We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Cincinati Chili is delicious!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Times Cafe - Frederick - CLOSED

Hard Times Cafe - Frederick
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are famous for our chilis: Texas, Terlingua, Cincinnati, and Vegetarian. Voted best wings in DC. Great for families - kids eat free on Sunday!Sports bar offers all the games all the time. Billiard tables and darts. Free pool everyday from 11am to 5pm with minimum purchase.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The Cincinati Chili is delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I had dinner at Hard Times a few nights ago, and had a good time. The Cincinati was, as always, delicious, and our waitress was attentive, and very interested to know what we thought of the food.

We also tried the corndog nuggets, which weren't bad, but I'm not sure if we'll order them again in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious food and yes it is kid friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Some reviewers complain that it is not kid friendly, too much of a bar scene. Well, yes. Half the place is a sports bar, so if there's a big game going on or if you go on a weekend night you're going to be there with the bar crowd. But for an afternoon meal it is usually uncrowded and very kid-friendly. We've never had an issue with that because we go at non-bar times. We've even enjoyed playing the games they have in the back when it's not busy.

Food is great. We love all of their chilis. I especially love putting the chili vinegar on the fries. Yum! Kids menu is kind of blah, like most kid menus. But kids eat free on a certain day so that's nice. Since it's a chili place with mostly greasy food you'll likely leave with indigestion. So take some Tums!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShellyKP34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stopped in to have a few beers and some grub October 12, 2012. The musical entertainment (wish I could remember who the guy was) was AWESOME. The beer was good- beer always is. The food wasn't too bad- I had fried pickles for the first time. The atmosphere was nice and comfortable. Should I ever visit Frederick again, I'd come back just to hear that guy sing again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingfatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good chili and laid back good time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Old fashioned chili parlor with just OK service. Prices have gone up, but it's still a decent value, and almost daily specials make it better. A good, unpretentious place to just hang out, drink beer and eat wings and swap lies. You can also shoot pool.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Highpti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

I had their ground beef chilly (?) over pasta. They have 4 kinds of chilly, I enjoyed it very much!!

Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hard Times Cafe - Frederick also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing