Vito pizza (pepperoni, garlic), another small pizza with half four cheese (mozzarella, ricotta, fontina, goat cheeses) and the other half Verde (pesto, mozzarella, fontina cheese, shrimp, red onions, garlic, red pepper), a sandwich, an order of fried pickles, and 3 drinks all for about $35 before tax and tip. The pizzas come loaded with cheeses that you'll really need to chew if not used to. The Verde pizza wasn't anything I'd order again as it was quite an interesting combination of toppings. The sandwich wasn't the best, but the fried pickles were pretty good. We took advantage of plenty of free drink refills.

In addition to dining in, we've also since had pizza delivered as well as picked some up at the restaurant. When picking up, you'll need to walk in and around the bar all the way to the far side where the pick up counter is located. The bar has many TVs tuned into some sports game or another. There's an outside patio section that looks like a great place to eat in the warmer months. Il Forno's is always packed with people and is a good choice for family dining on any occasion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NeoWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Il Forno Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing