We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Civil War”

Rose Hill Manor Park & Museums
Ranked #14 of 51 things to do in Frederick
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rose Hill Manor Park & Museums provides visitors with the opportunity to explore life in 18th & 19th century America. The 1790s Manor House was the retirement home of Maryland's first elected goernor, Thomas Johnson. In addition to the Manor House which includes period exhibits and is Children's Museum the property features an ice house, log cabin, blacksmith shop, carriage collection, gardens and Farm Museum.
Walkersville
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Civil War”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Went to the civil war enactment and encampment with grandson. Th experience was very worhwhile and historical for both of us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Thomas Johnson, first Governor of Maryland and Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States died in this house, owned by his daughter and son-in-law. His niece was married to President John Quincy Adams. The lovely historic house and grounds are well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a look & touch history museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Rose Hill Manor in Frederick is a hands on museum showing how the life would have been in the 19th century. They are visited by lots of school groups and there were lots of 4th graders touring when I was there. I enjoyed the fact that they have designed the rooms in the house with children and education in mind. They encourage children of all ages to touch, explore, and discover. I was able to tour the manor house by myself - there are lots of informational signs. Then I had a private tour (because I was the only visitor) of the outbuildings with Pat who is one of their wonderful, enthusiastic docents. She took me into the log cabin, carriage house, blacksmith shop, and ice house. I learned a lot at each of the stops on this lovely little walking tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank mew521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, historic family oriented'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was the retirement home of the first governor of Maryland, and a close friend of George Washingto., our first President.
The home has been recently restored, and is open for visitors, as are the grounds. Guided tours are available. The guides are in period costumes, and trained to be very knowledgeable about the history of the place. Seasonal festivals are well organozed, and fun for all. It is a beautiful place to visit...for anyone who can enjoy a respite from video games, and is okay with turning off their 'mobile device', in favor of enjoying peace and nature!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rmsgjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A museum where you can touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was a fantastic day out. The museum was full of old toys, clothes, kitchen utensils, musical instruments and there were signs every where saying try out these things and see how the folk lived here. The kids had a great time with the toys and the adults too enjoyed reminiscing about some of the toys they had in their youth (no batteries then). We all had fun with the marble run and the tumbling cars. Papa had to be reminded that there were other things to see. The girls, old and young were fascinated with the modes of dress and the lengths that the females had to go to get 'dolled up'. The tour of the outhouses including the servants quarters and the ice house were very well done and the period dressed guide was very informative about the way of life and the living conditions. We will be back when we have a longer time to spend in the grounds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose Hill Manor Park & Museums also viewed

 

Been to Rose Hill Manor Park & Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing