We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frederick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Manor
Ranked #3 of 6 Frederick B&B and Inns
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our birthdays. Wonderful setting, for quiet country retreat.


Pros:
Congenial, helpful hosts
Clean
Spacious (suites, not rooms)
Comfortable
Responsive, in-room thermostat
Quiet locale, country setting, but near a small town a short distance from excellent highway.
Natural Gas simulated log burning fireplaces
Robes for use while staying
Large library
Walking path
Enjoyable breakfast - included
Very good value for the money - a slight ding as the dual shower was not working well, but see Neutral
Fine Dining (evening, lunch) about 10 minutes away.

Cons?
No TV, No Microwave, No Phone (in the room)
Beverage Fridge (stocked) in hall just outside the door

Neutral:
Refurbishings are scheduled for dual jacuzi, dual shower, some furniture (tbd)

We stayed in the Laurel Suite, recommended.

Ask about isolation from any scheduled events (not an issue for us)


-- details

Stone Manor B&B aka Stone Manor Country Club is located just about 10 minutes South of Frederick, away from the noise of civilization. It's aptly chosen names is perfect: Located in the country, with unfinished stone siding, and a grand entrance earns it manor status. Stone Manor is not a country club in the membership sense, but it has many facilities to host socials events such as weddings.

Our Laurel Suite (LR), like most of the B&B's rooms, is on the second level, staircase access only. At the LR's door from the hall one steps down (about 3 steps) into a comfortable sitting room, with several chairs, four windows, and a wide love seat facing a gas-fed fireplace. Off to the left is a door leading to a large bedroom with a firm, half-poster bed. The bedroom and vanity area (dual-jacuzzi style tub, sink and mirrors) share a facing side, enclosed by three sides. Through the vanity lies a bathroom with toilet and bidet, and further ... a roomy dual shower. Outside the LR the hallway has a small fridge, stocked with beverages. The far wall also has another door, leading I believe to a private porch during warmer weather. Ask.

The breakfast area has a wood-fed fireplace. The weather during our stay encouraged a warm fire, and the manager had it lit, keeping it fed throughout the meal and conversation afterwards.

The property has a 30 minute walk/path - we avoided owing to bitter cold. The grounds are expansive with the only buildings in sight belonging to the manor. Not far from the front entrance is a small pond. The manager said that the pair of geese we saw are in it the first he saw since joining the manor staff 3 weeks earlier. Nearby is another structure - to be converted into a cottage for couples who wish a bit more privacy. At night we saw almost half a dozen deer peering over a field fence, near the parking area.

Would gladly come again.

Room Tip: The Lavender Suite, a bit isolated from the others for even more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    7
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Located in a beautiful setting. Wonderful room. We stayed in the "Laurel". Fantastic home cooked breakfast in a very cozy dining room in front of a huge warm fireplace.
I look forward to returning this spring.
Great host! Thanks to the Inn Keepers John and Debbie.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I had planned to escape for a night over a long weekend to recharge away from the kids. Stone Manor seemed perfect, and we were excited to find they had availability just a few days in advance.

Unfortunately, hours before we were scheduled to hit the road, one of our children came down with a terrible bug. We called the inn to tell them we couldn't make it and to see if we could reschedule our stay. We told them we didn't want a refund. Our kid just got sick and we were very much hoping to reschedule once she got better.

They said no.

Now mind you, when we booked (just a few days ago), we were told that they had only one other booking that weekend. So, there were no capacity issues at all.

I know they have a no refund policy. But we have stayed in many B & B's and hotels over the years. And on the rare occasions that we have had to cancel due to circumstances beyond our control, we found that most places were willing to work with us, particularly if they were not full.

But not Stone Manor. I would expect this kind of a treatment from a large chain hotel, but was very disappointed to receive it from a local inn that prides itself on the personal attention it gives its guests.

I know for most people this review may not matter. Chances of folks having to cancel are typically slim. But as a parent with small kids, I know that life requires a certain amount of fluidity, and I don't appreciate people in the "service" industry that don't understand that.

We were excited to stay here -- given the proximity to our home in DC, we were hopeful that it might become a regular getaway location.

But as a result of their unwillingness to work with us, they have not only lost a potential long-term customer, but we will urge everyone we know (particularly other parents) looking for a getaway that they look anywhere BUT Stone Manor.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
20 Thank DCMo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Loved the picture perfect setting. Rooms a good size and comfortable. The bathroom fixtures and furniture is showing its age in the Laurel room but still comfortable. The inn keepers are very inviting and attentive. The breakfast is nice homemade touch. It is a popular wedding venue there was one every day we were there. The wedding tent was on the opposite side of our room so noise was not an issue. One of the best bed and breakfast we have done.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ahn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I just had a remarkable mid week anniversary visit to Stone Manor and it was one of the best B and B visits we have had and we have been visiting B and B's for 30 years. The manor is beautifully situated on 100 acres of forest and farmland with a lovely pond and fountain as well as gardens which we viewed from our porch. We chose the Laurel Suite which was perfect with a parlor with a fireplace as an added luxury. The bed was very comfortable and the separate double bath and shower were great. The house was meticulously kept and the innkeepers, Astra and Vern, were exceptionally nice people as well as excellent resources. They could not have made us feel any more welcome and Astra fixed amazing breakfasts as well. This was an extraordinary getaway for us and we plan to go back in the winter to appreciate the manor in the winter as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peppersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We were delighted with the beautiful suite we stayed in - it was spacious and equipped to the highest standard.
We service was very good and nothing was too much for the staff!
We certainly will be back one day in the near future

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I highly recommend Stone Manor for couples. My boyfriend and I visiting from Arlington; its a quick getaway from northern VA and DC. We visited several wineries nearby, and highly recommend Sugarloaf Winery (but that's another review).

Be aware that Stone Manor does host weddings, and I suspect they are a frequent occurrence during the season, due to the beauty of the location. There was a wedding taking place when we checked in, but there was ample parking and the wedding was outside in a tent removed from the house, so it wasn't much of a distraction. We actually thought it was fun to see everyone dressed up and got a little entertainment sitting on the porch when the guests started departing. If you are looking for a silent retreat, you might seek somewhere less popular for the wedding circuit.

Nevertheless, the Stone Manor was very relaxing and a charming experience. The rooms are beautiful, large and still cozy. If for no other reason, just go stay to get inspiration for the next gigantic bathroom/sitting room that you add to your home ;) (ok, wishful thinking, every woman's dream).

The inn keepers, Vern and Astra were lovely, courteous and endearing hosts. They were immediately friendly and accommodating, which lasted throughout our short stay. Some B&Bs are overbearing, not here. They made themselves available for whatever was required, but did not bother you or hover over you at breakfast. It was the perfect balance of hospitality and privacy.

I would highly recommend this to all DC-area couples for a short getaway close to home, and to out of towners who want to see a cozy little part of (what I consider) rural MD.

It looks like the only 1-star review here is due to the fact that the family brought 2 children; the website clearly says no children under 21 are allowed. This is also a perk :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OverPackd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frederick hotels
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
7.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
7.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Frederick
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#3 of 22 in Frederick
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Manor

Property: Stone Manor
Address: 5820 Carroll Boyer Road, Frederick, MD 21769
Region: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 18th-century manor offers elegant lodging in a sophisticated, yet unpretentious atmosphere. Luxurious suites feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, fine linens, and period antiques. Nestled in the Middletown Valley, the pastoral views of working farmland, preserved parkland, and beautiful mountains create a tranquil backdrop for a spectacular Inn. The expansive grounds of the 100 acre estate encourage wonderful country pursuits. Let nature's beauty restore your senses before you set out to enjoy the many nearby attractions. Relax, Rekindle, Restore, Rejuvenate, and Refresh at The Inn at Stone Manor - So Far Away, Yet So Close To Home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Manor Hotel Frederick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing