We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Clean Rooms, Nice Staff, Short Ride To Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Historic Frederick
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Value, Clean Rooms, Nice Staff, Short Ride To Downtown”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My husband and I live in DC, and went up to Frederick for a concert at the Cafe Nola (downtown Frederick). Though it's a little more than an hour's drive back to the city, we decided to get a cheap room for the night so we could enjoy the music with a few beers.
The location is not quite what one would expect, the surrounding neighborhood is largely residential. When we were driving there, I though my GPS was taking a roundabout route, but no. The plus side to this is that it's very quiet and relaxed, i.e. no drunk people making a ruckus outside your window. The main drag of Frederick IS walkable from there in nice weather (just about a mile), but since it was raining, we took a cab wherever we went.
When we checked in, the clerk was very friendly and welcoming. We had a small issue and needed to change the credit card on file, and they were happy to accommodate us. The lobby was clean and nicely furnished, with two "squishy chairs" in front of a flat screen (we put these to good use while waiting for our cab into town), this opened into the breakfast area complete with cereal dispensers.
Our room was comfortable. The bathroom had a shower and toilet tucked close together (it may have been about 12 sq. ft., with the shower taking up about half) and the sink was in the room, right across from the bathroom door. Kind of a weird set up, but not inconvenient. The living space of the room was much larger. In addition to the very cozy king-sized bed, there was a desk (with chair), another "squishy chair" (with squishy ottoman, yay!), mini fridge, coffee maker and the other accoutrement one expects from your basic hotel room. All in all, fairly pleasant.
In the morning, we went down for the Complimentary Continental Breakfast. Compared to most places, this was brilliant. They had bagels, pastries, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee and hard-boiled eggs (chilled). Sure, it's not a tree-egg omelet with toast and bacon, but it was plenty to get us moving, and it was far better than expected for an inexpensive hotel chain. There was an employee of the hotel refilling things as needed and cleaning tables as they cleared; again, this is far better than most continental breakfasts I have experienced.
When we checked out, we got a pleasant surprise. When we booked the room online, we were told the rate was $80 for the night. Our bill said $60. YAY! Needless to say, we gladly paid this amount. As a bonus, our trip back to DC only took 45 minutes, instead of an hour.
All in all, our stay at the Best Western Historic Frederick was quite nice. The only drawbacks were the odd set up of the bathroom/sink and the residential location. However, for $60 it was a great value, and we would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluzluvncellist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    158
    80
    55
    34
See reviews for
147
143
33
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

staff was friendly, room was clean. Kings sized bed was SUPER comfortable and no problems at all. Bathroom was kind f small, but okay none the less. Would defintiely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jitterbuggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

The good news is this hotel is in a good location. It is close to historic downtown Frederick. It is clean and the fixtures/furniture are nice as was the person at the front desk. The bad news is it sits right next to a freeway. Noisy. Also, the walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone's doors closing and people talking in the next room and hallway, The mattress was terrible. We both woke up too early with sore backs. The coffee in the lobby was always empty.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

My husband and I come to Frederick every January to have Christmas with my son, as well as celebrate two birthdays and this year our 30th wedding anniversary. We usually stay with friends but because it was our 30th anniversary, I looked around for a motel/hotel to stay in. Finding Best Western, I check trip advisor and found good reviews. All of them were correct. We arrived around 7 after first visitng with my son. The Desk Clerk, Mindy, was great. After checking us in, she asked if we wanted coffee and made us a fresh brew of decaf. Then she offered us pizza. The next evening she spent time assisting me in the exercise room. The accommodations were great. Mindy upgraded us to a mini-suite at my request which was the same price as our original reservation. We took advantage of the 7 night advance/no cancellation option and felt the rate was more then reasonable for the room. Sofa, frig, microwave, immaculate room, flat screen TV, Internet, comfy bed, everything we needed and a great breakfast in the morning with two free newspapers. Yes, as some wrote, the bathroom was tiny but for the time I spent in it, I never gave it another thought. Hot water was my priority and that was plentiful. Thank's Mindy and Best Western for help making our 30th anniversary so sweet.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zanesgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

The hotel was in great shape, rooms nice, and staff friendly/helpful. The full breakfast buffet was a nice addition.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

I was surprised to find a microwave, large fridge, and coffee maker in the room. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnmama457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We had stayed in a couple of Best Westerns years ago, and weren't thrilled with them, so hadn't stayed in one recently. We were in Towson, MD for a special event on a Saturday, and decided that since we hadn't been out to Frederick in a while, to make a weekend of it, and booked at this hotel for the night. It looked very new or newly renovated, very nicely decorated, very clean. It's true - the bathroom is one of the smallest I've ever experienced in a hotel, but no big deal. The location is a little odd, but easy enough to get to, and very easy to get to downtown Frederick from it. Overall, very pleasant stay, and made me much more interested in giving Best Western chain another shot.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jannwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
853 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#6 of 22 in Frederick
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Frederick
WoodSpring Suites Frederick
#15 of 22 in Frederick
21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Historic Frederick

Property: Best Western Historic Frederick
Address: 420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Frederick
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Historic Frederick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is conveniently located off of 4 major highways and is just minutes from the downtown Frederick area. With room types for all your traveling needs including amenities such as, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary High Speed Internet access and Complimentary Parking make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing