We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but an underwhelming experience”
Review of Inn At Stone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn At Stone Manor
Ranked #3 of 6 Frederick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here over the weekend in the Hibiscus Suite which is part of the original house. Can't speak to the other rooms but I can speak to the experience of staying at the Stone Manor.

On the positive side, the staff who work there are nice and the property is attractive. There is also wi-fi included.

On to the negatives. Upon entering the room, my first task was to clear cobwebs and kill three spiders since my girlfriend has a thing about insects. Made me wonder how well the room was maintained. Stayed two nights and the room was not cleaned between days one and two. The bed (a full) was rather small. The faucets are rather annoying as they are the type you have to press down for a few seconds of water.

There is a set breakfast every day at eight thirty which will be brought out to you in the dining room. This may affect your ability to get a jump on the day. Each day has a set menu. For example, Friday will always be French Toast day with which there will be yogurt, juice, and weak coffee. If you give twenty four hours notice, you may be able to receive a simple substitution, for example oatmeal or boiled eggs. Otherwise substitution requests will cause confusion. Don't plan on having fresh fruit, bread, good coffee, etc.

Keep in mind as well that the Manor often has weddings in the summer months on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Even if you are in the original house, this will make for some loud evenings - while the wedding happens in a tent outside, people will be charging their iphones, storing things, and walking about the house on the wooden floors. For example, on Saturday evening from 11:00 - 11:30 in the evening, two men had a rather loud and animated conversation right outside the door about which members of the bridal party were the most sexually desirable and how they could complement their strategies in such a way as to improve opportunities for coital success.

Staying here will run you over two hundred bucks a night. I had expected a better experience than a hotel as a result. But as it was, I found myself envious of my parents who were staying in a Hampton Inn outside of Frederick. They had: (1) a nice, quiet room; (2) could go down and enjoy a good breakfast spread at any time; (3) were closer to downtown; and (4) paid a whole lot less than I did. If you are going to a wedding here and plan to be up late, this would be a good option. Otherwise take a look at the full range of options that are available to you first.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank nomad633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had been to Stone Manor for two weddings in the past, but never for an overnight visit. We were celebrating a birthday and decided to do a big local dinner and spend the night at the Inn. The Laurel room suited us perfectly! We checked in early and enjoyed the gas fireplace and sitting area before departing for our meal. The large room, jacuzzi tub and porch gave us a very relaxing night and morning. Breakfast was delicious and our conversation with the inn keepers was wonderful. We enjoyed a long walk around the property before we left for the day. We will return to Stone Manor and recommend it for a relaxing, romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have been to the old Manor house ones ..... and it was a fantastic experience.
The atmosphere was second to none and we did enjoy the suite with jacuzzi but best of all was sitting in front of the crackling fireplace enjoying our breakfast which the staff had been so kind to bring to us.

We are looking forward to visiting again ..... all the way from Europe in the middle of May

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clansani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our birthdays. Wonderful setting, for quiet country retreat.


Pros:
Congenial, helpful hosts
Clean
Spacious (suites, not rooms)
Comfortable
Responsive, in-room thermostat
Quiet locale, country setting, but near a small town a short distance from excellent highway.
Natural Gas simulated log burning fireplaces
Robes for use while staying
Large library
Walking path
Enjoyable breakfast - included
Very good value for the money - a slight ding as the dual shower was not working well, but see Neutral
Fine Dining (evening, lunch) about 10 minutes away.

Cons?
No TV, No Microwave, No Phone (in the room)
Beverage Fridge (stocked) in hall just outside the door

Neutral:
Refurbishings are scheduled for dual jacuzi, dual shower, some furniture (tbd)

We stayed in the Laurel Suite, recommended.

Ask about isolation from any scheduled events (not an issue for us)


-- details

Stone Manor B&B aka Stone Manor Country Club is located just about 10 minutes South of Frederick, away from the noise of civilization. It's aptly chosen names is perfect: Located in the country, with unfinished stone siding, and a grand entrance earns it manor status. Stone Manor is not a country club in the membership sense, but it has many facilities to host socials events such as weddings.

Our Laurel Suite (LR), like most of the B&B's rooms, is on the second level, staircase access only. At the LR's door from the hall one steps down (about 3 steps) into a comfortable sitting room, with several chairs, four windows, and a wide love seat facing a gas-fed fireplace. Off to the left is a door leading to a large bedroom with a firm, half-poster bed. The bedroom and vanity area (dual-jacuzzi style tub, sink and mirrors) share a facing side, enclosed by three sides. Through the vanity lies a bathroom with toilet and bidet, and further ... a roomy dual shower. Outside the LR the hallway has a small fridge, stocked with beverages. The far wall also has another door, leading I believe to a private porch during warmer weather. Ask.

The breakfast area has a wood-fed fireplace. The weather during our stay encouraged a warm fire, and the manager had it lit, keeping it fed throughout the meal and conversation afterwards.

The property has a 30 minute walk/path - we avoided owing to bitter cold. The grounds are expansive with the only buildings in sight belonging to the manor. Not far from the front entrance is a small pond. The manager said that the pair of geese we saw are in it the first he saw since joining the manor staff 3 weeks earlier. Nearby is another structure - to be converted into a cottage for couples who wish a bit more privacy. At night we saw almost half a dozen deer peering over a field fence, near the parking area.

Would gladly come again.

Room Tip: The Lavender Suite, a bit isolated from the others for even more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TacoTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Located in a beautiful setting. Wonderful room. We stayed in the "Laurel". Fantastic home cooked breakfast in a very cozy dining room in front of a huge warm fireplace.
I look forward to returning this spring.
Great host! Thanks to the Inn Keepers John and Debbie.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I had planned to escape for a night over a long weekend to recharge away from the kids. Stone Manor seemed perfect, and we were excited to find they had availability just a few days in advance.

Unfortunately, hours before we were scheduled to hit the road, one of our children came down with a terrible bug. We called the inn to tell them we couldn't make it and to see if we could reschedule our stay. We told them we didn't want a refund. Our kid just got sick and we were very much hoping to reschedule once she got better.

They said no.

Now mind you, when we booked (just a few days ago), we were told that they had only one other booking that weekend. So, there were no capacity issues at all.

I know they have a no refund policy. But we have stayed in many B & B's and hotels over the years. And on the rare occasions that we have had to cancel due to circumstances beyond our control, we found that most places were willing to work with us, particularly if they were not full.

But not Stone Manor. I would expect this kind of a treatment from a large chain hotel, but was very disappointed to receive it from a local inn that prides itself on the personal attention it gives its guests.

I know for most people this review may not matter. Chances of folks having to cancel are typically slim. But as a parent with small kids, I know that life requires a certain amount of fluidity, and I don't appreciate people in the "service" industry that don't understand that.

We were excited to stay here -- given the proximity to our home in DC, we were hopeful that it might become a regular getaway location.

But as a result of their unwillingness to work with us, they have not only lost a potential long-term customer, but we will urge everyone we know (particularly other parents) looking for a getaway that they look anywhere BUT Stone Manor.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
20  Thank DCMo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Loved the picture perfect setting. Rooms a good size and comfortable. The bathroom fixtures and furniture is showing its age in the Laurel room but still comfortable. The inn keepers are very inviting and attentive. The breakfast is nice homemade touch. It is a popular wedding venue there was one every day we were there. The wedding tent was on the opposite side of our room so noise was not an issue. One of the best bed and breakfast we have done.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ahn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederick
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
895 reviews
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
7.8 mi away
10 Clarke Place
10 Clarke Place
#1 of 6 in Frederick
208 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hollerstown Hill
Hollerstown Hill
#2 of 6 in Frederick
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At Stone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Stone Manor

Address: 5820 Carroll Boyer Rd, Frederick, MD 21769-6315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Price Range: £159 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn At Stone Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 18th-century manor offers elegant lodging in a sophisticated, yet unpretentious atmosphere. Luxurious suites feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, fine linens, and period antiques. Nestled in the Middletown Valley, the pastoral views of working farmland, preserved parkland, and beautiful mountains create a tranquil backdrop for a spectacular Inn. The expansive grounds of the 100 acre estate encourage wonderful country pursuits. Let nature's beauty restore your senses before you set out to enjoy the many nearby attractions. Relax, Rekindle, Restore, Rejuvenate, and Refresh at The Inn at Stone Manor - So Far Away, Yet So Close To Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn At Stone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Manor Hotel Frederick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing